1 / 5

Urgent Help with Synergic veggie garden and permaculture in Cisternino, Apulia, Italy

  • Bisher 176 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 26 Mai 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Hi everyone,

    We live in a property of 3.5 hectors of land in the middle of the countryside of the Itria Valley, the homeland of the traditional trulli. The closest towns are at about 2 miles from one side and 5 miles from the other side. Thus, it is perfect if you are looking for a calm and quiet place and full nature immersion. Also, the beach is not far away about 15 minutes drive from the house and offers some very beautiful sceneries from cliffs to white sand.

    The land has many olive trees from which in October we produce our own olive oil. We also have various almond and walnut trees along side different fruit trees.

    In one of the bits of land we have built a big synergic veggie garden where we grow organic vegetables, which every now and them we sell either at the market or as veggie boxes.

    Here there is always something to do whether looking after the veggie garden and collect the fruits of nature or pick up the olives or anything else that a countryside veggie farm requires.

    WHO WE ARE :)
    We are a bit hippyish and a bit leftyish family very lay back and always up to meet new people and hear new stories. I'm an old-painting/frescos restorer professional from Italy but many years ago I've decided to retreat in the wonderful nature of South of Italy and coltivate my own vegetables and take care of the land and its trees. Thanks to my job and my passion to get to know people, I have managed to travel around and see amazing places such as a beautiful Oasis in the middle of the desert restoring houses made out of blocks of salt.
    My partner used to work in the advertising world now looking after a holiday house rental in the property, he too with a big traveling experience. We have two children one of 21yo studying in England and one of 24yo working with music in Berlin, both usually return home in the summer! :)

    We have 2 small dogs Ugo and Oliva and three old cats who have been here forever! :)

    OUR VIEW! :)
    I've been living in Puglia for more than 20 years now and my dream is to create a community where biodiversity, sustainability and love for what nature gave us are the common foundations. This is thanks to Masanobu Fukuoka who came in this area in 2000 to share his knowledge and his point of view on agriculture. Us and all the other interested started encouraging biodiversity and this type of agriculture, which has as its pivot the aim to reinstate the balance and the harmony that with the years of intense and harsh farming have been damaged or destroyed. Thus, since then we have been working against the strong currents of the herbicides and the monoculture of the olive trees, which are disrupting this balance and killing the trees by making them weaker and more prone to illnesses.

    Hope to see you here and hear all about you and share adventures and stories!

    Love from the warm land of Trulli!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My moto is: "Life is art" and there is always something new to experience, learn and share.

    I can teach you all I know about permaculture, synergic gardening, eatable wild herbs, etc. as well as restoring painting if you wish to! :D

    Then there is the place itself, Puglia, which is a continuous learning and experiencing different cultures. Here foods, costumes, traditions, cultures and languages (dialects) change every 10km making this region amazing and unique.

  • Arbeit


    In the month of April-May we will need help with the renovation and the maintenance of the synergic veggie garden as at the moment is just my daughter and I and the occasional helpers! :) In this period we will also need some help with the general maintenance of the gardens such as cutting the grass and controlling the weeds as well as help with the renovation of the greenhouse for the seeds.

    In the summer period we will need some help picking up the vegetables from the veggie garden as well as picking up the fruits from the trees and we can have fun making inventive jams, or dry fruit or just eat them fresh.

    Towards the end of October is usually olive picking season to make the extra virgin olive oil and it usually lasts from one week to three weeks depending if it's only two of us or many more :D

    However, workaways are welcome at any time even just for a chat!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    During the periods when the holiday house is not rented you are more than welcome to stay there. Here you will have a lot of space as its a 6-8 house!
    If it is rented there is always a spare room in the house for guests. Thus, you will always have your own room with a bed, wardrobe and desk if needed.

    We always believe that if one helps out the rest comes with it, thus food (vegetarian), accommodation and love come for free!! But our house is your house thus we will be delighted to taste some of your traditional meals or if you're hungry go ahead and help yourself.
    The only house rules are:
    if you finish it all replace it
    if you get it dirty clean it up
    if you get it out put it away
    and if you smile we are all happy

    Also if time allows we will always be happy to take you around visiting places and telling you about the long history of this place.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A car is always good to have to be independent but there is always a lift or a way to get around!

    Puglia is full of places to see Cisternino and Martina Franca are the closest then there is Alberobello (25min), Polignano a Mare (30min), Ostuni (20min), Lecce (1.5h), Matera (2h), etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 269999236135

Feedback (9)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)