Share your ideas to improve my Shared home in Bhaktapur, Nepal

  • Nepal
  • Bisher 86 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 3 Okt. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Hello out there, I am Shekhar, an open minded thirties man born in Bhaktapur ("City of Devotees" and World heritage city) in the Kathmandu Valley. I am married and have two boys : Pranav and Pratham. I am very passionate about my city and that is why I opened a Guest House a few years ago to make travelers discover this place and its surroundings in a different way, closer to its inhabitants, its culture and the spirit of this ancient city. Because I believe travelling doesn't just mean discovering new landscapes but it also immersing oneself in the world around us. So volunteering in the Guest House isn't only about helping me but about sharing and exchanging, the motto of my place is "sharing is caring"!

    For my Guest House, I need you to make it even and even better, more welcoming and comfortable for travelers and backpackers. You can help in many ways, just propose your ideas and make it real : decoration (build tables, chairs, painting walls), marketing, maintenance, create and enrich a travel book of Bhaktapur and the surroundings... Everything is possible, the mantra to remember is this : let my Guest House become your home !

    As a volunteer, you have your own room and a shared kitchen and bathroom. You stay in the Guest House so you can meet other travelers and Nepali people !

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I'm a typical Newari, Nepali and Hindu man born In Bhaktapur. I'm passionate about my city so I know a lot of good places, temples, nice restaurants and cafés. I also would love to share my knowledge of Hinduism with you. By opening this Guest House and writing this volunteer proposal, I really want that people coming here experience a good time in the city with its inhabitants and other travelers. So I'm always enjoying taking the time to discover Bhaktapur and its surroundings with travelers and volunteers (to meet craftsmen and their beautiful realizations in wood/stone/jewelries/Gurkha's knives..., right places to eat and to drink, Hindus and Buddhist temples with explanations and other nice and important programs...).

    We can also play and listen to music together, watch movies, learn how to cook Nepali food and many other thing! You can teach to the others your culinary specialties, music from your country, and your talents.... I can teach you some Hindu stories and names of Gods. I will be delighted to make you discover all of this city's charming and cultural places.

    I also hope that I will get to discover your music, your specialties, your ideas for the guesthouse, your languages and your traditions. I am used to host many travelers from different countries and I think it is a good way to stay open minded and for my kids to learn about the world.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    As I wrote above, I need you to make my guesthouse even and even better, more welcoming and comfortable for travelers and backpackers. So you can help in many ways :

    - Decoration (painting, rearranging spaces to make them more comfortable, etc.)

    - Maintenance (Taking care of all the things in the sharedhome as you do in your home, Housekeeping/cleaning a little bit the shared rooms and your bedroom).

    -help with computers, internet to update

    - Take a pictures to upload in different app

    - Construction and renovation (I almost restored an old house to enlarge the Guest House so you can help me with that or build some furniture : tables, chairs, anything you want that could help).

    - Be happy and conveying good energies, we have plenty of time to create moments of sharing and listening !

    In the evening, you can also help and play with children in a kid center near by. I am connected with a lot of people in the city so if you are interested of something, you can tell me and I will see what I can do ! :)

    I have no employees in my 7 bedroom guesthouse, I manage it alone.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Nepali: Fließend
    Hindi: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I think that learning languages can be a right way to be open-minded and a citizen of a peaceful world. There is also the challenge of preserving all the Earth’s languages and not only the most spoken.

  • Unterkunft


    You will stay in the Guest House.

    - Room's fittings: 1 full size bed, even if you're alone - mosquito nets - window's curtains. I will give you the keys of your door.

    - Shared complete kitchen to cook yourself. Sometimes we can have a dinner with my family, or cook together and let discover meals from traveler's country. (Volunteer in my Guest House is free but meals are not covered).

    - Shared bathrooms.

    - Shared living rooms with music instruments, books in different languages, 1 computer with speakers. Shared rooftop to have sunbath, fire in winter and all kind of shared moments.

    - Free drinkable water

    - Free WIFI

    - 1 laundry room (I charge 300 NRS for laundry, maximum load is 6kg per wash and its for the maintenance charge).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a big cultural heritage in Bhaktapur (). You can make Bhaktapur as a basepoint and do small hikes 3/5 hrs around different parts near our places. The city is located in Kathmandu Valley, which is 13 kilometers from the capital, so you can take time to visit Katmandu. Around Bhaktapur the countryside is really beautiful with waterfalls, birds, butterflies, Tamang villages, Hindu temples and much more. It's easy to get around here, there are a lot of buses.

    Some information about the nearby place where you can visit:
    Patan Durbar Square 6.7 miles 11 km
    Kathmandu Durbar Square 8.1 miles 13 km
    Boudhanath stupa 5.6 miles 9 km
    Swayambhunath temple (monkey temple 9.3 miles) 15 km
    Nepal tourism office 7.5 miles 12 km
    Pashupatinath 5.8 miles 10 km

    If you come from the airport, I can pick you up there for around 1500NRS. If you don't come from the airport, you can use taxis (24h / 7 days) or buses. You can use an app called Indriver or Pathao (like Uber) to have local prices.

    I look forward to meeting you ! Send me a message and we can talk more. See you !

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    There are desks in all the bedrooms with a decent WIFI connection. The password is in the kitchen. There are also WIFI in all city's restaurants and coffees. So you are able to do your work as a digital nomad.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There are free parkings on the road near form the guesthouse.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs, Cats. Maybe lions or crocodiles if they are well educated ;)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, 2 days off per week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 256878691396

Feedback (8)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help on our montessori school in Tokarpur, Nepal
Hilf mit unserem Montessori Projekt, Landwirtschaft, Kulturaustausch, Schule in der Nähe von Kathmandu, Nepal