Help us in the mountains of Millstatt, Carinthia, Austria



Bisher 98 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are an English family living in Millstatt, Carinthia. We moved here in 2017 and have been renovating our new house since. We have a holiday rental apartment on one side of our home. Our Baby son Joined us in May 2020.

    For 2021, we mainly need general help with our garden and Cat sitting. Particularly when we need to travel back to the Uk

    We have hosted several workawayers the last few years.
    We have a self-contained apartment attached to our home, and often we are looking for workawayers to generally lend a hand with bits around the house or garden and cat sit whilst we are away.

    We live in a quiet neighborhood that has a nice community spirit, with neighbors popping in and out. We aren't really party people, so our home wouldn't really be suitable for those who are.

    Daytime we work from home, or on the house and garden. Evenings are generally spent chatting over a meal, outside in the garden or at the lake in summer, or just relaxing with a book, board game or a film. Weekends we try and spend time in the mountains hiking or skiing, or at the lake.

    We have a 1 year old. So families with a similar age child would be nice or just those happy to adapt to being around a small child that makes a mess and will want to eat all your biscuits!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a wonderful area of Austria. There is a lovely view of Lake Millstatt and the mountains from our house. The Lake around a 15 min walk downhill from our house, 2 minutes by car. In the summer the lake is warm to swim in. Millstatt has several cafes and restaurants. The woods begin behind our house for those looking to walk. There is cycle hire in Millstatt, and we have 2 bikes at the house.

    Ski resorts in winter are nearby. Goldeck is 15mins drive, bad kleinkirchheim and Katschberg around 30 mins.

    You would have lots of free time to explore the local area. If you enjoy the mountains, hiking, skiing, natural spaces and wildlife then this would be ideal for you.

    Having workaways join us is obviously beneficial for us in terms of cat/house sitters and a general help with the garden etc , however it's also a chance for us to learn about other peoples culture and for workawayers to have the opportunity to hike, swim, ski and generally explore the local culture. We have had some great evenings cooking together with others, weekends hiking together and generally work in partnership.

    There is so much to see and do locally or within a short drive. Therefore this isn't really a suitable placement for those who want to just stay in the house but not join in communally, or who do not like the outdoor lifestyle. It would suit workawayers best who like to lend a hand in the morning for example, then enjoy their freetime each afternoon and weekend to explore, or those who might have their own work from home projects.

    We speak English at home, but Tanya also speaks moderate german. Happy to also help with anyone English, or them to help us with German!

  • Arbeit


    For 2021, we mainly need general help with our garden and Cat sitting. We have two cats that are pretty easy, they just like food and company.

    We are happy for anyone to come over and stay basically, for an extra set of hands to help us with our many projects.
    We are flexible as to when you help out.

    Our garden is a ongoing project we would love a hand with if the weather is nice. Whether that's basic general stuff or a larger project we are starting depends on when your stay or any particular skills you might have. Past guests have mowed the lawn, trimmed hedging, weeded, and help build some garden steps with us.

    A mixture of ability and help is great. Its probably best if your travelling as a family or couple and then you would also have someone to explore the area with when we are busy, as you will have plenty of free time. But singles also welcome if they are happy with their own time alone (especially if we are away for part of your stay)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We have a 2 bedroom apartment attached to our house which workawayers can stay in. It has its own living area, bathroom and kitchen. In general workwayers here provide their own food and cook in the apartment.

    We have a garden area with seating and a bbq.

    Our house is at the top of a fairly steep hill. Our house is also built on a slope with a sloped terraced garden. Therefore you need to be reasonably fit to be able to get around on foot.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you fly, Klagenfurt is the closest airport, (1hr drive) followed by Salzburg (1hr 40min drive).

    PLEASE NOTE: A car is essential as public transportation is limited. Although access to our house is possible by public transport, its too limiting for you get the most out of your stay as it's tricky to get up high in the mountains or head of to various attractions without a car.

    The local area can be explored on foot or bike, but a car will allow you to ski in winter and into the mountains and surrounding areas in summer daily in the afternoons and weekends as you will have plenty of free time.

    Within a short walk or drive is the lake , spas, mountains, ski areas, castles, museums, towns, train station, and various attractions of all sorts (it is a summer tourist hotspot). Do ask for any extra info

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Excellent internet, as we also work from home in Software development.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have space for a vehicle to be parked above our house, but workawayers wouldn't be able to stay in their vehicle during their stay due to local restrictions.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3 hours per day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 254445299721