Come and help with gardening while enjoying peace and tranquility in Kapiti Coast, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 100 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.02.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Kia ora!

    I returned to New Zealand in 2016 after living in Europe (UK, Spain, and Switzerland) for 10 years. I have a 2.5 hectare property a couple of kms from the small town of Otaki on the Kapiti Coast. For me, it's a tranquil piece of nature to enjoy a great lifestyle.

    My long term vision is to have a forest garden with permaculture principles in one of the paddocks, with every fruit, nut, and berry tree that I can get my hands on. I've started with a variety of heritage apples, plums, bananas, peaches, pears, feijoas, avocados, and figs, plus various citrus trees - lemons, oranges, grapefruit, limes, and kaffir lime (for Thai cooking). The trees are still young so not producing much fruit yet. And there are many more to add to the mix. I have four alpacas.

    I work in the city most days during the week, though, so I'm seeking help mainly around weekends. If I'm able to be at home other days, then we can easily make it a long weekend.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I've done a lot of hosting when I lived in Europe and always enjoyed meeting people from around the world. I'm a keen mountain hiker and if the weather's good, I could be talked into taking guests on a local hike in the mountains.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The property is a mix of three large flat paddocks and bush. The help sought is mainly keeping the vegetable garden and bush under control and gathering material for making mulch, compost, and firewood. That means weeding the vegetable and herb beds, helping to establishing new garden beds, keeping grass down around pathways, collecting anything that falls out of the bush for making mulch and compost, helping to collect and organise firewood for the winter, or even just helping to keep the house clean. There's actually no end of tasks to do - it's too much for one person.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Guests have their own room and own bathroom in the main house. All bedding and towels provided. The shower is excellent - clean and good pressure.

    There is Internet but it can be slow, has limited data, and so is not suitable for streaming movies or games.

    I share my food with my visitors - breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I usually cook on weekends (another burgeoning hobby) and would be delighted to have guests join in. One day we'll be eating home-grown organic vegetables.

    The house - and in fact the whole property - is non-smoking.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I can collect and drop off visitors at Waikanae and Otaki train stations. Visitors can also meet me in Wellington if it's a day that I'm in Wellington and we can take the train back together.

    Good things nearby are the Tararua ranges - great hiking but you must carry appropriate clothing for all weather conditions - and the nearby beach. Wellington is an hour by train from Waikanae and run quite frequently. Trains to and from Otaki are less frequent, with just one a day in each direction.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 253459229444