Come and join a retired couple in Serta- Coimbra and Center, Portugal

  • Bisher 146 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 15 Feb. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a couple of retired folks who decided life could begin at 70 and on our first visit to Portugal over seven years ago fell in love with the place and its people. When we saw the place, nestled in a secluded valley, we immediately knew it was for us and bought it the next day. We returned to the North of Scotland sold our home of 30 years and did a 2,000-mile road trip through the UK France and Spain, with all worldly goods transported by ourselves in a tow -a van and our old Vanroyce caravan. Most people thought we were mad (and in hindsight, we did push the boat out a bit ) however we have no regrets, living in a Quinta with about one Hectare of land and forest which was formerly an equestrian property, now having established organic raised beds are practicing our own brand of 'lasagne gardening' as we plan to be as near to self-sufficient as practical. We have a polytunnel in one of the paddocks and want to generally improve the pathways and develop the grounds for our own safety as we get older. We have many varieties of fruit that we utilise, (e.g. making organic cider and preserves.) We try to use as much produce as possible from the tunnel, raised beds, and garden areas, sun-drying tomatoes, and making preserves and sauces.
    We have two rescue cats, three rescue dogs who just love long daily walks along the forest tracks, and four rescue hens and a cockerel ( Mr. Ordinary).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will gain experience of eco-friendly rural living in a secluded and relaxed atmosphere but with mod cons. We are not an 'Off Grid' situation but are trying to live as close to nature as possible. We have farming experience and extensive agricultural knowledge (I was a former staff member at the Durham College of Agriculture where we both also studied) we love our vegetable cultivation and are presently experimenting and coming to terms with the different growing techniques for our present climatic situation. We also have experiences of living for many years on the remote outer islands of Orkney off the North Coast of Scotland and would be willing to share our knowledge of this. We also love music and still manage to play a little.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Development and maintenance of gardens and grass areas around the property, forest floor clearing, seasonal fruit picking, olive harvesting, building repairs, painting, and interior decorating, animal care and exercise, help with computers/Internet, cooking meals.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are trying to improve our Portuguese and would be delighted to have conversation practice if possible. We were both teachers and could help with any aspect of the English language in return.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Two berths 'Vanroyce' caravan within the property grounds with limited electricity, use of the main house Summer Kitchen with gas cooker/oven, fridge, and washing machine. Shower and toilet facilities are attached to the Summer Kitchen. There is a hard parking area near the main house for a camper van or caravan and soft ground for tents next to our caravan. We have unlimited internet in the house and caravan. We are situated 6km from the historic market town of Serta on the road towards the International water sports centre at Trizio.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The scenery around Serta and the surrounding mountains are varied and dramatic in places. The immediate area from our Quinta is a mixture of modern and very traditional houses where local people go about their daily routines as practiced by many former generations whose values are now sadly declining so quickly in the modern materialistic world in which we live. Helpers will get an insight into a fast-disappearing way of life.
    We have two mountain bikes for use to discover the local areas and enjoy transporting helpers to see places of interest outwith the immediate local area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    4G unlimited......The Internet is unlimited also in a 2 berth caravan.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Any size of van can be accommodated with linkup to limited electricity.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes by prior arrangement

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Usually 5 hours per day for full board.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 245979545824

Feedback (20)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.9)






















Vegan regenerative smallholding in peaceful mountain location in Oleiros, Portugal
Arbeiten am Flussufer des Mira, Portugal