Help build a self-sufficient place using ecological methods and materials in Chélan, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 41 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.01.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 17 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are 2 couples : Maëlle and Jérôme are living in an old farm, Lisa and Thomas in a yurt in the garden. Our project is to build a self-sufficient place, and to host old people who need assistance. We are restoring the farm with ecological methods and materials. When we bought the farm in 2014, it was uninhabitable. Before leaving our life in Paris, we spent a few summers working on it (mostly to build back the roof and one small living room) and we now moved in end of 2018. Until today, we have had mainly friends helping, which learned us a lot on how to work and live in group. We now want to share this adventure with as many people as possible !!
    We also started a vegetable garden this year and just installed 3 beehives on the land !

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Landarbeit

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Since we live in a small village, we are surrounded by a strong southern-french rural atmosphere. We collaborate with many local actors and participate to many cultural activities in villages nearby. We'll be more than happy to share all this with you and also learn from you !

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our next workshop will be from 27/01 to 08/02 and planning to plant as many fruit trees as possible!! Or just cook and eat if it's too rainy :)

    Last November workshop was :
    We planed a great variety of tasks :
    - finish soil-straw workshop*
    - build a small greenhouse
    - finish the fence around the vegetable garden, to protect it from cabbage-eater-rabbits (and from our futur chicken).

    During these 2 weeks, for those who are interested, we'll also offer a talk about agroforestery, permaculture and gardening in living soils.

    We'll be from 10 to 12 people.
    Looking forward to meet you !

    *Last summer, we rebuilded two bedrooms with half-timbering using soil-straw mixture. The text below was our workshop description :

    The present halftimbering (see pictures) is 150 years old and is abandoned since 50 years. In order to restore this structure in an ecologic way and to end up with a passive house, we choosed a soil-earth solution. 
    This solution will fit in easyly in the existing structure, plus it has good phonic and heating capacities. All materials used here are local, the technics requieres very low energy, which makes it a low footprint solution !

    The project we have here will concerns only 2 rooms on the first floor.
    The thecnic is based on a mixture of soil and straw. We will first use ciment mixer to have a nice clay/water mixture, and then add it to straw in big bathtups.
    We will lift up all this mixture thanks to buckets and pullies.
    Then we will fill up the formworks with big wooden hammers.
    We will move on progresivly on the 4 different walls, starting from the bottom and going up 40 cm by 40 cm.

    There are three different teams all along the process, first one on the mixture, second one getting it up, the third one filling the formworks.
    For those who want to discover all the process, everyone will be able to change team every half day as all the technics are simple and easily handled by all. Also, Thomas, Lisa, Jerome and Maelle will be involved in all teams to help and take time with each one of you.

    We will be very happy to share these moments with you !

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English, German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    For sleeping, we offer to stay in à gîte near our place (15 minutes by fret, 3 minutes by car, we can pick you up). Then we all share meals in a common kitchen and turn teams every day for cooking.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In our place we only have composting toilets (real toilets in the gite).
    Animals are welcome, please let us know before.
    We can accomodate you by picking you up in the nearest train stations (Lannemezan, Auch).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4/5 hours a day, 5 dates in the week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 245919643278