Live in a conscious and responsible way and help with our eco house in Andalusia, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 107 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Who We Are:
    We are a family with 5 children, ranging from 3 to 24 years old, but only two of them live with us now (3 y/o, 13 y/0). We live in Andalucia, Spain, since 2006. We try to live in a conscious and responsible way. Making informed choices and educating our children with a sense of connection to themselves and the world around them. They are fluent in three languages: English, Spanish and Dutch, which has made them open to different cultures and peoples. 

    Stephen, a maker of fine Spanish hand-made guitars, has known since the age of 17 he wanted to be a luthier. Growing up on one of the first organic farms in the UK from 1976 he gained much knowledge of soil husbandry and care for the land. From 1987 he dedicated his life to making guitars and runs a busy workshop in Spain making bespoke instruments and also teaching the art of guitar making to students from around the world. He has the innate ability to create community around him, through his work. First in Lewes in the UK and later on in Spain he has a circle of apprentices and former students who have become makers after studying with Stephen. 

    Marjolein, a Tibetan yoga teacher and reflexology practitioner, has first pursued a corporate career in The Netherlands after getting a degree in International Business Administration and upon moving to Spain has switched her focus completely and started her education in the ancestral knowledge of self-healing practices from Tibet and complemented this later with a new form of clinical reflexology called Duopody. She runs her own practice in La Herradura and works with people from all over the world.

    Having gained experience in running a permaculture school garden in the local public school in La Herradura and later another organically run large vegetable garden with some others, we learned a lot about teaching the principles of harmony with nature and permaculture.
    In his early adulthood Stephen already gained experience building and restoring with traditional techniques in Italy and applied these methods later also on rebuilding a small mountain house in Spain, that served for a time as his guitar making workshop. 

    At the moment, we slowly build our Eco House and we are looking for couples. One or both of you will be working on the site, while the other one also helps in the house where we live now, in the village. This is with cooking and shopping, cleaning, looking after our 2-year old daughter Ayla. The project will require hard physical work in the outdoor and indoor areas and collaborate occasionally with our professionals, as well as with Stephen and Marjolein and volunteers. We are currently restoring the front part of the house, on which he have put a new roof, new floors and have fitted the electrics. We have started with the final lime rendering of the walls, floor and ceilings. And have now started on the back of the house, which will be a completely new-built using a timber frame and hempcrete.
    Workaways stay in our Yurt on site, a 10 minutes walk from the beach of La Herradura. Even though there is water on the site, there is no warm shower available yet (but a cold water one yes!) and only a compost toilet. You can use showers on the beach or in our house. Living circumstances are simple and basic, but it is a beautiful spot for who likes living outdoors. There is an outside kitchen available with gas cooking facilities and an oven.
    La Herradura is placed 55 minutes between Malaga and Granada. In the summer (and all year around), you can enjoy the nature, mountains, beautiful beaches and inspiring cities.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is an amazing opportunity for someone or a couple to enjoy living in nature in a small Mongolian Yurt tent, only 10 minutes walk from the beach. We have a wonderful, open-minded, international community here that we can easily link you in with if you wish. You will have your privacy to explore the Andalusian mountains and enjoy the local culture. You will be involved in all the aspects of the project and we hope it will be a wonderful exchange.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like you to get involved in the project as much as you can while here. This includes working on the land, vegetable garden, watering, as well as on the building site of the eco-house. We welcome any initiatives or interests that you would like to develop. For instance, we have built a pizza oven on site recently as this was an interest of several volunteers on the project. We expect you to be self-motivated, trustworthy and responsible so that at times you can work independently.
    In our village house we live with our family of four and it is a busy, lively environment. We ask you to get involved in our family life and hope you feel happy to be a part of it. We both run our own businesses and are therefor quite busy, so someone keeping things running smoothly in the house is needed! Being part of our lives on the site as well as in the house, will also include helping us keeping things clean and tidy and cooking family meals.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Traditional Mongolian Yurt Tent for 2 people. We will provide healthy food and water to the site. The location is pretty basic, no running water as yet, compost toilet. Shower on site as well as on the beach or at our house in the village. Basic solar power for mobile phone charging and lighting.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The workawayers will be able to enjoy the beach (7 mins walk) and get to know other young people who live in La Herradura and enjoy the Workaway platform to promote cultural exchange. There is large group of people from all over the world in La Herradura that form a strong community. It is very easy to link in with them and it will help you find your way around.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Parking for a small van at the site

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes, we can. But there is a cat on site and it would depend on the interaction between the animals whether it would work or not.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 238887218445