Workaway stay at our Organic farm and permaculture project in La Codosera, Extremadura, Spain.

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 1648 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    83  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    507

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    #WE HAVE, at the moment, ROOM FOR 1-2 VOLUNTEERS WHO CAN HELP US IN THE OLIVE HARVESTING AND IN THE PREPARATION OF 2HAS OF EDIBLE FOREST#

    If you consider yourself a RESPONSIBLE, RELIABLE and COMPETENT person,
    if you are interested in NATURE in general, and in ORGANIC MARKET FARMING in particular,
    and if you want to help and to be part of a LOCAL SUSTAINABLE PROJECT,
    then fell free to contact us. Most volunteers do never forget their stay in Las Huertas.

    - WHAT THIS PROJECT IS ALL ABOUT:

    More than 13 years have passed since this project was started. During all this time we have grown ORGANIC FRUITS AND VEGETABLES, supplying to different ORGANIC CONSUMER GROUPS in the region (Extremadura).
    But our main goal is not just to run an organic vegetable farm, but to create a totally sustainable project in the 30has of land we are responsible of.
    And we are creating that from ZERO, starting with very little economic resources, and learning with experience.

    We plan the ORGANIC GARDEN (1 ha) to be the economic engine for this project, and it is where we are currently focused on. Once the garden is totally economically sustainable, we plan to restore a Mediterranean forest and to create and edible forest. We have already started planting 1ha of the edible forest.

    - WHAT YOU WILL AND YOU WONT FIND HERE:

    You will find a place where you can learn from the experience and all the mistakes we have made for running an organic farm. We will try to show you as much as we can, and to give you good advices. We will always answer you any question you have. But this is not a workshop school. You will learn from daily practice and from all the questions you will make us.

    You will find a place to share experiences with other volunteers, generally sharing a very good time. Most of the time there are 4-6 volunteers at the farm, but sometimes there will be more than 6 people, on some exceptional cases, only you. Interested volunteers should be ABLE TO LIVE TOGETHER WITH MORE PEOPLE, and also TO LIVE ALONE in an isolated place.

    Me, Javier, the host and the responsible of running the farm, do not live with the volunteers. I live in La Codosera, 5kms away from the farm, and I go to work at the farm only in the mornings (Monday to Sunday). This means that during the rest of the day you won’t be sharing your time with your host. It you are looking for a more social sharing with local people, this is maybe not the best place.

    We can talk to you either in Spanish or in English. But if your main priority is to learn Spanish, a better option would be another project in which you can live with your hosts.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    With this project you can learn from the experience of running an organic market farm for 13 years. To learn from all our mistakes and our skills (our main knowledge and experience is about organic farming and soil, not so much about permaculture).

    You will have the feeling of helping at an interesting project, who aims to manage the land we are responsible of in a different and sustainable way. And, very important, LIVING ECONOMICALLY FROM THAT.

    You will also be part of a small comunity of 4-6 volunteers (usually), and have a good time you may remember forever.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The kind of help at the farm is quite varied, depending mainly on the season.

    During February-May the main tasks are to get the garden ready for the summer bounty: preparing seedbeds, getting prepared the permanent beds for sowing or transplanting, applying compost,...
    During the summer the main tasks are harvesting, weeding, storing produce, watering,...
    Winter (november- february) is usually a period for general organization at the farm, the olive harvesting, the preparationg of the edible forest, and for getting some small projects realized that are not possible to make during the "rush" of the rest of the year.

    Besides the garden work, there are also plenty of different tasks all year around:
    - We are also preparing the land around the garden (when we have time after attending the garden) as we plan to organize different activities in the future (markets, concerts, festivals,...).

    We ask for 5 hours help every day, from Monday to Friday. On summers, because of heat, we use to start at 7:30 and finish at 12:30. On winter, it is from 9:30h to 14:30h.
    Saturday is the cleaning day of the volunteer house, which takes around 2-3hours.

    #WE DONT ASK for a deep experience (knowledge + work) in farming (although it is much looked after) but mainly for a desire to help and to learn#.

    And we are also looking for ARTISTS who would like to leave their mark in this land.

    There are some other abilities that would be greatly wellcomed:
    - working with stone.
    - Building knowledge.
    - Carpentry.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The available house for volunteers is an ancient one, with one living room, one kitchen, and 2 bedrooms.
    There is running water at the house, but not a washing machine, and there is not a toilet inside the house. The toilet is outdoor, a dry one. The shower is also outdoor, without roof (we are actually building a toilet by the house, that will be operative by early next year).

    There is WIFI at the farm.

    There is electricity.

    Althought there are not many commodities in the house, most volunteers agree that it is a quite pleasant one to live in, and one they will always remember.

    There is also a caravan available for volunteers.

    We don´t live at the farm, but in the nearby village of La Codosera, 5 kms away.

    #CLEANLINESS of the house is compulsory# The house has to be clean at all times, and some basic strict rules have to be followed to get it. If some volunteer does not keep the house tidy and organized will be invited to leave.
    All Saturdays volunteers will have to make a deep cleaning of the house, which takes 2-3 hours

    FOOD: Volunteers have at their disposal a kitchen in the house where to prepare their own food (sometimes they prefer to cook altogether, and other times separately). There is a list in the house with all the ingredients we will be provide you when you ask for them (rice, pasta, legumes, vegetables, fruit, milk, biscuits, muesli, tea, coffee, honey, sugar, jams, sunflower and olive oil, spices,...). We look forward for all the food asked to be vegan, although we also provide non vegan food (but not meat or fish).
    There is a small supermarket 2 km away, in the hamlet of La Tojera, and some bigger ones in La Codosera (5km away).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    LOCATION. The farm is just by the Portuguese Natural Park of San Mamede, where you can visit the most beautiful villages in Portugal: Marvao (39km away), Castelo de Vide (40km) and Alegrete (17 km). You can also visit the Medieval village of Alburquerque (25 km), with its stunning castle. As this is a frontier region with Portugal, there are plenty of castles around, many of them abandoned: Mayorga, Ouguela, Azagala,...

    You can also enjoy the solitude of this place, walking around to La peña del Buho, going up the farm stream discovering abandoned houses, wells, stone walls, gardens,... Or just going to the top part of the farm, la "Sierra de los siete lobos" and contemplate the views.

    ARRIVING HERE. The best way for arriving here is from Badajoz, 60km away from the farm and 500Km away from Madrid. There are many buses from Madrid to Badajoz, and 2 dayly buses in the summer and 1 bus in the winter from Badajoz to La Codosera (you can see the bus timetables at the web page of the bus company damas, checking from Badajoz to La Codosera). We would pick you up in La Codosera. BE AWARE there are no buses on Sundays and holidays, so this is not the best day to get here. We do nt pick volunteers on holidays or Sundays, as it is our day off.
    We have a market at Badajoz every Wednesday (19:00-20:00h), so we could meet at the market.

    Unless you are coming with your own car, we ask for a MINIMUM STAY OF 3 WEEKS.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours a week - flexible times

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




































































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 238853712912