Join us on our hobby farm with Icelandic horses in Pedersöre, Finland

  • Finnland
  • Bisher 353 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    We have a hobby farm in Finland with many pets: a herd of Icelandic horses, 2 goats, chickens, 5 dogs, 6 cats, 2 geckos and an axolotl. We breed Icelandic horses, we currently have around 20 including many foals. They are awesome, energetic and very stubborn :)
    The goats know how to perform multiple tricks and if you bribe them they might show you. The minipig Nasu loves belly scratches but can be shy at first. We hope our workawayers give him the attention he deserves.

    We are a family of 5, the "kids" aged 12, 14, 20 (Lara) and 24. (The eldest one is not living at home, and Lara is running this account, and home during weekends)
    We are originally from Austria but have been living in Finland since 16 years. The mom (Ursula) is a veterinarian (that's also why we have 6 cats, they are all rescues). We are a very chill, humorous and a bit crazy family in a chaotic household. We like to spend our free time with the animals and play board games.

    Workawayers here should be flexible, show initiative, genuinely want to help, and love spending time with pets and being outside with the horses. Owning a good sense of humour helps. You will not receive very detailed instructions and you need to feel comfortable with that and show initiative.
    We would like people who are:
    1. Over 21 years old
    2. Able to work independently
    3.Good cooks to make family meals
    4. Experienced (!) horse riders to help train our horses. Preferably people with experience with Icelandic horses.
    5. Handy people to build fences in the spring and summer.
    6. Motivated cleaners
    7. Lively humourous people to be a part of our family :)
    We are a non-smoking household.

    Please note, it's a messy and chaotic household and garden and we need help to clean it up. We don't have a fancy riding school but happy muddy horses. Only come here if you can handle messyness and are willing to help with cleaning.
    And during the workweek the mom works a lot and can be home very late. So incase there are no other workawayers you need to be okay with being alone during the day (although you are never truly alone with all the pets)
    During the weekend she has more time.

    We live in a big old house (140 years old) in the countryside surrounded by woods and fields. On our rides we cross a river. There is a lake 14 kilometers away that we sometimes visit in the summer to go for a swim. The ocean is a 40 minute drive away.

    We speak German, Finnish, Swedish, English and the mom also knows how to speak French, Icelandic and some Spanish.

    We don't have a business and the help needed would vary from day to day, the hours are flexible and taking time off to do trips wouldn't be a problem.

    Would be great if you would write something to proof you have read our entire profile :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Experienced horse riders with no fear of energetic horses can join us for rides in the beautiful countryside. Inexperienced riders have the chance of learning a little riding as well.
    You can explore the woods and nature. We can teach you a little Finnish or Swedish if interested. You can meet local people and experience Finland from a local standpoint.
    You can cuddle a lot of animals, which is great for the soul :)

  • Arbeit


    We welcome help with:
    -Training the horses: groundwork and halter training foals, riding and doing groundwork with the older ones
    -Feeding all of the animals
    -Cleaning the house and the garden, one of the daily tasks is to keep the house in order.
    -Cooking family meals (also coming up with ideas what to cook, making grocery lists)
    -Going on longs walks with the dogs and also walking the goats
    -Fixing fences in the warmer months or doing other outside projects.
    -Haywork in the summer

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Finnish: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    There is a guestroom with a bunkbed upstairs workawayers can use. If we have mutliple workawayers you might have to share a room. The bathroom and other rooms are shared and you would be living like part of the family. The house is truly a mess most of the time, and it's chaotic countrylife we are living. With this many animals it gets dirty very fast and we need help with that!
    Only come if you can handle it. Seriously
    We have WiFi in the living room, otherwise the connection can be bad at times.

    You are always free to help yourself from our kitchen.
    Half of the family is pescatarian, so vegetarians are very welcome :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a small town 30 kilometers away, it's possible to take a bus there and back. We can do a little sightseeing together, and you can meet local people. If you want to go somewhere further away there is a train station we can drive you to.

    Near us we also have a local sight, a biiig rock called Ilveskivi. But that's really the only sight haha, I hope you came to see trees and animals and not sights.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 234781131969

Feedback (6)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.7)

Help out with daily routines and be a part of our little family in Kimito Island, Finland
Building a tiny sauna on wheels and getting firewood from the forest in a peace of nature in Sammatti, Finland