Learn some new skills, helping us to improve our home in a sustainable way near Dartmoor National Park, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 79 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    68.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 19 Tage

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ***Update March 2021:

    We are looking for some last minute help Currently, Lucy is working overseas, and so it is just Rob and our lovely dog Maurice at home. Rob is really easy going and friendly, and Maurice will be your best friend!

    We live in a friendly rural village with great bus links and lovely neighbours, as well as lots of active outdoor groups that you can find on Facebook (just ask us!), to meet other people easily. And Rob can show you around the area too - mostly on hikes and trails with Maurice, on or around Dartmoor National Park (See wild ponies, sheep that walk in the road, and highland cattle.) There's plenty to do on your time off too.

    The help is mostly painting walls and windows, and garden clearance, and the house is really calm - a nice place to do a bit of mindful DIY and escape busy life. If you have some DIY experience, great. If not, and you are willing to learn - Rob is a bit of a pro so can teach you some really great DIY skills for life.

    We try to eat really healthy, and so if you enjoy cooking healthy meals too, that would be great. We'd love to host someone who likes to join in with meals and conversations, as well as have their own time and space when they want it.

    If you're interested, get in touch, and we can set up a Skype call maybe so you can ask any questions?

    You can reach us easily from any of the main UK airports, using National Express coaches, or the trains. We can collect you from Exeter, our nearest city.

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    We are a friendly couple in our 40s, and a very lovable rescue dog called Maurice, looking to welcome you into your home, for happy mealtimes getting to know each other; for a cultural and skill exchange; and to show you the lovely Devon countryside;

    Rob is a fire-engineer, and an amazing carpenter/renovator in his spare time, as well as a member of the local Mountain Rescue Team. Lucy is a homeopath and wilderness therapist, with a love of sustainability and permaculture. She can teach you about these.

    If you have renovation skills, that is great! But if not, we can teach you new skills, in renovating an old building. We are renovating our 17th century home (previously an old coaching inn/pub), which is in a small village, near to Dartmoor National Park, in Devon, UK.

    There are plenty of tasks to choose from, depending on your skills and the weather, including painting indoors, sanding and painting window frames, garden clearing, growing veg, landscaping etc. We like help to be relaxing and fun, and not a chore.

    We love healthy eating, and eat mostly vegetarian, with meat maybe once a week. We would love to share our own recipes with you, and if you have a love of healthy cooking too, that would be great.

    We are looking for calm, happy individuals with a great attitude, who are happy to be an active part of the household. We like to think this describes us too!

    We have both been Workawayers, and want to give back the experience, so we can show you round the area and send you off on adventures too - there is SO much to explore here.

    We look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Lucy and Rob

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We know all the secret and best spots on Dartmoor National Park, for walking, wild camping, wild swimming, kayaking, cycling and SUP boarding. So we can show you around and take you on some lovely tours.

    Rob is on the Mountain Rescue team so knows the moor really well - you can also learn a bit about Mountain Rescue and the Devon way of life.

    We can also take you out 'Dartmoor Letterboxing.' It is like the original geocaching, and it started here in Devon in 1854.

    Lucy is a homeopath and wilderness counsellor. She is into all things permaculture, natural, organic, composting and recycling and is happy to skill share with anyone!

    Lucy also helps to runs a large local, outdoor network, so there are always other people up for outdoor activities, if you want to make friends locally.

    Rob loves doing ultra-marathons, outdoor challenges, on bike or foot, running or walking, so would be more than willing to take you out on some adventures - maybe you could enter a local event with him?

    We don't have chicken's yet, but thats in the plan. There is a large chicken run, waiting to be uncovered from the wild garden and weeds...! And a green house and veg bed waiting to be loved. We have lots of organic seeds that need to be sowed. There are horses in the field next to our house, and plenty of wild horses on Dartmoor. In fact, wild everything on Dartmoor, including sheep, highland cattle, ponies and some pretty wild people too!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We live in a 17th century converted pub, (now our home) - the garden is wild, and we are restoring it bit by bit, as sustainably as we can. There are lots of walls to be painted at the moment! But it’s a calm, relaxed house so a nice mindful task.

    We would love to host people with experience of DIY, gardening, building, architecture etc, as we think it will be a really interesting experience for them. However a keen and strong, helper who is not shy of the British weather will equally enjoy staying with us, and we can teach you the skills you need.

    Rob could do the tasks himself, however, it is more fun to have people around, and we enjoy the Workaway experience and skill/culture sharing.

    We are very easy going, and aside from the work experience, we would like to welcome you as part of the household, to join in with your share of cooking and washing up etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your own, sunny room in our lovely home, and most of the time, your own bathroom (it is not renovated yet, so has a quirky look to it!). We live on a natural spring, which means the water is healthy and delicious to drink, but we keep showers short as the water tank is on the small side.

    As we live in an old house, bring warm socks or slippers for your feet, and a nice warm jumper! But please don't let this put you off - we have log burners and heating too.

    We enjoy eating meals together, around the kitchen table. We like to eat healthy, and we have a juicer and smoothie maker if you like to make those too.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Getting to Devon is really easy from all of the UK airports and cities. National Express coaches, or The Train Line website, list all the coach and train services, to get you to Exeter.

    We live in an amazing part of the world!

    Our village has a rural bus service, ideal for local day trips, or to get into Exeter city for onward travel. There are no buses in the evening, nor on a Sunday, but they do run to the next village, a short drive away. There is a pub in our village, and plenty more locally.

    It is easy to camp, wild camp or wild swim on Dartmoor, and there is so much countryside, public footpaths and beaches to explore (the beaches are further away, but would make a good day trip or weekend trip. The North Devon beaches are great for surfing).

    The small city of Exeter is about 45mins on the bus, with plenty to see and do - it is a university city, with a beautiful cathedral and a lovely quay to the mouth of the river Exe, where you can kayak, canoe, stand-up paddle board and cycle.

    We have a medium-sized food shop in the village that sells everything, and a big supermarket and nice shops and coffee shops, in Crediton, about 6 miles away on the bus route.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Part of our project might be to host digital nomads as paying guests in the future, so if you are a digital nomad, you might enjoy being a part of helping us design our project to suit people like yourself. We would love your input into something really exciting. We would love to hear from you!

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    For van livers, we have a secure back drive with a gate and hardstanding for a van. There is no electricity down there, but it is peaceful. There is also a nice shed with garden seats and make shift surfaces/shelves, if you decide you would like to stay down there.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 232558365524