Come experience an off grid property surrounded by nature, mountains and the Yalakom River 40 mins from Lillooet, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 108 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Originally from Australia and after spending 20 years in the Sea to Sky Corridor (Whistler, Pemberton area), Sharon French ~ Wild Womyn Plant Wisdom, realized it was time to step off the hamster wheel and slow life down. I moved my life into the unknown, to the off grid back to the land movement in the beautiful Yalakom Valley. The Yalakom Valley River Sanctuary is near the confluence of the Bridge and Yalakom rivers. It's a safe sacred place to unwind, let go, unplug and tap into the inner self. The soothing sound of the river, the peace and the quite of the natural setting of the property will step you back in time. Sharon practices basic herbal medicine, collecting the foods in and around the land and makes, tinctures, oils, teas, infusions and dehydrates. The Yalakom Valley is surrounded by the Camelsfoot and Shulaps Mountain Ranges.

    The property is in the "beginning stage" of what I would like it to be. Eventually the property will have pigs, ducks, chickens, sheep, loads of berries, fruit trees and an organic garden. I like the idea of Permaculture and would like to study/learn more to be able to create a Permaculture setting at the property. The property consists of a piece of land down by the river as well as the top property which is up on the bench. The bench property has the sun and the river property has the water. The Plan is to somehow have Solar Power running from the top property down to the river property and to have water being pumped up from the river property, up to the top property.

    It would be great to have a like minded community to share the land with. We have 2 to 3 day ~ Take a Walk on the Wild Side Retreats" which are focused around connecting to nature, plants and their healing properties, tincture and salve making.

    There is a converted garden shed which is now a cabin that will be rented out from time to time and I'm open to the possibility of having it as a B&B.

    I live here with my cats Suzi Q, Kimba the White Lioness and her daughter from the first litter .... SJ, Suze Jnr. There are 6 chooks, a rooster, and 4 guinea fowl on the property

    We are surrounded by nature and all the wildlife that live and pass by the property from time to time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Originally from Australia, i've been living in Canada now for 22 years. The Yalakom Valley River Sanctuary is located in the horseshoe of an off grid community with many worldly cultures, visiting or staying a while. We are neighbours to unceded ancestral and traditional lands of the St'át'imc people.

    Whilst here you would learn, soil making, composting, worm farming, how to grow food, setting up of irrigation, DIY projects, how to make salves tinctures and oils. Collecting of medicinal plants and sooo much more !

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The property is so abundant in spring flowers. its amazing. the bees are buzzing the monarchs are here and the hummingbirds are busy flying around.

    Right now would be help with invasive plants. You would get to know the ones in and around the local area and be part of there removal. Weed wacking needs to be started after the invasives are dug up. I've been working on an amazing asparagus bed and blueberries and haskaps are next.

    In the spring the projects are setting up of irrigation and hoses. In the fall it is preparing the property to be "put asleep" so to speak for the winter.

    Future projects are finishing off a skool bus conversion to a tiny home and building a barn like structure to house pigs, sheep, hay, straw and feed. erecting of a green house and coming up with some kind of shelter for the outdoor kitchen hang out area.

    I also have a small legal Medicinal Marijuana Licence and will need help flipping bags, topping up the soil and putting landscape cloth down. Irrigation will also need to be re set up.

    The outdoor shower has now been installed and needs the floor touching up. i've collected rock from the mountains and some moss to use as the floor/tiles for the shower. this project is a little unfinished. I've collected a couple of cast iron bath tubs and rocks from the high alpine to use as tiles for the outdoor setting. I have x 1 hot water on demand system for the heating of the shower and bath area.

    Helping out with meal planning and co creating delicious meals.

    If anyone has experience in Permaculture that would be a great asset here.

    Photography of the place/property along with the downloading of pictures and i/t help would be GREAT !

    This location is a fabulous place to be during a pandemic. I'm so blessed.

    If you have a vehicle I can send you my pin, my GPS location.

    If you do not have a vehicle, what works best is to travel to Kamloops and then take the Medical Bus to Lillooet.

    I can then travel to Lillooet to gather you and start your off grid, back to the land experience.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are a variety of options. In the Summer months there are a handful of tent spots available in and around the property. You would need to provide your own tent. I can help out with a couple of douvets. In the Spring and the Fall the air is cooler and there is more of a chance it will rain, accommodations available would be the unfinished "Skool" bus as well as the "Special" white bus. Life and projects work with the seasons over here. From time to time I am working therefore I may not be around for every meal. There will always be food in the fridge.

    Outdoor showers and bath tubs will only be available during the months of June, July, August, September due to the potential of frost freezing the hot water on demand hardware as well as the hoses/water lines.

    The outdoor kitchen area needs a little tweaking.

    We are in the process of putting up a Shelter to house the outdoor kitchen area and a space to be able to hang out outside of the buses.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are fortunate enough to have the beautiful Yalakom River flow by the property. Relaxing and reading a book down by the river is one of my favourite past times as well as hanging out in the hammocks provided on the property. There are walks around the area as well as some amazing hikes. There is a great spot along Porcipine Ridge for watching meteor showers. From time to time there are pot lucks in the neighbourhood and every Tuesday night our good friend Len holds Music Night. Len has been holding Music Night now for over 20 years.

    I go into town at least once a week. We are a 40 minute drive from the town of Lillooet.

    The main house is x 2 cabins from 1934 put together with a face lift. The house/property runs on a system. It's really important to learn, understand and respect the system for longevity of the place.

    There is an indoor bathroom, however it is encouraged and highly suggested to use the outhouse as well as the sesonal outdoor showers/bathtubs once they are set up outside.

    The property is a drug and alcohol free zone and since we live in the forest with a high potential of fire danger the property is also a smoke free zone.

    The property is out of cell range with limited internet access times.

    There is LIMITED internet where I live and its used for emails and texting. THERE IS NO ROOM for STREAMING or DOWNLOADING. You will need to do all your STREAMING and DOWNLOADING before you arrive or on your town days. There is free internet at the Library, A n W and the bakery in Lillooet.

    If you have a vehicle I can send you my pin, my GPS location.

    What works best is to travel to Kamloops and then take the Medical Bus to Lillooet with the lillooetbc website

    I can then travel to Lillooet to gather you and start your off grid, back to the land experience.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    i have limited internet and internet times and any streaming and downloading would need to be completed in town.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    there is space up on the top property for motorhomes and space around the bus area at the bottom property for a van

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.3)

Kommunikation: (4.3)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 222552472288