Help our family with an interesting renovation project in Elst, in the flemish Ardenne, Belgium

Country

Belgien

Bisher 24 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello! Our names are Stein and Thamy. Together with our little daughter Otte we live in a little village called Elst, in the flemish ardennes. We are located in a beautiful area, with lots of nature to go for walks (or bike! Our regions quite known for a big racing bike competition, de ronde van Vlaanderen).

    In september we bought a little house with big yard. The house was run down, with no running water or kitchen and a big yard full of nettles and brambles higher then Stein (and he is 1m95!), but we fell in love with the view and the possibilities of one day making a food forest!
    The first few months we emptied the house and the shed, cut down a lot of trees (too old, too high and close to the house or sick), made fire wood, put a roof back on the shed and made a playhouse for the little one.

    This summer we live in a caravan we put on the property while we work on the house, we hope to make it livable by autumn/winter. We like to do everything as sustainable as possible, we try to build everything with second hand stuff. If second hand is not an option we build biological, we even dream to make paster and earth floor form our own ground. We try to experiment and move self builder boundaries.

    A little bit more about us:
    Stein works in Kortrijk and is a property en realty manager of the city, is a taught Architect and helped building his parents houses. You can say he knows a lot about building houses! He has a great passion for bio ecological building and other forms of housing,.. so he's definitely going to try out some techniques over the years at our project. In his spare time he loves to work with wood, spoon carving, making furniture,...
    Thamy works for the city of Oudenaarde at the department for after school care for kids but studied as a kindergarden teacher. In her spare time she likes to draw and make music. Oh, and loves cooking! She loves to garden and make things with the produce or can them for later in the year. She loves to try out new fermenting techniques like sourdough, kombucha or ginger beer. She hopes that in a few years they can produce a lot more food for themselves in the garden.
    Otte is a sweet little toddler of 2 that is going to school in the fall, she is quite shy in the beginning but once she gets to know you a little better she is probably gonna smother you with attention (oh and if it would be your birthday when are here. She can sing happy birthday very cute!)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We definitely see WorkAway as learning from one another and broadening our horizon. Learning from other cultures and expanding our friend circle.

    You can surely learn a thing our two about sustainable building and living with us.
    We are still learning about permaculture and food forestation, but you can definitely learn with us!
    In the summer we always partake in some preserving and fermenting activities and would love for you to join them.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    You will mainly help Stein with building and yard help. We are now finishing the outdoor kitchen and doing ground work.
    We're gonna start renovating the main house. The help will be versatile, woodworking, plastering and painting, facial finishing, plumming…etc
    You can learn building in every step of the proces from the ground and sewage to painting.
    At the end of the summer we will prepare the yard for the planting of new trees and we will build the water purification system.
    Sometimes there will be room for fun project/ experiments, geodesic chicken coop, pizza oven, hot tub, sauna
    You can also help with the normal house help: helping to cook, playing with Otte, cleaning,.. etc

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We provide a big Bell tent with beds for you and the other WorkAwayers to sleep in.
    We have a shed with a kitchen and a shelter for cooking and hanging out. The garden is in a rough chape but you can retreat and find some privacy between the birds.
    We eat vegetarian meals but are open to buy you meat if you prefer that.
    If you want to take a trip we can drive you to the bus or trainstation to get to your destination.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Vlaamse Ardennes are know for their beautiful landscapes. We are surrounded with nature parks, for beautiful waking trips or you can partake on scenic bike rides. Gent, Brussel en Brugge are within 1 hour train ride.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    You can work from the shelter or the shed. Time to socialise with us and the other volunteers present is really important to us, so we only accept part-time digital nomads, no more than 2 hours/day or 1 day/week.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 222271241179