17th Century farmhouse - help keeping it up and the garden down, near Bruton, Somerset, England!

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 48 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live in a 17th century (1682) stone farmhouse near Bruton (2 miles), in an area of outstanding natural and peaceful beauty and adjacent to the river. Bruton is an ancient former market town in the south-east corner of Somerset, which has become well known as a centre for education and the arts, with a lively and friendly community. This is England at its best: rolling green hills, deep valleys, meandering rivers, Georgian architecture, farm land, hedgerow-lined country lanes, ancient woodlands, village pubs and duck ponds. Within easy reach is Bath, Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Salisbury, the New Forest, Stonehenge, Longleat, Frome, Castle Carey, Shepton Mallet and the Dorset coast: Lyme Regis, Chesil, Weymouth and Poole.
    We are married retirees looking for some general help with keeping the house up and the garden down! We have three adorable dogs (two girls and a boy, all very friendly and well-behaved) who like walks and exploring the countryside too!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Think of Somerset and what comes to mind - Georgian market towns, stunning views across open countryside, sandy beaches, superb strawberries, Cheddar cheese and cider? World-wide, our county is famous for its Glastonbury Festival, illuminated carnivals, arts, crafts and Arthurian Legends. Being in the centre of the South West is ideal for reaching pretty much everywhere: Cornwall, Wales, the home counties or further North. The ferry ports to the continent are about ninety minutes away. Therefore this is a great 'jumping off' point for the rest of England and indeed the UK. But first, soak in the culture of Somerset and the surrounding area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would love to host some workaways willing to help out around the house and mainly in the garden - nothing too strenuous and certainly within individual's abilities and energy.
    That said, if you have skills in dry stone walling, tree surgery, or fencing that would be amazing because we have some very simple projects that could use some help. We have some crumbling terrace walls, some overgrown trees and some fencing/gate needs. We'd be keen to learn some Spanish if you're bi-lingual, but that's not essential. The profile pictures show our farmhouse, the garden, the river, the hammock...and us!!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    We speak English but are keen to learn some Spanish?

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Comfortable accommodation is in the self-contained annex of the farmhouse. This comprises: one double bedroom, shower/WC, own kitchen, own sitting room with TV and internet, and a conservatory/dining area overlooking the lawn. All food is provided to suit your needs. The profile pictures shows the accommodation: bedroom, kitchen, sitting room and the shower room, so workdays will be very 'at home'.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Go explore! Bruton and it's surrounding villages and counties offers so much choice. Further afield the train station connects to London, Exeter, Bristol etc. It would be best if you are able to drive, but we can pick up/drop off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 217223924686