Help with the olive harvest at our home near Mata do Bussaco, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 17 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.08.2019

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My partner and I have our home in Central Portugal and have lived here for almost 9 years. We are both craft workers and have workshops at home. We are concerned for the environment, our garden is organic, we have a compost toilet (as well as a house toilet). We have approximately half an acre of land, including 14 olive trees. This looks to be a year for mega harvest and we need some help for a couple of weeks in mid-November.

    The guest/volunteer accommodation is a separate small barn conversion, can sleep 1, 2 or 3 people. It has a sitting room, 1bedroom and a toilet with wash basin. Shower and kitchen are in the main house. It is an old property, comfortably renovated.

    We have one cat who is sociable and quite vocal! We love music and being creative.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are English-speaking and live in a small village, the sole estrangeiros/foreigners here. The neighbours welcomed us and are very friendly. The village is typical of rural Portugal, small, family-oriented, agriculture-based. We have watched and learned something of how Portuguese people live and farm. We are non-meat eaters (I am vegan), so that is culturally different, however it is now known and we are given endless seasonal fruit and vegetables. We live a simple life, at home working and gardening mostly and that is acknowledged and respected.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We require help with the olive harvest this year, for 2 weeks from mid-November. We want to preserve olives for eating and take to the lagar for oil pressing. Usually we prune the olive trees whilst harvesting, so a strong "sawing arm"would be helpful!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The guest accommodation is a separate small barn conversion consisting of 1 bedroom (1double bed, 1single bed) on the 1st floor, a ground floor sitting room and toilet with wash basin.There is a wood-burning stove for cold weather and mains electricity. The shower and kitchen are in the main house, accessible to all. Meals are preferably prepared and eaten togetherr. We don't have meat in the house. We are happy to exchange meals and accommodation for work.....in this case, picking olives and pruning olive trees.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is beautiful countryside around for walks. Mata do Bussaco (amazing National Park) is 20 minutes drive, Coimbra is 50 minutes, accessible by train from Mortagua. Mortagua is our nearest town, 4 km away, with good facilities, even a cinema open Saturdays and Sundays. We have cars and can help with getting places. We go "Wave" dancing on Tuesday evenings and all are welcome! We love music and musicians!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 214877335115