Enjoy family life while helping my daughter learn a foreign language in Queensland, Australia.

Country

Australien

Bisher 68 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.07.2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Caitlin, a single mum, and Mira, my sixteen-month-old daughter, and we live together in a country cottage on a beautiful biodynamic property in Far North Queensland, Australia. Our place is on the banks of the Barron River on one side, and we have a small creek on the other. We enjoy tropical fruit from our trees for most of the year. We are located on the Atherton Tablelands, a highland region near Cairns. It's a tranquil rural area surrounded by wonderful natural attractions to see, including waterfalls, crater lakes, rainforest and bush hiking trails, and interesting wildlife. There are also many cultural events and workshops in the nearby country towns, such as concerts, festivals, and dance, theatre, gardening, and art workshops. We are also not far from the coast, where the rainforest meets the sea, and the Great Barrier Reef.

    We share this property with the owner, Wayne, who grows fruit trees and trains people in biodynamic farming and connecting to nature; Wayne’s teenage son, and another couple with their baby William. We all have our own houses and private space, but can enjoy the company and support of communal living as well. It is a great place for meeting people who care about sustainable and creative living. There is also a wonderful workshop space here overlooking the creek; the perfect spot for yoga, meditation, dance, sharing circles, or just some quiet solitude.

    As well as being mum to Mira, I am a theatre trainer and director. I work with local groups of children and adults to produce original devised theatre. I offer theatre and story-telling workshops here at our property too. I am also a qualified English language trainer and I taught business and general English in Germany for 8 years before coming back to Australia.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    First of all we offer you a cultural exchange and to be part of our little family and community here in Australia for a while. We are openhearted and easy-going. You could enjoy the peaceful beauty of our property, eat fruit from the trees and meet many interesting people.

    If you are learning English, you will be lucky to stay with me, a qualified English language teacher! I have worked for many years with learners of all different ages and levels from all over the world. I love explaining the mysteries of English and "fixing" language problems.

    We would also love to show you around our beautiful area for walks, swims, picnics and adventures in the local way at our nearby lakes, rivers, beaches and waterfalls. The Great Barrier Reef is right there if you would like to experience diving.

    If you are also passionate about originally devised theatre, you may be able to join me for some classes or workshops and participate in a learning exchange.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I would mostly like help with babysitting/childcare. I like to spend a lot of time with Mira myself, but I do also like some “me time” to do yoga or dance, and also just a bit of time to "get things done". I plan on starting some more workshops soon and I would love someone there to play with Mira while I’m working or busy with other things. Hopefully this will be fun for you. Mira is a joy to spend time with and there is plenty to do with her here at our place: sandpit, cubby house, trampoline, walks around the garden. She will show you where to pick the best fruit!

    I would love someone who could speak a foreign language with Mira, and teach her through story books and games. I guess I would love to learn some more foreign language as well!

    If you are particularly interested in theatre, you may be able to help me also with classes and performances.

    Some help with housework and gardening would also be involved. This is flexible. It could sometimes be just a little, or if you would like to be busy, there is always plenty to do. My neighbour Kristina can always use a hand with washing because she is with her baby William full time. And if you would like to learn about biodynamic gardening, Wayne would love to have you help him out as well.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You would have your own bedroom in our cottage, and share our bathroom. The bedroom has a single bed, cupboard, shelves, a desk and your own door out to the garden. The cottage is quite small and cosy, but there is plenty of room on the property and in the workshop if you would like time and space alone. You would share our healthy food at mealtimes with us, and we would love it if you would like to contribute some cooking and show us some meals from your country. We have internet access but no TV.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Have a look online at Cairns and the Atherton Tablelands and see all the natural beauty the area has to offer. There is not a lot of public transport here but I am happy to drive you to particular places you'd like to see.
    Mostly I am very flexible. You would have plenty of time off if you'd like, and I can take you to the nearby town or other places, but mostly we'd love someone who'd like to be a part of our little family for a while. This position would best suit a lover of nature and children who would like to have a cultural and language exchange.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 214791374462