Small lodging inside mediaeval fort on a hill-top in Extremadura, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 45 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.03.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    287

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am getting on (70 years old) and need help to re-roof a house in a rarely visited part of Spain.

    The house is in a small village and inside the ramparts. It's most recent re-build was in 1891. I'm hoping to make it into a place where the growing number of visitors to the Castle can pop in for a few moments of quiet and contemplation. It might also be a place to display artwork. Another small building could also be an art studio. There is nothing at all for visitors so far in the village. There are two small bars used by the people who live here and one shop. The village is undiscovered but a new, young mayor is hoping to inject some life back into it.


    It gets hot in the summertime and it is only possible to work for a few hours during the morning. You can find many natural swimming pools within a few kilometres. Bikes are available but the village does sit on a hill. The villages around have fiestas one after the other.
    Autumn is one of the finest times to visit Extremadura for mushrooms and chestnuts, good weather and beautiful colour.

    Just now the days are short and usually sunny with temperatures rising to 16ºC or 17ºC, but there can be periods of heavy rain and winds as well as frosts right into March. The house has good heating.

    Extremadura is remote; it has no airports but there is a daily bus from Madrid or I can pick you up from a train station (Plasencia NB not Palencia.)

    I would welcome all who want to spend some time finding space and silence in themselves. I, myself, enjoy solitude for extended periods and so I prefer people who come to stay for shorter rather than longer times. Although the Sierra is remote it is an ideal stop-off on the route to Portugal or Seville, Cadiz and N. Africa.

    There is only room for one person or one couple.

    I was I'll at the beginning of this year and couldn't reply to people on Workaway, so my reply rate fell quickly. Now I have recovered and will reply promptly.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The Sierra de Gata is in one of the least developed parts of Spain and also one of the most beautiful. There is no industry. Groups of people have set up small organic farms locally. Life in the Sierra is distinctive and mainly based on Olive production in terraces which have been assessed as providing some of the most bio-diverse environments in Europe.
    All the village take part in the harvest.
    You will be welcomed by my neighbours and will be part of a very traditional community.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Roofing work and building with stone.
    However, if you just need recovery time you are welcome, too.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    One small room available with a stove and a single bed which can double in width. It has a door to a patio. Bathroom, hot water, kitchen, washing machine.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    bikes available - but its hilly.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 187777272771