Help with land and house maintenance in Corfu, Greece



Bisher 82 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are a half- Cretan and half- Corfiot family. My parents started off in Crete but once me and my sister were born, they moved here. They started off with little money and over the course of a decade built this house practically by themselves, handy work and everything.
    This has resulted in many miscalculations and cheaper choices, which we are constantly trying to update. For example, we have updated the fireplace to an eco one, and connected it with the heating of the house, so we burn the least possible amount of petrol. We have installed a sun boiler for hot water and we are trying to add a wind turbine for extra electricity. If you have experience in solar panels you could share your wisdom too!
    While here you will meet with me and my father, as my mother has entrusted the house to us (which is her heirloom originally) and lives in our main (yet smaller) house, in Corfu Town. She visits on holidays and every now and then though, but usually it is us who go to her!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learning greek is of course the obvious thing. Other than that, or, an extension to that, we are a half- Corfiot half-Cretan family, and you will get to see how different two greek cultures can be. Both so different from the typical greek people have in mind. I am fluent in spanish and english, so I can help anyone who might need some practice. We have a big range of interests, too random to count, and a deep interest in other cultures.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are a small family in Corfu, looking to keep up to date our house and update it as much as we can.

    Having been a workawayer myself, I decided I might see how it is on the other side of this coin, so I am making this leap now to become a host for others.

    My father built this house in the mid 90's on his own, when our family was just starting off and we didn't have a lot of money to spend on the best. Today we are trying to keep up with maintenance, as we have the house and a medium-sized field where a lot is always going on: from chickens and ducks, to olive trees, to a green house, to small constructions here and there, and the front yard which always gets messy.

    While it is cold, we need help with wood for the fireplace, keeping the place clean from mud and other kinds of dirt, and doing some light maintenance inside the house.

    When the weather is better, there are some outside projects, for example now a wooden staircase that we are thinking of building, which will connect the balcony to the outdoors space behind the house.

    Other than that, all year round, just help with the everyday house tasks and cleaning.
    We have some local cats that have taken a liking to us for a few years now, as have we to them, so it would be important to have a cat friendly personality.

    Most of the time you would work with my father, who is Cretan and a nature's child - he can't be indoors for more than an hour, and he always has to be building, fixing or, in general, doing something.

    Ideal candidates would be a couple, as we have one large double bed in the room.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Greek: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    At our house, you will have your own bedroom. The bedroom will not be empty of things, as in is normally occupied, so please be respectful.
    The house has one bathroom. Unfortunately there is no key, remember the house is outdated and old, so the doors are too.
    You will be expected to respect the quiet hours during the night (12-1 am to 7-8 am) and most days one hour during midday-afternoon, as we take siestas seriously!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house is not close to public transportation, the closest bus stop (to Corfu Town) is 3km away (about 30 min walk). Corfu town is 12 km away. We almost daily come and go to Corfu town, so with prior planning we can get you to town and back, timetable not necessarily fixed. My father works at the airport and his schedule can vary greatly but can be very convenient; from mornings to late night, and with a span of +- 4 hours, it can be ideal for a night out or a quick visit to the city.
    Agios Gordis beach is 4,5 km (a 6 minute drive down, 9 minute up the hill) from the house, and if you are a lover of walking, you might as well enjoy this route (every year I see many visitors doing this on foot). When the weather is more fitting for a swim, we can take you along to the beach. Don't worry, you can go by yourselves and we meet up for the ride home. We don't want to be over your heads all the time, we understand you need your own time.
    As for arriving and departure, we will of course get you from the airport ) or port, however it is you arrive)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3 days on/2 days off schedule

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 186676732214