Help with archiving an art collection and social media at our Art Studios in Omaruru, Namibia



Bisher 248 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    Our Art Studio is situated in the thriving art village of Omaruru, Namibia. Half way between Windhoek and the coast, Omaruru is a home to quaint coffee shops, a tea garden, a photo gallery, lovely restaurants and a huge shop featuring wood carvings and art from all over Africa.

    Our Art Studio includes 3 smaller Art Studios, which are designed for our visitors. All of them are self-catering. Additionally, the main house has the archive of artworks, a little gallery, and a large space for workshops or creative work in general.
    The studio is generally used by Stefanie herself who studied Fine Art at University in Berlin and completed her Master’s Degree in Lucerne, Switzerland in Art in public spheres. She holds workshops from time to time in drawing, painting, (intuitive, realistic, abstract) printmaking, paper mache and mosaic. The accommodation is available for workshop participants, art lovers, artists, tourists and long term tenants who would like some time off to create, read, meditate or just do “nothing". Because Stefanie (the owner) is running this project by herself, she needs support in archive her big art collection as well as for social media work. For that she is looking only for a long term volunteer.

    Your task would be either in photography and admin (archive) or housekeeping, - taking on responsibility and independent work in both cases.

    Archive art collection/admin would involve support in

    - archive art collection by inventory/photographing (digital)
    - public relations (Facebook, Website-updates, Designing of Flyers, Emails etc.)
    - setting up price lists for the Art Gallery
    - developing more ideas to broadcast projects for artists/independent working people

    Important here is, that you have a technical understanding. You should be familiar with Facebook, Exel, Word, and general Computerwork . Also, it is important that you are able to understand, write and speak English.

    Building projects are:
    - build an outside shower
    - install a swing with an old tire
    - redo floor for sundowner deck (only 1,5mx2m)
    - maintenance jobs like:
    - repair around the property
    - repainting garden furniture, gardening

    Important here is, that you have some professional experience in building.

    Not included is food. The accommodation is very simple and efficient, campsite based with it's own outside kitchen, shower, toilet and basin. The supermarkets are close by (5-8 min. by foot)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are lots of art books, space to do your own work (welding, 3-Dimensional, painting, drawing etc.), some tools can be used. Materials are not included. For half the price you can take part in workshops (drawing, painting, printing) which are held once in 3 to 6 months.
    Wonderful time-out from the usual daily stress for becoming creative yourself :-)

  • Arbeit


    Maintenance/ repairs will include fixing pipes, sanding wooden furniture, constructing a shower door and a little entrance door (wooden), install a shade net for the pool.

    Administration will include updating the appearance in internet, contacting newspapers/touristguides etc to broadcast the project, setting up a price-list for art pieces, organizing an art inventary by digital.

    Both include welcoming guests :-)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    New rebuilded kids house for a single bed with on cement base. Cement floors to own outside kitchen (gas stove and electrical fridge, basin with water) and bathroom: drop toilet, shower and basin. Light and power are installed. All build and constructed only 1 year ago especially for volunteers.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I (Stefanie) travelled and moved around Europe and Southern Africa, always looking for a place which could give me peace, light and space to be creative. After more than 20 years I found this amazing place, where I could convert one workshop and one garage into 2 art studios, each of them special and unique. The 3rd studio had already existed and I named it after its creator Martin Rosenberg, who moved on to Japan. Each studio is filled with original art works, which can be easily removed if a guest/artist would like to put up his own works. Guests who are staying in the studios, have the ability to observe the artworks according to time, different light and different angels.
    That the works are growing in beauty over time was always a great feedback. In the mainhouse you can find a little gallery with collected art works, original prints, postcards, homemade jam and lemon chutney.

    We're looking forward to get your help and host you here in Omaruru :-)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We offering internet access in and outside of the accommodation places. If more space will be needed, we can discuss about it.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 183191354495