Come learn about organic gardening, raising livestock, off-grid living and more near Whitehorse, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 40 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Sarah and I live on a beautiful farm on the marge of Lake Laberge, about 50km north of Whitehorse. The property owners raise dairy goats and laying hens, while I grow a small scale certified organic market garden and will be raising pigs this summer. We share the property with a farm dog and two cats. My ⅓ acre garden is intensively grown and primarily worked with hand tools. The growing season here is relatively short and intense, so I use row covers and multiple succession plantings to extend the harvest.

    The property owners and I have separate homes, but collaborate on many projects around the farm and are always ready to help each other out. Our farm is off-grid: our water comes from the lake, we use solar power, wood heat and are always mindful of our use of these resources. We live simply, work hard and eat well. We also appreciate nature and our peaceful and awe-inspiring surroundings. We welcome volunteers who have a positive attitude and share our passion for farming, learning, working together and having fun.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Come learn about small scale certified organic market gardening, raising livestock and building maintenance/repairs/construction. Volunteers can also learn about off-grid living and low-tech adaptations, such as our unique walk-in cooler for vegetables (it chills with ice we stored in winter).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help around the farm is needed in the garden, as well as with animal chores, maintenance/repair and building projects. Garden work could include greenhouse maintenance, transplanting, weeding, harvesting and washing/packing. Animal chores are generally done in the morning and evening. Building projects will include shelving for a garden shed and painting. Many fences also need to be reinforced with new fence posts. Like most farms, the “to do” list is endless.

    Experience with gardening and/or construction/repairs would be an asset, but an eagerness to learn and contribute are equally important. Volunteers should be healthy, fit and prepared to be outdoors in all weather conditions and with mosquitoes. Volunteers should also be able to communicate openly and have a positive attitude.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will be provided with a bedroom in a shared cabin, plus wholesome food. The cabin is rustic yet comfortable, and has a large kitchen where we’ll take turns preparing and cleaning up from team lunches and dinners. Breakfasts will be prepared solo. There will be lots of seasonal vegetables, eggs and goat milk from the farm, plus wild and locally farmed meat (though meat-free meals are enjoyed here, too). An outhouse will serve as the bathroom. We have an outdoor solar shower, though the lake is always available for a very refreshing swim. Laundry (and showers) will be done in town. Wifi is available, but there is no cell service at the farm.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Yukon is a stunning place and there are endless hiking, canoeing, camping, etc opportunities, even from our doorstep. I’ll go to town once or twice a week (Saturdays in May to mid-June, Mondays and Thursdays the rest of the summer). A personal vehicle will be an asset if you want to go to town or further afield at other times, though hitchhiking is also an option.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 182883756128