Help with fitting out a campervan in the historic Ballarat, Australia



Bisher 5 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    I live in beautiful and historic Ballarat. I LOVE animals, gardens, art, history, photography and travel. I try and live as sustainably as I possibly can and have solar power and hot water. I grow and produce some of my own food and love to cook. My knowledge of Australian wines led me to a job marketting Australian wines to the Germans, during one of my own major travel stints. I have also worked managing a backpackers abroad.
    I currently am working on a campervan build out and would love some help from anyone who has good carpentry skills, or experience in fitting out a campervan themselves. If not we can watch YouTube tutorials and do our best, step by step!
    I also have an enormous garden, with fruit trees and vegetables, which I always appreciate help with. I share my life with a dog a cat and five chickens and also do some casual teaching.
    One of my hobbies is learning foreign languages, so if you can help build my existing skills in German or French, or are capable of teaching me some basics for travelling in other languages, I would really appreciate it!
    I am also developing my vlogging skills and want to learn to use a drone to help document my own travels.
    One of my passions is wildlife photography and it has taken me to many remote places around the world.
    I have travelled through every Australian state, a number of Pacific Islands, including New Zealand, Fiji and Easter Island and managed to travel quite extensively in every continent but Antartica, mainly as a solo traveller!
    I have a life long love of birds and wildlife so if you choose a workaway with me, odds are you may get to some places to see our unique Australian wildlife.
    I am very allergic to perfume, so if you like heavily scented deodorants, or perfumes please look for a different host.
    If you are allergic to cats, can't stand dogs, or cigarette smoke, then you best avoid workaway with me as well.
    I am fascinated by people and places and enjoy hearing about other peoples lives and travel experiences over a meal, but I also like quiet time to myself late in the evenings, chilling in front of the TV or searching travel destinations and van life vlogs on the internet.
    I am not known for being an early riser!
    I do quite a bit of writing and photo editing, which is part of my other means of earning an income. Best not disturb me when I am hard at it!
    I also have a current national police check and safe working with children clearance, required by law for my work as a high school teacher, proving I am a trustworthy and decent citizen, so your family and friends need no longer fear for your safety while you wander the world; at least while you 'workaway' here!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Karitative Arbeit

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Experience life with a local, in a regional city.
    Develop language skills if English is not your first language. If we really get stuck I have trained as an actor and mime artist as well as an English teacher, so can show you what to do and make you laugh!
    Ballarat has a fascinating history and is also rich in local birdlife. You can learn about both during your stay.
    I can teach you to cook directly over a fire, in true Aussie traditions, boil a billy and cook some sausages, steak or lamb.
    I also have a perfectly normal kitchen, indoors with lots of wonderful appliances and a well stocked fridge and pantry.
    I have an excellent knowledge of Australian wines and am happy to share this.
    Depending on the season, you may learn skills like pruning roses, or fruit trees.
    You can also learn about plant identification, needs to thrive and microclimates.
    You can experience the joys of chicken keeping, including their diet, hygiene to keep them and humans healthy and medicinal plants they need to thrive.

  • Arbeit


    I am currently fitting out a campervan, so carpentry skills would be welcome!
    My garden is huge and there are always jobs to be done. Roses, fruit trees and a vegetable garden. Pruning, digging, weeding and planting as well as harvesting produce.
    Repotting indoor and outdoor plants.
    My shed and garage need a huge sort out, then making some of it into to an art studio!
    Some painting around my windows and garage door.
    Big cleaning jobs: the oven, windows, gutters and spouts and solar panels. Some involve climbing a ladder.
    Lessons in using a drone and vlogging.
    Help in improving my German or French.
    Lessons in Spanish, Italian or Greek.
    Helping cook food for events for a cat welfare organisation in Ballarat, and a chance to help with some of the cats currently in foster care as well.
    I don't expect anyone or even two people to be able to do everything on the list above. Sometimes I will work with you and other times you will have a job to do on your own.
    I want you to have time to enjoy experiencing Ballarat and all it has to offer, so am happy for you to work hard one day, so you can enjoy plenty of free time, or even juggle time here so you can also look for a paid job if you want an extended stay, if you really enjoy Ballarat! and have a working holiday visa.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Single storey house, in a quiet and safe neighbourhood.
    Own comfortable bedroom in the house.
    Shared bathroom.
    Central heating.
    Laundry facilities,
    The house is a very typical Australian home and was built mid 20th century! It has two living areas and a big kitchen. There is reliable free WIFI.
    Smoking is permitted outside or in the Sunroom, but not in the main part of the house.
    Public transport, including to and from Melbourne, is just a few minutes walk away.
    Ballarat is famous for its cycling tracks and trails and the entire city and some surrounding towns are easily accessed by bicycle. My home is ideally placed for those with bicycles, or who enjoy walking.
    I am a fantastic cook and love learning new recipes and cuisines. My specialty is fish and seafood, but I also enjoy some meat and often have vegetarian meals. As well as much traditional Australian food, my diet involves a lot of Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes. My pantry is always well stocked. I am happy to cook for you in the evenings, or if you hate what is on the menu, or like to eat early, you can cook exactly what you choose, so long as you clean up thoroughly afterwards.
    There is usually bread, cheese, eggs, lettuce, tomatoes and tuna, as well as a variety of spreads, available for lunch. Breakfast is up to you to prepare yourself. For me it is usually a cup of tea, but I keep meusli, weetbix, oatmeal and yoghurt on hand.
    Just around the corner is a foodhall with many options. All the standard fast foods are just a short walk away and there is an excellent and really cheap pub and local Chinese food shop around the corner.
    I can accomodate two solo travellers, or friends, or one solo traveller and a couple at any one time, as I have one single bed in one room and a double bed in the other.
    All the bedrooms including my own are in the sleeping wing of the house.
    There is parking in the street, if you have a car and room for a bicycle,or two off street.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Public transport and two shopping centres are a short walk away.
    The beautiful Lake Wendouree, with its many Australian waterbirds and the Botanic Gardens are a ten minute walk.
    Central Ballarat, famous for its Victorian buildings and statues is a twelve minute bus ride or fifty minute walk. Ballarat has many excellent local cafes and restaurants, boutique breweries , a very wonderful heritage cinema complex, as well as many local festivals throughout the year.
    Ballarat is famous for cycling and there are many local cycle paths and country trails to explore.
    It also has an excellent Wildlife Park, that encourages up close and personal free encounters and a world famous 'living museum' Sovereign Hill, which recreates life on the goldfields in Ballarat in the 1850s.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 174591454116