Come stay with us in the woods by the lakes to help with gardening, animal care and more in the Perigord Vert region, France

Country

Frankreich

aktualisiert  

Bisher 71 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    **We are fully booked up until September 14th 2019, but are actively looking from then up until around mid December.
    We are hoping to start on a few building projects and tree work, so especially looking for anyone with construction experience, tree surgery/chainsaws, strong and fit - we will have a lot of heavy materials to move by hand over some distance. Please contact us if you think you are able to help.


    Hello we are Jon and Maxine aged 50 and 49 years. Come stay with us! We are a fun loving, hard working couple who need help taming our grounds and two fishing lakes. We have lived here in France for 5 years, previously we lived in Kent and worked in London Jon works in IT and Maxine was a Child Protection Social Worker. We now run a cattery and a small Gite. Jon still works in IT full time from home Monday to Friday but is available. We live in the Perigord Vert region of the Dordogne and we have 2 hectares of land. We have a very friendly small dog, 6 cats, lots of free ranging geese, ducks and chickens and not forgetting Freddie the pig! Our animals are our friends and not food although our birds gift us their eggs. we are not vegetarians we just don't eat our friends!

    We are looking to host a number of people up to four who are fit & capable to work outside and can use their own initiative and have fun. Anyone wishing to stay with us must love animals and have no allergies to animals. In exchange we can give you your own lakeside self contained fully equipped 2 bedroom accommodation and share meals together or if you'd rather have your own own food budget that can be discussed. The accommodation will have a bedroom for females and separate bedroom for males, should there be mixed individuals. We have bikes that you can use to get around the local area or we can take you to local areas of interest. we have a local bar within walking distance and many great local attractions such as, walking and cycling routes a beached lake with free kayaking throughout the summer 40 minute walk with my short legs or much quicker cycling, concerts fetes and festivals all within a few minutes drive or a little longer for cyclists. There's plenty of local French culture to enjoy.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in the heart of the French countryside. known as the gastronomical heart of French cuisine. There are many festivals and fetes and the local markets are of huge interest and have been around for centuries. We are native English speakers who have some french language skills. The primary language spoken here with us is English.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a number of projects that we would like help with to complete these include:
    Clearing weeds and brambles
    mowing
    brush cutting
    shifting rocks to secure our lower lake
    poultry care
    poultry house building and cleaning
    securing our boundaries
    fencing
    wood cladding of a caravan
    clearing an area for a concrete base for the construction of large shed
    tree felling
    firewood cutting
    wood chipping
    machinery maintenance
    building a car port
    replacing decking boards
    painting and staining wood decking
    clearing lakes of debris
    innovative ideas for quirky wooden constructions.
    we wouldn't mind if someone wanted to be here to prepare and cook meals, supply us with refreshments for all of us working outside to keep us going.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and intermediate French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodation is a fully equipped self contained lakeside lodge with English TV, washing machine, cooker, hob dishwasher. There are two double bedrooms for four people. There is a covered terraced and BBQ area and above ground swimming pool and use of hot tub when available. There is internet access.

    We live in Woodland with 2 hectares of land and have two lakes which workawayers can fish or mess around on the water in the boats in free time.

    We will provide 3 meals a day or if workawayers prefer we can provide a budget for food or something in between the two. We would really like to spend mealtimes with workawayers at least a few lunches and evening meals as we would love to share stories and experiences and get to know you but also recognize at times you might want your own time. We are easy going and flexible. We are not vegetarians.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in the woods we are secluded but certainly not isolated. There are many things to do within walking or cycling distance. Cycling routes and walking routes are abundant. There is a beached lake close by 4k walk or cycle or we could take you there. There are concerts every Monday night throughout summer and there are local farmers night markets each week where you buy local produce that is cooked for you and you can sit back enjoy the gathering and the music or dance away. There are local bustling markets each week which are packed with local produce.

    The summers can be extremely hot here, please bring plenty of sun cream and insect repellent hat and appropriate clothes for outside work and freetime. At times of extreme heat work will stop for a later cooler time of the day. Due to local events that workawayers may wish to experience days off can be during the week again we are flexible with this.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 172786777874