Experience American culture in the beautiful Campi Flegrei area, Italy

Country

Italien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 18 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello! My name is Eileen, I am a 30-year-old American woman. I live in Pozzuoli, Naples, part of the beautiful Campi Flegrei area of Naples, Campania with my wonderful husband (also American) and beautiful baby girl (born April 2019). I decided with my family to become a workaway host because I love doing cultural exchanges and because we are trying our best to create a multi-lingual home for our daughter.

    We are looking for a native-speaking Italian non-smoker big sister to come and join our family. We are looking for someone who can be a friend to both my daughter and I (the majority of the time will be spent with us while my husband is working). ABOVE ALL, it is very important that you love babies, enjoy spending time with them, and have patience, understanding, and kindness towards them! I would love to spend time with someone exploring our area, going to the park and on walks, cooking, chatting, and just having fun!

    My interests include raising children, homeschooling, the Montessori method; nutrition, health, cooking, eco-sustainability, and animals (I love them all!); reading and learning/self-improvement; swimming and running (when I get the chance!); arts and crafts; language learning, travelling, and other cultures. I like to sing but am not very good at it. Unfortunately I do not play any instruments but am trying to give my daughter exposure to them so she can grow up with the ability. We do not watch any TV and avoid using all chemicals and I do not drink alcohol.

    Our days are very relaxed and flexible. We play, cook, clean, go on little adventures, and are always game for new family-friendly experiences. While my daughter is taking her nap each afternoon, it is important that the house remain very quiet so that she can sleep. While she sleeps, I spend the time in the room with her studying or working on projects. Breakfast and lunch are very relaxed and informal. When my husband is home, we would love to have you join us for dinner. We usually eat according to an American schedule (lunch around noon and dinner around 6pm). When my husband is not home for dinner, however, it is very relaxed and informal. Ultimately, you are free to eat whenever you want and get snacks whenever you want!

    If you are ready to share your culture with an American family while getting to experience and explore the beautiful Campi Flegrei and Naples area, come join us!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are many exchange opportunities!
    -You will be able to experience living in the Naples area and all its historical and cultural heritage.
    -You will be able to live with an American family and experience our culture and perspective without ever leaving Italy (no visa concerns!:)!
    -You can improve your English! I love to help others learn English. When my husband is home in the evenings and on the weekends we only speak English. When he is travelling for work, we can still speak English in the evenings if you would like to practice.
    -You can learn how to take care of a baby and what it is like to be a mom.
    -You could gain some ideas on raising children multilingual or homeschooling (if you ever wanted to raise your own children with English, I have lots of resources I can recommend)
    -I am a certified holistic nutritionist and would be happy to give you general dietary and lifestyle recommendations to help you improve your health upon request. I can also do a formal assessment with you if you desire.
    -You can learn the perspective and way of life of a different family. You will be able to grow in your perspectives and perhaps form new opinions.
    -We can exchange recipes! i love to cook and will be happy to share what I know with you and would love to learn from you.
    -I know how to make soap and can show you how as well.
    -I know how to make sourdough Einkorn bread (Einkorn is the oldest and original form of wheat).
    -I can lacto-ferment vegetables and would be happy to teach you if desired

    I am open-minded and interested in learning from others. I respect your opinions and hope you will respect mine. We can learn from one another!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Your day and schedule is very flexible. You are free to do the work whenever you would like. Everyday, I request two forms of work from you:

    -Teaching me Italian: please speak with me in Italian throughout the day. When I make a mistake, please correct me. Improving my Italian is very important to me because I would like my daughter to grow up multilingual. I am her primary input of the Italian language but I am not a native speaker! I do not want her to grow up speaking poor Italian, so please help me to get better! This is an easy task to accomplish because we can chat in Italian while we cook together, eat meals, explore the area, and other normal day-to-day activities. (About 2 hours each day.)

    -Keeping the kitchen clean: I cook a lot, so the kitchen gets dirty a lot! My priorities for the day are in this order: 1) Have fun and make memories with my daughter (and husband when he is home!), 2) Put nutritious food on the table, and 3) Clean. As you can see, cleaning is my last priority! Making memories and having fun with loved ones is so much more important to me than having a perfectly clean home all the time. I can keep up with the other household chores like sweeping and laundry, but the kitchen is very hard to keep up with! So, I request that you be responsible for keeping the kitchen clean. The primary task is to wash all of the dishes (my baby usually hates it when I do the dishes for some reason and usually wants to be in my arms which makes it very hard to do them, and I need to work on other things whenever she is asleep). I will help you as much as I can with cleaning the rest of the kitchen, but sometimes there is a baby that is hungry, or needs a diaper changed, or wants to play, or laundry to be hung, or whatever else. So, I ask that you ensure that, in addition to washing all the dishes, the rest of the kitchen gets a full clean each day (floor swept, counters and table cleaned, dry dishes put away, and kitchen generally tidied up). I or my husband will take the trash out each night. (About 1-2 hours each day.)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italian: Gute Kenntnisse
    Vietnamese: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are renting a portion of a villa. You will sleep in my daughter's bedroom, she will sleep with me. You will have a full-size bed that can also convert into a couch if you like. There is also a Japanese floor futon if you are so inclined. You will also have your own private bathroom downstairs while we will use the bathroom upstairs. However, I do need to access your bathroom occasionally to do the laundry (there is a washing machine in it for you to use whenever you need to do laundry and a place to hang your laundry outside. We have a dryer if you would like, but hanging the laundry outside is more effective). We have heating and air conditioning. We do not watch any TV; we prefer to have fun playing together, reading, and listening to music!

    You are free to cook and eat in the kitchen whenever you would like. I will do my best to accomodate the types of foods you like to eat and am open to recipe ideas! However, I do prefer to use butter, bone broth, and eggs in my cooking. It is very important to me to cook healthy food and have healthy food available in the refrigerator. Besides the butter, bone broth, and eggs, we eat mostly vegetarian food, however I often cook meat as a side-dish for my husband and I myself will sometimes eat it or fish, but there will always be vegetarian options available (though sometimes made with the butter and bone broth). I do not cook with refined foods, sugar, or dairy and only cook with whole grains (Einkorn, black rice, quinoa). We rarely eat out; however, life is short and once in a while we will get a pizza or a gelato as a special treat (I know some gelaterias that usually have sugar-free ice cream!:))

    Our neighbors, from whom we rent, have two big dogs that you may see occasionally and hear bark, but they do not come in the house. We like to give them treats through the fence. There are some neighborhood cats that we love to feed and pet and one of them comes in the house once in a while (sometimes she does sleepovers in our room!). Before leaving, we request that you please clean your bathroom and bedroom-thank you!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I do not drive, so the only transportation while my husband is working is the public transportation. We are less than a 10-minute walk from the Cumana railway Arco Felice train station! From there you can easily reach other parts of the Campi Flegrei area as well as downtown Naples!
    When my husband is home we can take the car to see other places together. However, we prefer not to drive in downtown Naples as it is a big city and kind of scary to drive in! However, we can pick you up from the airport if you fly in and if my husband is not travelling for work. If he is travelling for work, the airport is connected to the Cumana railway by bus.
    There are also ferries to Ischia, Capri, Procida, and the Amalfi Coast that you can easily reach! The trains can even connect you to Pompeii, Ercolano, Cilento National Park, etc. You have many options for weekend adventures if you so desire.
    We are within walking distance of some beautiful sites within the Campi Flegrei area, to include the Montenuovo volcano, Lago d'Averno (entrance into the Inferno), and thermal hot springs (best during warmer weather). There is also a public beach within walking distance! During the summer months, our parco has a private beach that you can use. Grocery stores and other stores are all within walking distance. I will send you a Google Map so you have an idea of what you can see in our area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have wi-fi available and there will be time for you to work on your own projects.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I can accept small pets. Please contact me to discuss your particular situation.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day/5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 157777724893