Help a small family with bees, pigs, reptiles and more near Loughrea, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 58 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.08.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    357

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of three: mum, dad and three year old toddler. We have a small farm, spread over two plots, 6 kilometers apart. We grow our own food, keep bees, pigs, chickens, a cow and some horses. Cats and dogs too, of course!
    In 2018 we started keeping reptiles; snakes, bearded dragons and geckos! We even have a family of happy rats!

    Life is busy juggling everything as I (mum) also have a part time job at a charity shop in the nearby town. While I'm gone, Dad tends to the (very active) toddler and farm so some jobs don't always get done!

    We have lots of practical hobbies such as crochet, and green woodwork, and we love to try new things. We are home educating our toddler so he gets involved in almost everything too!

    We want to make lots of improvements to our land and the management of our animals/crops and have decided we need some help. We're looking for someone who is happy to work hard, sometimes alone.

    We're a friendly and happy bunch so plan to have some fun too!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn about the running of a small holding in Ireland including reptile and bee keeping, horsemanship, and growing your own food, improve your English, and stay 10 km from the only town in Ireland with a working moat!
    Between us we have many skills to teach you, including wood turning, knitting, construction and more!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help is needed both on the farm and at our holding where we live. Gardening, landscaping and general tidy up and maintenance are on the to-do list. Daily tasks may include feeding and cleaning out the pigs, cow, and chickens and watering/weeding the tunnels and vegetable gardens.
    A lot of our land is quite rough and needs huge improvement. Fence building, wall repair, and filling the wood shed are top priorities this year.
    Other jobs may include helping with tree pruning and planting, clearing land for re-seeding, assisting with beekeeping, grass cutting, hedge cutting, raking and general improvements to our gardens, and painting and tiling.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    German: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will stay in our 'Shouse' which is a purpose-built steel shed on the farm (not the same land we live on). Enjoy your privacy and space in a kitchen with all mod-cons, the most glorious shower you've ever had, a large living space and two bedrooms!
    We built and then lived in the Shouse for a year before moving to our current home, and although it's agricultural, it's warm with a wood burning stove. Adding windows is on the list this year, as it currently only has sky-lights!
    You may help yourself to food from the tunnel and meat in the freezer and cook for yourself. If you're working over at our home you will be welcome to eat with us. We'll keep your cupboards stocked with the essentials and we'll ask you to give us a shopping list of what you need each week.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We're 10 km from the nearest town, Loughrea. Public transport is available from there. Galway is a must-see if you're interested in the city. And of course you must visit The Burren and the Cliffs of Moher while you're in Ireland.

    Locally, we have a great country pub, two shops and a fab equestrian and events centre which attracts lots of woofers and workawayers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, with two days off each week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 156736148445