Help me to construct a workaway summer camp in my one hectare garden, close to the beautiful Gorge du Verdon, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 856 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 5 Juni 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Hi to everyone !
    I'm a friendly, open minded mature man who has a cottage near to the Gorge du Verdon.
    The National Park is one hours drive away. For experienced cyclists it is a lovely day-trip. The spectacular Gorge itself is further away. There is so much to see and do there, (including many different sport activities) so I suggest you allow 4 - 5 days after your workaway stay with me and head out there to experience this stunning landscape.

    I would describe myself as intelligent, outgoing and down to earth.
    I do not have a problem regarding race/skin colour or sexual orientation.

    I have an ambitious project for the 2023 season...
    I'm creating a workawayers 'village' for you to have your own special place to hang out and have fun. The project involves the following :

    *Building small individual styled wooden cabins as workawayer accommodation. You can bring your own creative ideas onboard this project !

    *Constructing a hexagonal wooden pavillion which will be used as a communal kitchen and eating area, (initial construction has begun).

    *Creating a workout/gym area. I already have the weights/ bars etc, (the bench for lifting weights is already built), but there's more to do...

    * Also, I'm looking for help with strimming and cutting bushes.

    *Bicycle Repairs and maintainence.

    * And Fitness coaching... I'm trying to lose weight !

    The majority of the tasks on offer are cutting bushes and other basic gardening.

    I ask for 4 and a half hours help per day/ 5 days per week in exchange for your own private accommodation, (in the caravan, little stone cube hut or wooden chalet...see photo's) plus meals and moderate amounts of alcoholic drinks, (please read the later paragraph relating to alcohol).

    You are responsible for preparing all your meals and doing the washing up. The cooking is shared on a rota basis. I will cook for you chilli prawns/ indian or thai curry, (or a pasta dish) twice a week.

    The daily routine is :
    Breakfast until 9:30
    Work period from 9:30 - 14:00
    Lunch 14:00
    ...the rest of the day is yours !
    ... go for a dip in the nearby river, explore the surrounding area or chill in one of our hammocks.

    After 5 days you have 2 free days to relax and explore.

    I am looking the following skills: if you are a qualified > Welder > Specialist for dry stone wall building > Electrician > Solar and wind energy specialist > Plumber> Bricklayer > Tiler > Roofing specialist > Computer programmer, then I ask for less hours and offer you more days off, (to be negotiated).

    An english friend will be joining me most of the summer and he can assist you to improve your spoken english.
    I speak fluent german, english and french.

    I provide you with clean towels, bed-linen and have a large variety of work and casual clothes for you to wear + shower gel and shampoo...so you can travel light !
    I do not provide mosquito repellent spray or sun protection so please bring it with you ! Also, it may be a good idea to bring protective footware for swimming in the nearby river, (the river bed is stony).

    I have 2 guitars you are welcome to borrow. Also a couple of bicycles.

    Internet access is limited to 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the evening, (through my airbox). Please ensure you have plenty of mobile data.

    I do not tolerate heavy consumption of alcohol ! This has been such an enormous problem : alcoholism and abuse of my generosity in providing it - so I now provide moderate amounts of it. I provide soft drinks and good quality tea and coffee. You are welcome to consume moderate amounts of alcohol with your evening meal... I am not a mean spirited person, (as you will see in my feedback), but it has become a huge problem and spoils the atmosphere for other workawayers and myself.

    To join me you need to find your way to Les Arcs/Draguignan railway station or the town of Le Muy. I will collect you from there.

    I'm easy going, but...if you are any of the following you will definitely not fit in here :
    * Overly religious.
    * If you are totally dependant on using your mobile phone throughtout the day... * If you have a problem with mosquitos and bugs, or mice, (all provence houses in the countryside have them).
    * If you are reliant on alcohol.

    UPDATE : 2023. This year I have had so many workawayers who have not turned up, (sometimes after months of planning and giving their exact arrival dates). This causes chaos for me and is not fair to workawayers who genuinely want to stay. So, once you have given me your arrival date, please commit yourself to the exchange.

    Careful planning is everything for both hosts and workawayers !!!

    Please ensure you have full medical travel insurance, (it's your responsibility !)

    For your first visit I strongly suggest you stay for a maximum of 2 - 3 weeks to see how you like it here. There may be a possibility of extending your stay.

    I hope to welcome you into my house and garden soon !


  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I can help you improve your german, english and french language skills.
    I provide bicycles for local sightseeing tours in your free time.

  • Arbeit


    All types of help, from gardening to painting/ help building garden structures/ housework etc...
    Flexibility is required.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    You are guaranteed your own private sphere for sleeping. This may be in the form of a wooden chalet in the garden or a little stone hut. I also provide small tents, (with comfortable mattresses) in case I am oversubscribed.
    In winter months it can be VERY cold and damp here. The accommodations are not heated, but there are plenty of blankets for the beds.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There's lots to see in the surrounding area, including typical provencal towns and wonderful natural landscapes - including the famous Gorge du Verdon National Park which is 30 km away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I have space for one camper van. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    4 hours, 45 minutes a day / 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 156725834914

Feedback (24)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help on the farm, self-build, work self-sufficiency in the garden and more in Midi Pyrenee, France
Help around the family home in Aigaliers, South of France