Permaculture near Santa Cruz, California, USA

  • Bisher 374 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 14 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is a 25 year old food forest and regenerative farm on 20 acres of beautiful redwood forest in the coastal mountains near Santa Cruz. When this land was first purchased, the goal was to create a sacred and sustainable place for growing food, practicing spirituality and loving one another. Everyday we take steps to reach this goal. We have grown into a beautiful community of people committed to learning and growing every day.

    What you need to know about us:
    We are off-grid solar powered
    We have limited water (plenty for all, with consideration)
    We have daily check ins at the morning meeting
    We dry compost our poop! (this means no flush toliets)
    We cook as part of working hours and enjoy community lunches together
    We love eating fresh salads picked from the garden everyday
    We love our fresh eggs daily from our chickens
    Our produce is for our community only, we do not plan to sell what we grow.
    We cook, share, preserve, feed our chickens and compost our food.
    We create art projects regularly
    There are musicians here currently who write and process music
    A few of us love playing hacky sack
    We have a professional woodshop and so many tools for crafting things
    We have a tree house platform high up in the redwoods.
    Fruit falls from our trees on a daily basis. (we need help eating it all!)
    We do lots of walking up and down hills. (we live in the mountains!)
    We are about a 15-20 min drive from the ocean.
    15-20 min walk to see the ocean from the lookout.
    We have limited/no parking for oversized rv's and trailers.
    We ask that substance use such as alcohol and cannabis be respected and not abused
    We work hard and play nice :)


    Our big goals for the rest of the 2022 summer include:
    Managing our garden spaces
    Greenhouse management
    Nursery care
    Pruning forest/fruit trees
    Growing lots of tomatoes on our sister farm
    Harvesting fruit! Raspberries, citrus, avocados, mulberries and so many more!
    Building a solar hot tub
    Completing solar hot water system for kitchen
    Fire mitigation in the forest
    Framing the Lumber Storage Shed
    Finishing touches on New cabin construction
    Organizing upcycled materials
    Networking with local communities about our non-profit operation

    We are looking for workawayers that are willing to share the skills and knowledge they possess that can enrich our community. We need hardworking, excited individuals who are open to learning the way we do things here and can take direction. Ideally candidates can do a variety of things such as feed the chickens, get your hands dirty weeding in the garden, help with building projects or cooking communal lunch.

    We share food, knowledge and spaces with our farm family and we need people who are willing to be an active part in that community. Know that you will be working with our core community members and following directions from them to help guide your work. We are hoping to find individuals to work on the projects that we have started. There are lots of them! We are also open to cultivate new ideas for any long termers!

    If you are self-motivated, willing to take instruction, and inspired to contribute to the permaculture mission, please apply!

    PLEASE NOTE - We have a 2 week trial period to make sure you fit well with our community.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here on the farm we speak English and Spanish fluently! But we also consistently have people from different countries and cultural backgrounds coming and going, making it a very culturally rich experience! You can learn something different from every single individual as we all come from different places, upbringings, and experiences and want you to be open to learning from each member here. Workawayers have a lot of opportunity to learn about a variety of different things, from farming to building to spirituality! Here are some things you can look forward to learning, to name just a few :
    redwood forest ecology
    food forest relationships and home grown food
    managing and harvesting fruits and veggies
    managing a food garden
    permaculture
    sustainable living
    communal living
    Self-growth pracitices
    Food prepping
    yoga, meditation
    woodworking and carpentry
    music and dance
    random skills that you don't know you'll need until you have them and much more!

    Every individual that comes here will be given the opportunity to learn in depth about farming, the world and themselves, in a very growth-inspiring environment.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Once task we always need help with is cooking communal lunches. Cooks are very welcome! Typically meals are for 6-10 people.
    We are building a tiny home on a trailer as well as converting a school bus this year =, so there will be a lot to learn for those interested in these projects.
    We have a pro wood-shop and always need competent people and those who want to learn
    We are also seeking builders and DIYers who are competent with power tools
    Chainsaw experience a plus
    New garden areas will be made and planted this summer
    Greenhouse, seedling and propagation people!
    Artists have lots of opportunity for expression here!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a beautiful large wood barn dormitory for workawayers to stay in, mattresses and bedding provided. Tent camping also available as we have lots of beautiful space, we prefer tent campers!
    Food is provided - self serve breakfast and dinners with communal lunches made with love. Lots of homegrown food, and store-bought bulk items.

    Time-limited hot shower is available in moderation

    Dry compost toilet, we use our urine as fertilizer

    We have a saw mill that we use to cut and mill our own lumber, along with a professional wood shop, beautiful yoga studio (our dormitory barn) and an outdoor kitchen.

    Cell service is available through Verizon or AT&T and is generally reliable, wifi not available as we are off-grid living.

    We need people to be comfortable with being uncomfortable!

    We ask that those coming here will be conscious of the environmental factors of their actions and will be okay with limited use of certain cleaning products to continue to care for our land.

    We ask that people create minimal trash and waste and try as best as you can to reuse, reduce and recycle.

    We are also a clothing optional community, so many of us work in our natural bodies, feel free to participate or not as long as you are respectful of other people.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We tend to do our daily tasks in the morning and early afternoon, giving us ample time for reflection, exploration and adventuring in the later hours of the day! Many people like to stay on the property during their time off and read or write or spend time with community members. Access to hiking and mountain biking trails close to the property.

    There is also ample amounts of exciting things to do in our nearby city Santa Cruz, Including lots of beaches for surfing, local shows, nightlife, and daily street vendors. We carpool when we can and help each other out with transportation to town. We do encourage people to stay here and really experience life away from the city in a true off-grid living situation! The nearest town to run errands is Watsonville.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    full sized vans are fine, even a small bus. anything over 16-20ft becomes problematic

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have a few friendly dogs who currently live here. We do not have any indoor spaces to keep pets at the moment. We expect well-trained pets that are okay to be left alone with other animals and not harm our land. Your pet should adapt to take direction from community members if we need to tell them they can not be in the garden etc. It takes a village to care for our fur family and farm!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 155685613511

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder

Feedback


Help with rescue farm animals and learn new skills on my small homestead in Monroeville, USA
Come cook for me and teach me guitar in Roseville, California