Enjoy the beauty of the Canadian Shield at our lakeside lodge and help us welcome guests from around the world.




Bisher 182 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • paid opportunity




 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Due to Covid-19, we are having to alter things slightly. Anyone that comes to join us will have to self-isolate in our 2 bedroom cottage for 14 days before working in the lodge. This doesn't mean you will be held captive, it simply means that you will be doing a variety of outdoor, yard work activities during this time and avoiding contact with others. After self-isolating, you will join us in the lodge and be asked to remain onsite. You will have access to canoes, kayaks, Sups and a great dock to swim from, as well as great hiking trails. Until we get the green light from our provincial government, socializing with peeps outside of our immediate circle will be limited. We will do what needs to be done to ensure the safety and well-being of our staff and guests alike.

    And now, a bit about us...

    In the fall of 2015, our family of 5 decided to mix things up a bit. Greg and I blindly switched careers - Greg having many years as a Director in a large IT firm in Toronto and me teaching - to owning and running a small lakeside lodge, marina and restaurant. Some people said we were brave, others thought we were crazy. Our philosophy has always been that sometimes things just seem right and if you overthink things, then often change never happens. Anyhow, with the mindset that if things don't work it will make a great story, we dove right in and what a learning curve it has been. Our days can be long and physically demanding, however we have the flexibility to set our own schedule and take time off when it suits us. We are meeting many interesting people from around the world and are enjoying our latest adventure. Our oldest daughter has graduated from university and lives and works in Ottawa. Our middle daughter has finished her undergrad and is currently living in Sweden to complete her Masters in Architecture. Our free-spirited 19 year old daughter currently lives in Ottawa, and is deciding what her next adventure will be.

    There are really 3 facets to our current adventure; 1) providing docking and storage for 50+ boats that belong to people who have water-access only cottages on the small, beautifully clean lake we live on; 2) providing accommodation for up to 18 people nightly who are visiting the area, and 3) running a small restaurant that prides itself in preparing quality food that our guests can enjoy.

    We want our guests to feel like family and we do what we can to connect with people. We want our place to be an experience, not simply a transaction. We love it when we get people into a canoe for the first time or see them witness a sky full of stars.

    We are looking for individuals that like being around people and that get pleasure out of enhancing the experiences of others. You will need to have a good sense of humour, have good work ethics, and not get separation anxiety from your phone while working. With 5 years under our belt now, we feel like we have made the place our own and have a good handle on things. If you want to experience the Canadian outdoors and meet a variety of people, come join our team and play with us!

    Please check our 3rd party feedback on sites like Booking.com or TripAdvisor for a sample of the guests and interactions you can enjoy.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travelers will benefit by experiencing what the Canadian great outdoors has to offer and by interacting in an intimate environment with a variety of people from around the world. You will be working closely with a family that has turned in the city life for living more simply, on the shores of a pristine lake. We like to work hard when life demands it and explore the natural environment in our down time.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit


    We are currently looking for a couple or two friends (you'll be sharing a bed in your own room) to join us for the 2020, summer-fall season.

    Our primary need from May - Oct. is help with housekeeping and serving (e.g. - cleaning, making beds, washing dishes, food prep., serving meals etc). If you are a trained chef, that would be a bonus for us and we would definitely like to make use of your skills! In addition, if you are skilled in paddling or hiking, there may be the opportunity for you to take guests on guided tours.

    In April, May and Nov., we may need help with small renovation projects, getting boats in and out of the water, cleaning boats and general yard work. We also have some larger building projects in the plans however, aren't sure when we'll get around to those. Our lodge is run as a group effort so, we all pitch in where help is needed. We love to make the most of people's strengths and interests.

    Our hope is that we create a reciprocal relationship with the workawayers that stay with us. We appreciate the help you can provide for us and are happy to provide you with accommodation, a fair wage and local experiences in a gorgeous area surrounding the Canadian Shield. We love sharing our knowledge of the area with others!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    If you are with us during April, the first half of May or November, when renovation projects are under way, you will have the use of one of 6 bedrooms in the lodge, each with private bath. You will have access to a common kitchen and living area. If you are with us when we have guests, you will be living on the third floor of the lodge with us. It's a beautiful, modern open-concept living space with three bedrooms, a full kitchen and a shared bathroom. The bedroom would be perfect for a couple traveling together or two friends.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During your down time, you will have access to canoes, kayaks, stand up paddle boards and snow shoes. We have fantastic hiking trails right on our doorstep and are located 50 min. south of a very well-known provincial park - Algonquin Provincial Park. We live in a relatively small community however there are lots of outdoors activities to do in the area such as paddling, hiking, cycling, ice-fishing, dog-sledding, snow-shoeing or skiing. There is an enthusiastic art community, markets, and two thriving micro-breweries that are great places to hang out! We have camping equipment that people are welcome to borrow if that interests you.

    Located just 3 hours north of Toronto, you might also want to use your time off to explore the big city. You might also have the opportunity to stay with our daughter and her boyfriend in Ottawa for a night or two if your schedules line up. Access to a vehicle is possible but not guaranteed. It is something we would need to discuss in advance.

    Although we have a small bar area in the lodge, we are generally fairly low-key. Guests often sit around a bonfire in the evenings during warm months or head to bed relatively early after busy days outside. Out of respect for fellow guests, it is our expectation that people are generally quiet for the night around 10 pm .

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 152718174293