Looking for help this summer in the beautiful Charente-Limousin region of France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 77 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.05.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Helpers welcomed - couples, singles or friends.

    Hi there, we are Helen and Phil (an English couple) and we're looking for lots of help with our on-going renovation and organic garden project within walking distance of Lac de Lavaud on the Charente-Limousin border in France, 40 minutes west from Limoges.

    All our workawayers have made a huge difference to our lives here and we welcome more.


    There's loads of work to help us with. We need people who can happily spend some time helping Phil repointing ancient stonework with a lime/sand mix. There are logs to be cut and stacked and the barn needs to be cleared a bit ready for a new log pile....and maybe some pointing work and painting indoors if it rains.

    I'm also trying my hand at organic veggie gardening so would love some help with that.
    There is also plenty of grass cutting, weeding, log/wood sawing and very occasional cooking in the kitchen or on the firepit to do..

    We haveall modern conveniences; 2 spare bedrooms in our house with your own bathroom or, if you prefer, you can stay in the cosy caravan on site or bring a tent...whichever suits you. We live in a fabulous peaceful and very rural part of France near a huge lake with swimming, canoeing, fishing, cycle and walking routes along the lanes close by.

    4/5 hours work a day/5 days a week would be expected, in return for meals and accommodation. You must be happy, healthy and active. You will have lots of free time to explore this lovely area of France. If you can drive and are 23+ bring your licence! At weekends throughout the summer France really comes alive. There are music festivals, vide greniers, fayres and markets to visit in our region nearly every weekend.

    We would like you to come and help as soon as possible and we would prefer you to stay for 7 - 10 days.

    We have all mod cons including wifi but mobile signal is poor here, and we have a cat and 4 hens who provide all our eggs!!

    It's hot here in the summer but please bring clothes suitable for outdoor work - tough jeans and tough shoes/boots. Vegetarians can be catered for although we eat some meat and lots of fish, but we're happy to adapt and if you can bring new recipes to our kitchen that would be really cool.. We can collect you from a local train station or from the airport/bus station at Limoges..

    We really look forward to hearing from you..

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a beautiful region of rural France with many historic buildings and French neighbours. We are in a zone de monument historique where a meteorite carved out a large area of the countryside 240 million years ago, so if you are interested in meteorite zones, this is the place for you! There is the opportunity to speak and learn French or English, and also to learn some traditional building techniques and cookery skills. Also some work with animals if you are interested, possibly chickens, dogs and cats.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some of the jobs but not limited to; general help with the ongoing renovations, help with repointing the ancient stonework with lime mortar, fetching and carrying materials, painting, gardening, grass cutting, clearing hedges, log sawing, some occasional cooking and walking and playing with the dog! You'll need to bring work clothes and boots!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A cosy double bedroom with your own bathroom, a single bedroom, or a peaceful basic caravan in our garden....your choice!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As there is some planting, sewing, strimming, and maybe help making raised beds with old joists; some heavy dirty stonework etc we expect our volunteers to bring old jeans and strong footwear (lol someone turned up last year with just flipflops!!). Although the sun shines a lot here you will need warm clothing in October. You'll have plenty of time off to chill out or go sightseeing. There are so many lakes and nature trails to explore if you love nature. We have bikes and a canoe to borrow at your leisure. There is a train station to Limoges or Angouleme that we can arrange to pick you up and drop you off at, also a airport in Limoges if you are flying into France. Ideally we would love for you to stay for up to 2 weeks (max) if possible but obviously will cater the best we can.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 to 5 hours per day Monday - Friday






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 145986778699