Join our family as we work on being self sufficient in Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Bisher 31 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.10.2019

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a Costarican family that constantly works on being self sufficient. In spite of the difficulties, we know that it is a long process to uproot the system completely but we are on the way. Our dream has always been to turn the farm into a tourist space and that everything is self-sufficient. We have ponds with tilapia (fish) for years, we have a few chickens but we plan in the future to have a small farm that we can feed on. The first thing we must do is work the land to plant more than what is already, we want to build a ranch where we can do our workshops since we have a brand of natural cosmetics and teach workshops. We want to make a garden of medicinal plants to make our cosmetics! We also want to build small cabins or a small hostel so that visitors are in contact with nature, can escape a few days from the city, harvest their breakfast and catch their lunch. But in the future we would like to have a small restaurant where everything is produced locally. In the end we have many plans because our farm has a lot of potential, we have a water source too but we also want to receive workaway volunteers and we are open to any idea that anyone wants to give us!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We will always offer you a warm home where we will make you feel part of our family, share with our friends and go to nearby places in our community such as rivers and mountains that we always visit and it would be an honor to teach them. We have our knowledge in organic agriculture, yogurt and handmade cheese, natural cosmetics such as soaps, creams, ointments, shampoos, bath gels, serum, disinfectant, soap and everything completely natural. We are sure that we can exchange our knowledge and make our relationship something reciprocal! We are a family of principles that will respect your beliefs and we will never want to make you feel alone or mistreated while you are with us, we will always take care of our volunteers as one more member of the family.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We want to work our farm in order to turn it into a place of recreation where people can come to choose their food in our gardens and fish their lunch in our ponds, we can connect with the way of life of our ancestors.
    The help we need would be permaculture, building huts and resting areas, installing drinking troughs and bird feeders, we also have a project for native bees (mariolas) where we want to extract honey, propolis and royal jelly which will be used for our natural cosmetics and family consumption. We also have in the future the project of a biodigester with which we can supply the needs of kitchen and hot water on the farm. We want to make a composting area in the farm where we will make all kinds of organic fertilizers for our gardens. As I said before we are willing to listen to ideas and suggestions from our volunteers.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanish and English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a farm of one hectare and a half where we have a house that consists of two bathrooms, 4 rooms, a living room, a dining room, a kitchen and a laundry room. We also have an open cabin where it is my place of recreation along with my brother, there we have meetings with friends, there is a television, electricity and two mattresses available for sleeping. There are quite a few options at bedtime since it can be inside the house, in the open cabin or if you wish you can camp as there is a lot of space.

    We will provide 3 meals per day. Somedays we will cook for them and someday they can cook for themselves.
    It depends on how many people are on the house or the open cabin we would have to share our rooms but if there is not that much people and you rather some privacy, we will make it possible!
    If you choose to camp you must bring your tent, I just have 2 sleepings bags but i can share them with the volunteers for sure.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Turrialba is a beautiful place with a variety of rivers, waterfalls and natural pools, mountains, rafting, kayaking, canopy, paragliding, among other things. In your free time if we could be willing to show you the places of our community and that are of your interest. You can also enjoy the farm in your free time reading a book while you admire the birds that come to our farm. There are many activities to be entertained in the middle of nature and I would love it if we could enjoy it together!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My attempt to feed the birds that come into our farm!
The river of the community wich is very close to our house that we can even go walking! And our doggy Mia
The tilapias from our ponds
Some plants we planted in banana stems and some bamboo
This river is called Oriente and is close to our community, we have to go by car !
Mountains neraby our farm that we can go walking
Oriente river with some friends on Sunday
Our house corridor
One day with some friends fishing in our ponds.
Our open cabin.
A sneak peek on our house and Mia our doggy.
The view from our home.
The view from our home.
Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 145847282428