Help me renovate a beautiful old stone house in Brajkovići, Istra, Croatia

Country

Kroatien

Bisher 143 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Nina (40) and am renovating a beautiful old stone house in the countryside of Istrian peninsula. I am converting it to a sustainable ecological home away from home.

    The purpose of the renovation is to bring natural materials closer to people, who want to experience a natural home first hand. The plan is to convert the house into a permaculture haven where people can try out living in a building made of natural materials with a permaculture garden surrounding it.

    The house is is located on the edge of a small village 12km away from Rovinj and the coast. It offers a nice interlace between nature and village life.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you’re interested in natural materials, their use in construction and permaculture, this place was designed for you. I spent a lot of time gathering all sorts of information regarding the described subjects and would be more than happy to share my theoretical and practical knowledge. My passion is spreading awareness in the world and creating a sustainable future for all.
    Since I love doing things with my hands and I experimented a lot with the renovation techniques on the house, I can also tell you about the mistakes best avoided :)
    I can show you how to use earth as a building material and we can construct things out of stone, wood, straw, reed, clay and lime together.

    Since I started renovating the house I travel less, consequently missing the exchange of people’s worldly views and experience. I enjoy having my horizons opened with every single person ever so slightly more. That’s another reason why I’m inviting volunteers to my home: in the hopes to have an intriguing chat about the depth or heights of a human soul and have a good laugh while we share the present moment.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    --
    Current update: end of September/beginning of October 2021 i need a person with some skills and experience in carpentry: i would like to make a bed and a piece of furniture inside the house. Min stay 1 week, max 10 days.
    --

    You will be invited to participate in various activities. That means doing the practical/dirty work spiced with some theoretical explanations from different fields of sustainable practices, all depending on your interest and the depth/limits of my knowledge (natural materials and natural construction, energy resources, composting toilet, water re-usage, permaculture). You will be encouraged to share your know-how connected to the assignments at hand, expanding your knowledge in tasks already tested out here or maybe we’ll both end up learning something new while trying out some improvements to the place/project you’ll suggest.

    A word of caution: in the summer it gets hot in this area so we adjust the schedule to fit the needs and abilities of everyone involved.


    Current tasks:
    Inside:
    -building furniture out of wood (bed, bench)
    -implementation of tadelakt in the bathroom
    -protect the wooden surfaces (floors, door frames, window frames) with tung oil
    -clay and lime plaster decorations.

    Outside:
    -general garden preparations
    -planting, sowing, transplanting, watering the plants
    -weeding and maintenance of green surfaces of the compound
    -building a plant-based gray water cleaning device
    -building a stone wall next to the terrace
    -building an outside kitchen (stone/cob)
    -building an outside bathroom/sauna
    -making outside furniture
    -building a wooden shed in the garden
    -building a protected space for the outside bed
    -repairing/rebuilding the dry stone walls along the perimeters of the compound.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Croatian: Fließend
    Slovenian: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation: the premises cover really basic needs. There is space in the garden to put up a tent (I have a small one or you can use yours if you have it) or park your preferred vehicle of accommodation. You'll get linens and blankets here, but you're welcome to use your sleeping bag if you have one.
    There is a bathroom in the house you’d share with me (hot water, compost toilet) and a cold shower in the garden.

    Food: the kitchen is provisional/temporary, but it has a decent size fridge and a gas stove. I love to cook but enjoy sharing the cooking experience with a fellow human even more. I usually cook once a day, the rest of the meals are fresh fruit, vegetables and the likes.
    My friends in the vicinity have a big ecological garden so in the summer most of the produce comes from them, otherwise I aim for local and seasonal. I grow some herbs and veggies on the permaculture garden in front of the house.

    Very important: i ask everyone to use only biodegradable products on the premises (for washing dishes/humans/pets, skin products etc.) because the water used for washing and showering goes directly to the garden and everything that you flush with it as well. I would prefer you brought your own products, in case that's not possible i can provide some basic soaps and shampoos.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The location of the premises is on an edge of a small remote village. Staying here offers a great escape from everyday hustle and bustle - it can feel quite remote and isolated. If you're a party type of a person, you'll have to put in some effort to find that kind of entertainment around here :)
    I prefer hosting independent people/couples with their own means of transport because it makes it easier to experience the place and it's surroundings in all it's beauty. But if you're a resourceful person who's fine on their own from time to time and likes some time to read a good book, this is just the place for you.

    Information about the area and surroundings:
    -public transport exists but not in abundance: the village has a bus stop with regular service to Rovinj, Kanfanar train station is 6 km away
    -there is a mini store at the gas station 500m away, a grocery store is 5 km away
    -the Lim bay is 4 km away, Rovinj with all it’s gorgeous beaches 12 km away
    -there are nice bike trails around, some leading to Rovinj and others to other parts of Istria
    -rock climbing Zlatni rt in Rovinj (13 km), near Dvigrad (13 km) and in the Lim bay (5 km)
    -other attractions nearby: traditional tavern (1 km), pizzeria (2 km), the wine route (5 km), aromatic park Histria Aromatica (6 Km), Dvigrad castle ruins (10 km), Motovun (35 km), water park Istralandia (40 km)
    -events: Summer Salsa Festival, Rovinj Jazz Festival, Photodays in Rovinj to mention a few.

    What else can i tell you? Oh yeah, a few words about my interests...
    Before I moved to Croatia, I worked as an architect in various countries. I was heavy-heartedly aware of the damage we are doing to our beautiful planet on a daily basis, so I wanted to join all the gutsy people out there living the change we all would need to make in order to stop this down slide. In 2017 I decided it’s time for a bigger change for me as well. Now my life is a somewhat complex but beautiful mixture of interests, places and people.

    My primary interest is energy efficient use of natural materials for building, clay being the leading star among the materials. Apart from that i'm into learning more about permaculture and contact improvisation dance. I like sports, like running along the beach of Rovinj or climbing, so we can do that together if you're up for it :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 142184649423