Help with gardening and daily life and explore the Paradise of US Virgin Islands

Country

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

aktualisiert  

Bisher 44 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.01.2022

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a busy, fun, adventure loving couple + roommate who all moved to the US Virgin Islands from Dallas. (At separate times)
    We have a rental house with a wonderful hillside ocean hillside view. We have a few projects we would like to get finished this summer so our home can feel like the dream house we envision. (including things like painting, lots of gardening, building a large backyard bench, clearing brush around the house ). Since all three of us have day jobs it's hard to find extra time to undertake the large projects around the house. I got my start on the island with work away I find it only fitting that I use this platform to help others create their travel dream. Through workaway, I ended up living in the apartment I renovated and now work full time in a dental office on the island!
    My goal is to work with passionate and creative world travelers who want to help make our house into an island home! We are all savvy travelers who are itching to travel once the pandemic settles down.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We like to travel a lot and love meeting other travelers. I have done a backpacking trip through Europe, sail trips, and road trips all over. We like to share knowledge about our little island. We love sharing stories with others and love learning from travelers as well.

    By exploring the island, you can experience traditional Caribbean culture, food, farmer's markets, art exhibitions and numerous beach music events. There are historical sites to visit downtown, sugar mill ruins on St John, and WWII bunker on water island. We can give you lots of advice on fun places to explore.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The workawayers we are welcoming are independent individuals or couples, with some handy person experience. At the very least we are seeking self-sufficient individuals who are ready to tackle a variety of tasks. The help we need is some construction and organization, gardening but I could also use some help with cleaning around the house and the garden.

    We expect at least a few hours of help everyday 5 days a week. You can choose which ever 5 days you would like. We suggest getting the tasks done in the morning because the afternoons get hot. We are very flexible and we don't have a time limit, so most of the time there will be a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    In exchange for help around the house I can offer a private bedroom with a mini fridge and shared bathroom. Sharing our beautiful home with many patios with a beautiful ocean hillside view, as well as fun weekends on different islands. A lot of times buying in bulk is cheaper than smaller portions. We can take you to the bulk store once you arrive. Keep in mind groceries are 30% higher than stateside because everything is brought in.

    We are a house of five, 3 people, 2 dogs and 1 cat - There are often friends and family visitors coming and going so we are a friendly household.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are plenty of outdoor activities around St. Thomas to do in your time off, as well as restaurants and bars in town to check out. I will help arrange rides when possible and depending on schedule you may be able to ride with us often. Luckly we live close to a hotel and calling a taxi to and from town is fairly easy but each ride will cost you $7-15 bucks.

    There are no nearby beaches within a decent walking distance. The beach is about 10 min drive with steep roads. We have had people walk to our house from town but I don't suggest this route because the road is thin and cars are constantly passing. Its not a scooter type island either the roads are slick and steep when its rains,

    ** Vaccinated people only, please! Or proof of antibodies. If you have a special circumstance ~ we will consider it. If you get sick with COVID-19 on the island while visiting, you will have to self-quarantine outside of the house at your own expense. **

    We don't expect this to happen, however: if, for any reason, we can no longer host you here... we ask you to not apply if you cannot afford to relocate yourself. Again, not expected, but just in case!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have high speed wifi but the island does go out of power from time to time. As does any where on island lol.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We can find parking if you get a vehicle rented on island.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 139546311176