Help required for 7 acre smallholding on the beautiful Isle of Anglesey North Wales

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 28 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a 7 acre smallholding run on permaculture and organic principles. We've been living here on Anglesey since 2010. Since that time we have planted over 5000 trees, developed organic growing bed systems and native fruit orchards. On site we have: two humans, one dog, five cats, chickens, ducks and Guinea fowl.

    We live in a 17th Century Welsh long cottage that we are currently renovating.

    Typical tasks we ask volunteers to help with: weeding, clearing beds, digging, polytunnel maintenance, feeding and taking care of animals, cleaning out animal runs, gardening, planting, harvesting wild plants and veg, cooking and cleaning, whatever needs doing at the time.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Jules is a author and practising Hedgewitch and knows a lot about the edible and medicinal properties of wild plants. She runs workshops and events and also knows lots about gardening and cooking. Richard is originally from South Africa and works part time in Manchester. When he is home, he loves to work outdoors on the land and the various projects we have in the cottage. We are both foodies and enjoy trying new foods and experimenting with different cooking styles, in summer we love to cook outside (sometimes winter as well!) Staying with us you will get an insight into the outdoor life on the island of Anglesey - we are 25 mins walk from the sea/5 minute drive. We are both members of a gym in Holyhead and try to go most days and you are welcome to join us but you would need to pay to use the facilities.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with building, carpentry, gardening, tree maintenance, decorating and cleaning, food preservation.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Afrikaans, German, British Sign Language

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers usually stay in one of our caravans, which are clean and comfy. You can camp here also in summer. For breakfast you help yourself, for lunch we will eat together and for dinner I'll give you ingredients you can prepare yourself. NOTE: we eat both a meat and vegetarian diet, we can accommodate vegetarians and vegans but you need to let us know in advance.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your free time you could walk to the local beach or the local pub. You could get buses to Holyhead or Llangefni to explore more of the island. There is also a local post office and a convenience store which is about 15 minute walk. Jules and Richard like to have private time in the evening so this placement is not suitable if you would find it hard to be on your own. Couples or pairs of friends are welcome though.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 134178977783