Nature, travel, meditation, and dog aficionados encouraged for a genuine Spanish small village experience in the most pristine mountains of the country

Country

Spanien

Bisher 14 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    JUMP INTO THE MYSTERY OF LIFE.

    I am a semi-retired scientist with an online job (scientific editing and translation) and the ability to travel (via a small caravan; so travel buddies are also an option). I have had a successful conventional career but have largely left that behind and am currently exploring inner space and human relationships. Currently staying in a house in the beautiful mountains west of Plasencia (Extremadura) Spain. I am interested in ecovillages, either joining or initiating one. I have lived in Spain for nine years and in Portugal for one and a half. I have practiced Buddhist (Zen and mostly Vipassana) meditation since the early 1990s. I enjoy meeting people from different cultures, countries, and backgrounds. For that reason, I have opened my home many times as a host on another site. If you would like to see the numerous references from my guests on that site, I'd be happy to send you the link.

    I am easygoing and irreverent, but not a party animal or night owl. We’d likely be more companionable if you enjoy learning and discourse on history, philosophy, culture, philosophy, current events, and the sins of capitalism ;) I am an avid history buff and especially like visiting historical or unique architectural sites. I enjoy light hiking, but perhaps more just sightseeing and a relaxing beer afterward on the plaza. I like beaches in the off-season. I’ve lived in Denmark, Spain, Portugal, Turkey, and the United States. My caravan has a solar kit so I can free camp (outside commercial campgrounds). I tend to visit historical or offbeat (think Atlas Oscura) places!!! Ideally, you should lean more toward camping in nature rather than fancy hotels and restaurants. If you have an inner hippie that you'd like to indulge, that'd be perfect! However, I occasionally visit larger cities to see historical sites. Watching the sunset from a camp chair with a suitable beverage is my usual mode!

    PS I began as a Workawayer rather than host a couple years ago; I had one job near Vigo, Spain, teaching Spanish-speaking kids English by immersion.

    ***********************************************************************************************

    Now that we have those mundane details covered...

    WALK WITH ME AND TELL ME YOUR TRUTH

    Tell me what you’d do if money were no object. Tell me what you ache to do and assume that no one will judge it, including yourself…

    Tell me where you think we came from before birth and where we’re going after death. Tell me WHY we’re here if you think there’s a meaning.

    Tell me the important turning points in your life and how they made you who you are now.

    What have you done that you felt compelled to do by others and society? Are you still doing it? Why?

    Tell me your sorrow and what makes you cry.

    Tell me what gives you joy.

    What do you long to ask others but are afraid? Why are you afraid?

    Do you enjoy your time alone? If not, why not?

    What do you find funny?

    What do you find odd that others accept as normal?

    What do you fear? What do you think you would do if you were free of that fear?

    Do you avert your eyes when a stranger approaches? Why?

    Why are you traveling? Is there something you seek in it?

    Lastly, tell me what you do to make money, only if you consider it important. Why did you choose that work? Does it satisfy you? If not, do you see changing it?

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Language exchange (Spanish-English) as mentioned above - I can also take some time to speak English if you want to improve in that language. I have lots of stories from my travels and life experiences to share and would enjoy hearing yours! Last but certainly not least, If you are seeking the GENUINE small-village, non-tourist experience of Spain, this suits your purpose exactly! You will be at the foot of the Sierra de Gata, considered some of the most pristine mountains in Spain. Hiking trails are abundant and spectacular. La naturaleza en abundancia!
    NOTA BENE: If you are easily bored with quiet and "inactivity," and need the distractions of a city, this is likely not your cup of tea.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    UPDATE: I am moving west of Plasencia on 1 Sep 2019 to a house that needs little or no outside maintenance (very small garden). Therefore I'm looking primarily for:
    1. Pet care if I need to travel somewhere
    2. Preparation of healthy and tasty meals
    3. Travel buddies for caravan trips in Spain/Portugal
    4. Language practice (Spanish/English)

    For the language practice, ideally I am seeking a native Spanish speaker with whom to practice and advance my Spanish, which has been stuck at intermediate level for many years. Although I have done weekly exchange (intercambio) before, I believe that advancement is most rapid via immersion. That means constantly speaking Spanish.

    Probably more importantly, I am rather lazy when it comes to cooking for myself, so I'd really appreciate someone who enjoys cooking and is good at it! Healthy local food would be ideal -- I need to eat a better diet!. Good meals and a feeling of belonging/contribution are more important than the money at this point of my life. The house itself is small but has 3 bedrooms. Exercise can also be had by hiking and walking with my dogs, which I try to do to maintain my physical and mental state in good shape.

    Last but not least, you must like or be OK with dogs. My podenco and Beagle are my best friends and they love people. I ask that you be aware of their safety and needs at the very least; at best I hope to find someone with pet sitting experience and a great love of dogs.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your own bedroom in a 3-bedroom house in a small rural mountain village surrounded by lush green mountains. This bedroom is available at all times.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My village has only 750 people but there is a neighboring one (3 km distant) that is twice that size. So there are basic amenities like grocery stores and bars/restaurants (what self-respecting Spanish village would lack the latter?) Plasencia, a city of 40,000 people, offers additional amenities. It is a 45-minute drive from the house. There you can catch a bus or train to major destinations in Spain and Portugal. I myself travel in a small caravan in both Spain and Portugal (including the coast), and you are welcome to accompany as your schedule permits.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 2 days a week in summer, less in winter

Nearby river meander of Las Hurdes
The complete family
My village
Long story short - I survived with only minor injuries from this supposed saintly madman.
Turks 'n me preparing to sally forth and conquer the skies of Istanbul.
Intrepid flight scientist off on another chemtrail mission ;)
Zeus looked down and shone his light upon this wee conveyance and its misadventures.
Here's some land-loving clown trying his hand at water sports.
My best travel buddy...Buddy!
Given the vastness of time and space, how the hell did I end up here?
Here's me face.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 117332496359