Join our family and help us to create our sustainable farm in Co Kerry, Ireland

Country

Irland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 144 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.02.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 4 at the beginning stages of creating our sustainable eco farm, Base glamp. We have 12 acres near Killorglin, Co Kerry nestled at the base of the McGillicuddy Reeks, below Ireland's tallest mountain, Carrauntoohil. We are in awe every time we look in any direction! We are also so excited to begin this new, lasting and nourishing phase of our lives and want to share it with everyone. We want to learn from our guests and teach our guests and share in the beauty of our world.
    We have 2 daughters 8 and 5, a dog, cat, chickens, ducks and two donkeys. Darragh is working on the farm full time, building and creating for many years to come. Donna will mostly work in the gardens and greenhouses when she is not working in the kitchen or in the health clinic in Killorglin. Together we vow to save the bees, grow food, live in harmony with the earth and plant as many trees as we can. We hope to share, educate, learn, nourish and treat guests on our farm along their travels. Come live the dream with us, work hard, play hard and make amazing things happen.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We speak english and are happy to help you learn English during your stay. We also speak some Spanish, German and French. Here are some of the skills and goals that we hope to share with our guests.
    Donna works in a 'root cause' health clinic in Killarney offering bio energetic scans as well as being trained as a nutritionist, herbalist, massage therapist, birth doula, avid gardener, and aerial arts lover. We even have an aerial rig and practice aerial dance and aerial yoga.
    Darragh is a former world traveller and now has retired from his job in the USA, to come back home, at the base of his favourite mountains in the world. Basically being skilled at almost anything he tries (he is amazing), he will be the brains and the builder of all things farm related, as well as stealing away to the mountains, offering guided hikes, surfing and riding a motorcycle any chance he can get.
    Together we have built a home in Colorado, USA high in the Rocky Mountains, managed a small boutique hotel on Inch Beach in Ireland and run our own Air B and B in the past. We love meeting world travelers and providing accommodations. We are excited to venture into the glamping and camping side of accommodations now, going more sustainable, as well as someday hosting sustainable building courses, weddings and gatherings. We hope to take all of the best parts of our past experiences and meld them into the creation of our new farm. After making major changes in our lives, we have made the commitment to creating a fabulous farm.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some of our goals on our new farm are to renovate our cottage, create bespoke glamping accommodations (two so far) on the property (octagon, yurt, bell tents and eventually a hobbit house or a double decker bus. We have big plans, for example, to fix our old stone building into a workshop, as well as turn one of our many stone separated fields into the "garden field " growing more than we can eat and sharing the abundance. We are planting an orchard and our own food forest (look it up!). Constructing a stone circle is on the list too. We are lucky enough to have native Irish woodlands on the property and hope to be receiving a grant to further plant more of our land with native trees. We plan to have bees (getting ready for this spring!), wood burning hot tub, build various outdoor structures, build a tropical glasshouse for year round growing (this will be last, after we fix the house), build trail systems (DONE!), create a stream and pond system through a few fields to channel the water along the edge of the woods (DONE!), along with many more plans.
    General building help would gladly be appreciated, as well as gardening, child minding, cooking, trail maintenance, and basically any form of art. We accept smokers and ask that you smoke outside only. We are open to teachers coming and offering courses eventually. There is WIFI at the Kitchen and Bathhouse and cellular data works in some areas, but not in the woods.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Things are kind of primitive for the moment. We have power, water and septic and the blank canvas of a cottage. We have a 2 bedroom, fully equipped mobile home. The octagon is ready for guests and the yurt is taken down for the winter. We also have storage areas and dry areas as well as 2 greenhouses.
    We can accommodate any number of guests on the property to CAMP (for now)



    We will feed our workaway guests 2-3 meals per day, or alternatively can provide food for you to cook or a stipend for you to buy your own foods. The kitchen will always be open and you are welcome to eat what we have and make meals to share. We hope to have some help in the kitchen from time to time as well.
    We eat organic, gluten free, dairy free and have a focus on trying to consume no processed sugars. We DO eat meat and try to source local and free range. We will respect and accommodate any and ALL diets.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in the magical Kindom of County Kerry at the foot of some of the most amazing mountains and lakes in Ireland. The trailhead for Carrantoohil is 2k from your doorstep and an amazing mountain to climb. Darragh can even guide you up, as well as many other routes to peaks on both The Ring of Kerry (Skellig Islands are out this way!) and The Dingle Peninsula (another must see with over 2,000 historical sites). Kilorglin is our closest town, offering everything you may need along your travels. Killarney town (so lovely) and Killarney National Park are so close to home (25 minutes) and an absolute must. Also consider heading over to Rossbeigh beach or Inch beach for some play time in the surf and sand. We have friends that run the surf hire and surf school on Inch beach and it's a great place to learn how to surf. We have bikes and paddle boards too. There are Castles, Abbeys, abundant history and many lakes and forest glens to explore around the area as well.
    We strive to be hard workers, nature lovers, wildcrafters, gardeners, sustainable livers, healthy eaters and outdoor enthusiasts, and welcome all who share in these joys.
    We can provide rides to and from most places, as long as the flow of the farm continues and we would be happy to do guided tours when the time allows. The bus system is fairly good here as well.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    With our farm animals, we would like to avoid dogs

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 112219127118