Falls Du das alte Irland erkunden willst... dies ist der richtige Ort!

Country

Irland

Bisher 562 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.03.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Ian & Helen. We have 2 small children. We own
    a 400yr old traditional Irish thatched Clachan. With a small organic veg
    garden and a few chickens. We live in a rural part of Ireland that is considered one of the most beautiful counties. We both have a keen interest in the Arts and traditional skills. We live a basic life. We like good live music and have a fantastic local music session happen weekly in a nearby pub which every person who comes to stay here adores and if they play an instrument will always be encouraged to join in. We have an easy going attitude. The sympathetic restoration of our house is taking time and using traditional skills. This year we are aiming to get alot of work done on our house. Last year we hosted 16 Workawayers and got alot of quality work done. So if your strong, don't mind roughing it and getting your hands dirty, get in touch.
    We also prefer people to stay a minimum of 3wks. Longer is even better.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have just over an acre of mature gardens and woodland.
    with several stone outbuildings and a large Irish thatched house. Using
    traditional methods, we are restoring the house and would be grateful to
    have any help. Mainly thatching, dry stonewall building, electrics and plumbing. Also planting and light gardening.
    If you are strong and want to explore old Ireland. Then this is the place
    for you.
    As we have been hosting for several years now I have noticed a pattern. We find that the people who gain the most from this experience are those who have been to a previous host. I don't know why, but they seem to enjoy their time here so much more and are happy with the basic accommodation we offer and the easy going approach to the work.
    If you play an instrument you will certainly gain a lot from your time here..

    Tips for writing your request to stay: BE HONEST.. We know not everyone lives in a bubble. So if you enjoy a glass of wine, or you smoke.. Tell the truth.. We prefer you be honest. If you say you have excellent carpentry skills, but don't then you are taking a risk with machinery we trust you are familiar with and you may get injured. If you are only coming to improve your language skills and for no other reason, then you are coming to the wrong place. If you are coming to have free accommodation then again, this is not the place for you.

    If you are mature, happy to do your own thing when not working or hanging out with us.
    Wash your own clothes and cook your own meals (not always) then please DO contact us.
    Be clear about what we offer.. If you know that then we will all be happy and I know many of our previous volunteers are happy to discuss their time here. So if you want to find out more.. Ask..

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a camping area and 2 small caravan's. We only have an outdoor shower at the moment, which has cold running water. Not for everyone, but quite an experience.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We provide:
    Wireless broadband. (So bring your own Laptop)
    BBQ
    Occassional Day trips exploring our wonderful land.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    varies.

Hector (Spain) & Danny (Argentina)who worked with us from March til May 2011.
Roof of the house 2010
Yuiko from Japan was here working in the garden planting potatoes in April 2010
This is were the vegtable garden is now. It used to be full of weeds. You can also see some of the original thatched roof in the background. 2007
Some American 2009 Workawayers.
Roof of the house 2008
Gaston from Spain/Argentina 2009.
Roof of the house. 2009
The Vegtable garden




















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 000000000265