Mithilfe mit den Hunden, dem Garten und evtl. Deko-Arbeiten gesucht in Gloucestershire, England



Bisher 101 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Beschreibung


    Below is my general outline of jobs around the garden and home. More specifically I am looking for someone or a couple who can caretake my house and garden and more importantly my dog during a lot of June and July while I am away. mostly, and back for a week or two here and there. Get in touch if you want to know more. Ideally you may have a car as there are lots of walks from my home, and the public transport is 15 min downhill - which means longer uphill on the way back! There is a community run village shop with lovely food supplies - but expensive for basics By June/ July there should be lots of fresh veg in the garden - which I would need watered during dry spells.

    Write up from winter months - to give you a flavour of our home.:

    Ruth, Xena and Charlie live in a beautiful secluded spot on the edge of the Wye valley near Tintern abbey and the Forest of Dean. The Barn and Tawny Owls are often heard after dark, and the bats skim overhead at dusk. Our old cottage has wood burning stoves, and the newish very light kitchen garden room leads out to the patio and a small firepit.

    We have a 3 acre patch and a house that is still being renovated . We have one large friendly dog that lost his mother and doggy companion just before Christmas - He is adorable when he feels safe and at home and loves company and cuddles. However he is very dog aggressive through I think fear - when out walking. That said I have 3 acres for him to exercise on, and there are walks from the house where you are very unlikely to meet another dog.

    Meadow - Enjoy the wild flower meadow as it changes through the seasons.

    Tree planting - getting the rowan trees in and protected from 'nature.

    Garden... this will include tasks such as improving and continuing my 'No dig vegetable patch' which is still under development. Work in the wild life garden to prepare more land for seeding with wild meadow seeds. Woodland maintenance, planting of some hedging shrubs and other trees. Processing compost, making compost, work in the flower garden with pollinator friendly plants. The bees in the hives will be 'clustering' but we can still talk bees. And then there is the winter cleaning jobs for hive health, and flat pack equipment I haven't got around to assembling.

    The dog - love him, play with him, teach him new tricks, and keep him safe. We have a large garden fenced off. Walking him with me - certainly initially as he is fear aggressive to other dogs, so needs careful handling when away from the house.

    If the weather prevents us being in the garden, then there is always DIY jobs in the house including painting rooms, cleaning , vanishing floors. etc

    I am a Lymphoedema specialist nurse and work 3 days a week and with massage clients occasionally on other days. I have 2 grown children, 1 living between home and Scotland and 1 in South America

    Because my Nursing work means I am meeting vulnerable people, I would prefer if you have had the Covid x 2 vaccinations and ideally a booster, and are willing to do Lateral Flow tests.

    A large project that I haven't started yet is developing a fallen down structure into a artistic dwelling with compost toilet and big views. ........... its good to keep on dreaming.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I look forward to exchanging travel stories and ideas. I too have travelled very widely and in younger years done lots of adrenaline sports. We live in a place of peace and tranquillity with lots of beautiful countryside and nature all around as well as many 'tourist attractions'. However the nearest bus route is a fast 40 minute walk.

    I can teach you about plants, propagation, no dig, meadow development, massage and health, cooking, dogs. I am happy to talk in English and help you learn more English but I am not a teacher as such. We live in a very peaceful place if you feel you need 'restoring' with peace and tranquillity. Its no good if you want the high life and the night life - unless watching badgers is your thing!

    I am always keen to learn more about nature, and about ways of working with it. I am also very interested in the human body and what makes us who we are.

  • Arbeit


    Come help with setting up a no dig garden, planting trees, flower garden work, preparing wood for winter wood burner, painting in the house on wet days, helping entertain two big boisterous dogs, taking in turns to cook. Learn a bit about bees, and general share of house cleaning and maintenance.

    It is important that you are happy and familiar with big dogs One of my dogs has fear aggression issues at the gate or on walks - and so I would appreciate help on walks with dogs - where I walk with you and the dogs. I do not feel strong enough to handle both on my own in any difficult situation. That said we have a large fenced off area around the house that is dog secure and the dogs run freely in it. And for those that they know in the house are they couldn't be more friendly, loving and interactive.

    Looking for folk that have some gardening experience and painting experience and aren't afraid of hard physical work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Two double bedrooms are available with shared bathroom with shower. Second toilet downstairs. My house and lifestyle has been described by a good friend as bohemian. And even though I have been here 17 years - the house was described as 'in need of much modernisation'. That has been achieved to a large extent - but as in any old cottage it will always be ongoing.

    A neglected piano is available, and a sitting room with wood burner and TV.

    Two days of the 5 days working would be mostly unsupervised - in the garden or house and entertaining dogs. On those days it would be appreciated if you cooked. Otherwise I am happy to cook - but we can work this out - but I do expect help in just cleaning and simple household chores to keep the place tidy. Food is predominantly vegetarian with occasional fish or chicken. Then on the other 3 days I would work along side you on my days off. On your days off you would be free .

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Days off would be Wednesday and Thursday. Your own transport would be helpful. The nearest regular bus to the small towns of Chepstow ( with rail or bus links to Bristol) or Monmouth is about a 40 minutes walk downhill ( uphill on the way back !) Walks are a plenty from the house. If I am free to give a lift to the bus stop of pick up, I would do so.

    There are two bikes that can be used.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    There is internet in the house, and rooms that can be used to work in if needed. However the speed is at present fairly slow so not good for huge file uploads and downloads. I may have been able to access Fibre Broadband by Dec 21.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Long wheel based vehicles may have trouble on the drive. However I do have a pull in the other side of the land, but internet access won't stretch over there. At present I do not have a compost toilet over there.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 000000000203