Helping to make a special place near Toulouse, in the French Pyrenees

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 122 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Zuletzt online

    27.04.2018

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Registrierung
  2018 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, my name is Dorian I'm 52 years old, dual national, half french and half English. I teach Tai Chi Chuan 3 days a week in Toulouse, South West France, where I have been living for the past 26 years.

    In march 2014 I acquired a house in the mountains, the previous owners called it a chalet... but it's not made of wood, it could also be called a "Grange" because they were originally used to keep animals and hay during the winter.

    The house faces a local (mystical) mountain called the "Cagire" and is a 10 minute drive from the lovely mountain town called Aspet in the French Pyrenees. The nearest town with a train station is called Saint Gaudens situated 15 Km away from Aspet.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    kochen/einkaufen
    handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Volunteers would be asked to help with clearing the land of brambles, moving wood piles, helping to make a pond, landscaping, cleaning the house, making eco dry toilets, installing showers, gardening, landscaping, helping to find eco-friendly solutions for electricity and self sustainable living.

  • gesprochene Sprachen

    gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English and Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house has a big upstairs room with beautiful wooden roof which can be used as a dormitory-shared space to sleep and already has 7 mattresses, otherwise you can camp outside on the land next to the house or lower down on the land in a sheltered area. the ground floor has a large communal room with cooking facilities, large dining area with table that can seat 8 people, and a hugh fire place !

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I am happy to consider most types of request and will always answer your emails, however if you come to stay with me you have to be of the self sufficient type. I do enjoy receiving guests, shopping and cooking and making you feel at home, but I also like to get stuck into my work and can some times be a little over concentrated on my projects. I teach Tai Chi and am used to dealing with and communicating with people and groups, Spending time teaching in means that I also enjoy having my own space and quiet time, therefore Ì am not always extremely chatty when I work....

    The house has running water but no electricity or phone, therefore no internet access, which is a fun thing if you want to test your ability to be away from the "networking world" !!!

    I am happy to cook to cater for most needs, i enjoy mediterranean food and also like spices, indian and north african cuisine. I am happy to cook vegetarian food. At certain times I might need to leave the house for the day to work, volunteers will be required to fend for them selves and do there own cooking, fear not ingredients will be provided.

    There are many wonderful walks and places to explore in the local area, but you must also be aware that Aspet the nearest town with a café is 6 km away, which means an hour and a half away to walk. I hope to get some bicycles soon but don't have any just yet. If you don't like the idea of being isolated in the mountains then this might not be the best location for you...

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours is a good way to go, hours can be flexible to allow for exploration of the area

My Photo Album

December 2014 the first of the snow !
Walking meditation during first silent retreat January 2015
Our Sunday meal on the last day of our silent spring retreat
The kitchen corner now has a proper sink and shelves, YES !
The upstairs space is open plan, it's a dojo for Tai Chi and can sleep 8 to 10.
Job nearly done. Merci Sabine !!
Sabine painting the shutters.
Corey prepares to drill into the chimney and install the wood stove piping
Luke stacking wood for the winter
Elliot my son and I before we did our crazy short hair cuts....
Cheers Jacques ! Thanks for helping change all those broken slates on the roof
The best place to be after a day working outside, just relax and watch the flickering flames !!
Good ol Volvo ! Loaded to the brim with wood to make shelves
François play us a wee drop of jazz as we prepare to dig into sunday lunch !
Eric and Ivan making slow progress through the thick brambles, still lots of work there !
Camille, Arnaud and Claire clean a very dirty metal cupboard to keep the mice away from the food !!! Next job would be to paint it...!
This is the view from the house looking south, a very enjoyable part of eating out in front of the main entrance !
The house viewed from behind and above, not the best but shows the western back drop !
Jacques did the job ! Knocked out a few bricks and we now have much more light blasting in from the west !!
Me on a hot day trying to keep track of what's going on....
Not much snow left on the Cagire mountain after april... but still a beautiful view !
The kitchen area, all open plan viewed from the entrance on ground floor... boy would I like to change the sink, it's so low !!
The house viewed from below in amidst the trees... a great place to camp in the summer.



Host ref number: 884869783657