Join us and help with dog walking, painting and renovating a 300yr old farmhouse in the mountains, where the Algarve borders the Alentejo

Country

Portugal

Bisher 242 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.05.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    346

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 12 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello!

    *️️VOLUNTEERS NEEDED IN JUNE*️️

    We live in a 300 year old farmhouse with 52 acres on the edge of the beautiful Monchique mountains where the Algarve borders the Alemtejo. We have seen bonelli's eagles, herons, storks, fox cub, deer and once a family of otters. Wild boar live around here but they are shy so you only see the footprints by the lakes.

    After spending eleven years in Cyprus we came here in 2009. We brought with us twelve dogs and three cats. Since then we’ve sadly
    lost them all but gained many more including 3 goats, chickens, ducks and a tortoise! Right now we have 6 dogs, 4 cats and some chickens.
    We made many improvements to the property when we first arrived. We did pretty well all of this ourselves. We are getting on a bit now and thus not as able as we were and we seem to achieve much less than we did!

    We are easy going and flexible. We like to meet people from all walks of life and have also travelled internationally. Although it's peaceful and rural we love the contrast so three or more times a week we drive to the West Coast, Portimao, Silves or Monchique. The local train station is just down the road where its easy to get to lots of places in the Algarve and to Lisbon. There is also a bus from the village.

    We have a pool which is great in the summer, you’d be welcome to use it anytime expect when holiday guests are using it. The beaches on the south or west coast are 40 minutes away. The West Coast beaches are very popular for surfing.

    Barragem de Santa Clara is nearby. It is one of the biggest lakes in Portugal, great for hiking, swimming, watersports or enjoying a traditional Portuguese lunch/dinner at the Santa Clara Country hotel.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are both very practical people and although we hope workawayers will have some skills when they come here, we hope that we can add to them.
    We are great conversationalists and have had some very interesting talks with people from all over the world, exchanging views and information about our respective countries.
    It has been a joy for us meeting so many people some of whom we consider lifelong friends now.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are a lot of animals here which like attention. Some would like to go for a walk, some need grooming. Walking the dogs and spending time with them. They love playing ball and having cuddles.

    We try to grow vegetables if we can so the veg plot needs an eye keeping on it and there is always weeding needing doing. Regular watering in summer.
    If is says on your profile that you do gardening you must be able to do gardening. You must be able to tell the difference between a weed and a plant or at the least be able to learn. You must also commit to doing gardening in the shape of weeding. Year on year my daughter returns from working in the uk and is overwhelmed by the amount of weeding that hasn't been done. Once the weather gets drier it becomes really hard to pull up weeds which she finds are often a metre high and already gone to seed which will be next years weeds. It is really important that weeds are pulled before that happens. During the winter workaways should take advantage of the sunny days to do weeding while the ground is damp and they are easy to pull up. Also, it is less tedious to do an hour or so here and there than have to tackle it all at once when it takes several hours a day for many days.

    Anyone good with a paintbrush would be welcome as there is always painting to do.

    We have lots of ongoing maintenance, fencing, , bits of concreting.

    Outside work maybe quite strenuous but we do have a lot of tools to help. We expect girls as well as boys to muck in with the manual work.
    Thus we wouldn't expect more than 5 hours a day (because if nothing else, that's enough for myself!). There are times though when it isn't easy to find 5 hours work to do.

    We would also expect you to help with the domestic chores, such as helping tidying up after meal times, keeping the house clean, cleanliness of your room and the bathroom, taking rubbish to the bin, the usual day to day chores. We don't expect to clean up after workaways. We expect workaways to launder their bedding and towels on the last day and at least hang it up to dry. Also to clean the bedroom thoroughly. We are not running a hotel and it defeats the object if we have to do a chambermaid service after people have left.

    It is important that workaways that come here have common sense and do not need telling over and over what and where things are and have to be told what needs doing on a day to day basis. To us it is obvious that terraces need sweeping, walls need wiping down, poo needs picking up. If something looks dirty we shouldn´t need to say to clean it. We also do not want workaways that are not able to do a good days volunteering. Over the years there have been people here that when they are gone we can not see what they achieved and that makes us feel a bit used. In exchange, for those that do do a good days volunteering, there will be lunches out, trips around and nice food and wine or beer. We see workaways as a two way street, we will happily give to those that give in return. We have had lots of workaways here who have left us really sad when it is time to say goodbye, sadly though there have been some that we have been keen to see the back of!

    We like to start before 8am and we finish around 1pm and have lunch. We usually stop for a break mid morning. Some days though, depending on whats happening we may finish earlier or occasionally later. Sometimes we finish earlier and all go off out somewhere even if it is only to the vet or the shops!

    The weekends are free but if workawayers are here we expect them to help with domestic chores.

    Please note we only accept applicants who apply directly through Workaway.

    PLEASE DO NOT ASK TO COME HERE IF YOU ARE NOT WILLING AND ABLE TO AGREE TO ALL OF THIS.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are fortunate to live in a beautiful area, perfect for writers, artists and nature lovers. Accommodation is in a comfortable double room in our three hundred year old farmhouse. There is a shared bathroom next to it.
    We used to put workawayers up in a self contained cottage in the grounds but many workawayers have treated it very badly and it's main purpose is as a holiday let and thus regretfully we have decided to use it only if necessary.

    We provide three meals a day. Breakfast is normally toast, muesli or fruit. Lunch is usually a sandwich, salad or soup. Dinner is often pizza, wraps, pastas, baked potatoes, salad, veggie curry or another vegetarian meal. We don't provide snacks etc. We don't provide fizzy drinks and beer or wine routinely.

    We live on a pension and cannot tolerate waste or extravagance in any form. Workaways must use electricity and water with care. Water is a particular problem here in Southern Portugal where we go without rain for months.

    At the moment we are not able to accommodate families with children. We have found that it is not always easy for workaways to concentrate on the job in hand and look after children and currently we have no suitable accommodation.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    At the point that workawayers agree to come here we will ask for their telephone number, home address and emergency contact number and we will provide ours. When they arrive we will ask for proof of identity. This is for the security and peace of mind of us all.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Sonho
The courtyard at the front of the house...
Guest bedroom...
Front of the farmhouse...
So many beautiful walks...
Little seaside fishing village...



















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 767564559411