Looking for help with garden and yard, and restoration of some beautiful woodland in rural Oregon, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Water falls and wildflowers, rock walls and rhododendrons -- help up restore and maintain a unique landscape, from natural to ornamental. Our home sits on a hill overlooking a bend in the North Umpqua River. We have about 6 acres of forest and 2 of gardens and meadows. A creek with small waterfalls cascades down the mountain through patches of wildflowers. Our gardens include nearly a hundred old rhododendrons and azaleas, giving us brilliant spring colors. Located just half a mile from the Wild & Scenic River corridor, trails for hiking and mountain biking are close by, and this river is fabled for fly fishing and white water kayaking.

    Susan is an artist whose main focus is plein air landscape painting. Her interests and career have included various aspects of arts management, traditional folk arts, graphic design, art instruction, and social services.

    Chuck retired from a long career in business and manufacturing, and currently is a community volunteer for a couple programs that serve senior citizens. Other interests include aviation, engineering, and history. Both of us have been involved with various environmental causes and progressive political issues and strive for a moderately simple, responsible lifestyle.

    We live 20 miles from the small city of Roseburg, Oregon, and a few miles from a small rural community.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rural life is a unique experience for many, and this is a good place to find out how it goes. Chuck loves to talk politics and keeps up with national and international issues. He has lived in both urban and rural areas in the US and Latin America, and has participated in many grass-roots environmental movements over the years. Susan's areas of expertise are primarily in the arts and traditional folk arts, plus literature. She has lived in Philadelphia and New York City, but most of her adult life has been spent in very rural areas and she could share stories of those experiences, This area has a wealth of wildflowers and interesting birds to study, and we could help make connections for those who would like to try things like rafting, rock-climbing, and so forth.

  • Help

    Help

    The projects with which we seek help range from simple yard & garden maintenance to possible landscape design or special projects like building a small footbridge. In general, work will vary depending on the seasons, such as pruning fruit trees in early spring or raking leaves and cleaning gutters in late fall, spitting and stacking firewood and working a vegetable garden in spring and summer.

    A major on-going project is to restore some beautiful woodland and creek-side habitat by clearing invasive plants and cutting brush. This is a priority right now.

    Most of this work just requires a bit of muscle and energy (more than we have), and an enjoyment of working outdoors in a beautiful place, while improving that place. Pruning fruit trees and ornamental shrubs can be learned quickly if one pays attention to directions. Dealing with fire wood and brush cutting can take a little more strength.

    Other skills are very welcome! For example, sometimes a bit of computer tech assistance comes in handy, and a stonemason or carpenter could lend a hand with other possible projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Susan: French, a little Spanish and German. Chuck: pretty good Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers would have their own studio apartment in our house, with its own outdoor entrance and view of the mountain across the way. Its It is about 600 square feet in size and comfortably furnished with a double bed, desk, table and chairs. and has a dorm-style kitchen and half bath. A full bath with shower, plus washer & dryer, are located upstairs. Of course our general living quarters are open for your use as well.

    We will provide groceries and meals. Some might prefer to use the studio kitchen for breakfast and/or snacks. We're completely flexible about that. We cook healthy food from scratch, serving lots of vegetables, fish, and occasionally meat. Local and organic products used as much as is possible. If you'd like to cook a favorite meal, we'd enjoy that also. I do not bake desserts much but will be happy to make sweets available if desired. The local ice cream is delicious and award-winning, and can be purchased at the little trading post that is only half a mile down the road.

    The space is comfortable for two adults. Children are welcome to stay in same room on an air mattress.

    We do not have TV service, but do have a television set for watching movies on DVD. Our internet service can be slow, but high-speed can be accessed at a very nice coffee shop about five miles away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Outdoor recreation is a major wonderful benefit of living here, with miles of trails starting just around the bend. Hiking, mountain-biking, rafting, kayaking and fishing are all popular. Rock-climbing is not too far away. Either Crater Lake or the Oregon Coast can be visited in a day trip, or enjoyed at more leisure over 2 days. The growing Umpqua Valley Wine district is another big attraction and people enjoy wine-tasting tours. Roseburg (22 miles away) also has an active live music scene, and several brew-pubs. The local arts center and a few galleries might also be of interest.

    It is difficult to get here by public transportation, as the closes train or bus stops are about 90 miles away, and hitch-hiking has not been easy for those who tried. A shuttle bus goes back and forth to Roseburg one day a week, but otherwise a car really is necessary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 -5 hours, 5 days/week


Host ref number: 734645157274