Barcelona and the beach! A house cleaner and house and teen sitter. Also a Painter, plasterer or carpenter needed!

Favourited 693 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate


  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days



  • Description


    Please, read all the info and check the calendar before applying for any position! This way, you and us will save time and energy! Thanks in advance and happy travels!

    UPDATE: July already booked. For August we are looking for a CLEANER AND/OR THERAPIST for at least a 2 weeks stay. At present basically looking for a native English or French speaking person that wants to help us cleaning our main home in Vilanova i la Geltrú and, if you are a psychologist and want to give us a hand with our older boy, that would also be great. Vicent and Marçal are staying at home while me and Arnau are away on holidays. They need help to keep the house clean and also to water the plants, kill the weeds and take care of the tomato, physalis and beans in the patio. The idea is cleaning for about 1h 40' every day and working on the garden for about 20 minutes a day. .

    We could also host a native English or French speaker that was a psychologist and wanted to give us a hand with our 17 year old boy, which is lovely at times and has troubles at other times to find his way in life and difficulties to control his anger. Our son does not want to go on holidays with us ,and we don't want to leave him alone at home, as he isn't responsible enough, so we are looking for someone that can home-sit our home for a couple of weeks in August while sharing some time with Marçal, helping around the house to keep it clean and maybe doing small repairs, depending on your abilities.

    Also a PAINTER would be welcome, and also a carpenter to install locks on several doors. Next autumn 2017 we will also need a bricklayer and a plaster and a plumber to check our central heating system. Please, only skilled people!!We are remodelling our home and a flat we own, so are looking for travellers that have any of the following abilities at a professional level, as we won't be able to help you: re-plastering old walls, painting, tiling, adjusting and fixing doors and locks, working with mortar and doing some masonry repairs in the façade of our home. In Autumn we also need help draining radiators, cleaning them by the inside and maybe replacing one of them or some draining pieces.

    We would swap 2 hours of honest work a day for a first class accommodation (no meals) in a sunny studio with your own kitchenette, bathroom and terrace, in a pedestrian street and close to everywhere! Barcelona's city centre is at just 45 minutes by a cheap train and the station is at 4 minutes walking from our home.

    We are a family of 4: Vicent (teaches German), Imma (psychologist) Marçal (17 years old, ancient avid reader ,now mostly on the cellphone!/gaming, trying to find his path in life) and Arnau (16 years old active and smiley boy fond of ski and in-line hockey, at present a lovely teenager with his ups and downs!).

    We love travelling and enjoy having travellers at home. We exchange our home when travelling, as we like living as locals, and we are fond of languages. We are open minded people that like enrolling in open air activities: going to the beach, hiking, skiing, reading and learning new skills.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help


    We need help from people who is really skilled to do repairs around the house. Please be honest, as we won't be able to help you! But it's obvious that you do not need to cover all these skills. Tell us what could you do for us and let's see if we can be a good match!

    HOUSE CLEANER you would be expected to help doing our seasonal cleaning all around the house and also work a bit on the patio.(de-cluttering and cleaning cupboards and preparing adds to sell items on wallapop, cleaning windows, etc)
    PSICOLOGIST OR THERAPIST USED TO DEAL WITH TEENAGERS to "babysitt" our oldest son in August.

    PLASTERER OR PAINTER : At present we need painting the walls and some windows in a flat in Barcelona.
    You could also help us sanding and painting some doors and walls in our main home. Please, do not apply if don't have experience in doing it, our home has ancient walls and woods, so it's a bit tricky! We also are open to host someone wanting to help painting our parents home in the lower Pyrenees, in Santa Maria de Besora, a pretty and peaceful small town at 1:30 hours from Barcelona.

    CARPENTER: We need adding locks to the doors in a flat in BCN, as we plan on renting rooms to travellers. At home, we need changing some doors.

    We need you to be a person with a good work's ethic, easy-going and NON SMOKER. We get on well with smiling, open-minded and honest people.

    You should also be independent, as we won't be able to entertain you in your free time, because we work and are usually very busy. You can stay with us from a week up to several weeks, so are flexible on this point, except if you want to stay by us "babhysitting" our teenager son Marçal,. As in that case, we need you to stay at least for a couple of weeks..

    If languages are important for you, take into account that we won't teach you Spanish, we will speak English/French with our sons when we host you at home (we do know Spanish perfectly, but always speak Catalan at home. So it's just too weird for us to speak in Spanish to each other. As we have hosted many English people, we find it easy to speak with our sons and hosts in English, or even in French, rather than doing it in Spanish).

    On the other hand, do not forget that, at present, we can only offer you accommodation, but no meals, in exchange for 2 hours of help a day (so 14h per week).

    IN case it's important for you, please, take into account that during working days the wifi is only switched on from around 15hours until around 22 hours, and at the weekends we switch it off at around 23hours.

    You will have plenty of time for you to go around and you can work 4 hours one day and none next day if you wish. But you will have to buy and cook your own food. Anyway, there's a kitchenette in your bedroom, a supermarket next door and a market really close by!

    Please, note that, if you are 2 people, you will share a 140x200cm bed and will have to help 2h/day each, unless one of you works 4h/day. The same applies for parents and kids.

    IMPORTANT: when applying TELL US what YOUR SKILLS are, the approximate DATES of your stay and HOW LONG would you like staying with us. If you are not really skilled to do any of the tasks we need help with, please do not contact us. We know that hotels are expensive, but we really need a skilled helper as we cannot do it ourselves. This is why we won't be able to host you if you are not. So, please, don't waist you time contacting us and don't force me to have to reject you application, it always makes me sad!

    We wish you safe, inspiring and happy travels... and a wonderful experience in Catalonia! :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Frech, Catalan, Spanish, Italian, German

  • Accommodation


    At present e can only houst you at our main home, in Vilanova i la Geltrú, not in the flat in Barcelona,

    In Vilanova i la Geltrú we offer you kind of a studio in the second floor of our home: it's a sunny double bedroom with your own inside bathroom, terrace and kitchenette with a vitro ceramic 2 hobs kitchen and fridge. There is also free wifi at our home during the day (We switch it off at night). Ours is a 1900's ancient house in a pedestrian area. In fact we are in a leafy street right in the centre of our city, Vilanova i la Geltrú, in an area full of shops and cafes. From our home, you have everything (shops, market, library, cinema, beach, train station....) at less than 10 minutes on foot.

    Vilanova is a safe and lively place close to Barcelona and Tarragona, two UNESCO world's heritage spots. We are next to Sitges, a white Mediterranean town, and the theme park of Port Aventura () is also nearby. From here you can go and visit, in daily trips, most of what our region has to offer: from the Pyrenees mountains to the Ebro river's delta, old ancient monasteries, such as Montserrat, Poblet or Santes Creus, medieval cities like Montblanc, the beautiful Costa Brava and the wine caves in Sant Sadurní d'Anoia, just to talk about a few places we are sure you will love.

    Trains are frequent, very cheap (2,8€ to Barcelona) and comfortable, and we live close to the railway station, so you can go around by public transportation. There are also buses that brings yo to many places, including the airport and Barcelona.

    For the beach lovers: our home is just at 7 minutes walk from a large beach and the weather here is sunny all year long and never really cold (even in the coldest days of winter, never under 10ºC during the day or 5ºC on the coldest nights). And if you like hiking, there is a lovely walking path by the sea and along the cliffs that links Vilanova and Sitges .
    Closest airports: Barcelona's airport and Reus airport. Many low cost companies land on them, as Ryannair, Easyjet, Vueling, Air Berlin, etc. Nearest train station: Vilanova i la Geltrú.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Maybe it's obvious to say it, but we are a family, not a hotel, so we are sure that you will act as you would do at home (so you will clean up after yourself, let your bedroom in perfect conditions the day of your departure, switch off lights and/or fan when not in the studio, etc).

    We enjoy having a coffee cup with our guests, but just don't have time to show them round Barcelona and/or provide entertainment. This is why we tend to get on better with couples or self sufficient singles. We can host individuals, couples and families with their son/daughter (we could add a kid's mattress in the studio if needed), but not three adults. You will have your own privacy and we expect to have ours, too.

    On the other hand, if you just want to have a vacation or a place for a stop over, we can also consider renting you the bedroom, but we would of course prefer someone willing to exchange his/her skills for a place you can consider your home!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 14 hours per week - food not provided


My Photo Album

Comfortable double bedroom in the studio in Vilanova i la Geltrú.
the sunny terrace of the studio facing the inner patios.
We have recently painted the studio walls in a blue and beige colour, so they are not green any more :-)
The coast on your way from Sitges to Vilanova, a lovely hicking trail by the Mediterranean sea!
Big shower in your bathroom.
La Pedrera, one of Gaudi's famous buildings in Barcelona! you are there in 40 minutes from home by a cheap train!
Sitges, a white Mediterranean town with many Art Nouveau villas. It is also a gay friendly place and the town has a beautiful, long board walking from Vilanova to Sitges, you can go walking along the coast!!
We are a family of 4: Vicent and Imma and two sons: Arnau and Marçal.
Lovely spots nearby: Sitges, Barcelona, Tarragona, Montserrat, Poblet, Vic, Torredembarra, Port Aventura, Delta de l'Ebre, .... you can go everywhere by train or bus.
Vilanova i la Geltru from the air!
Vilanova's beaches and the studio we offer you


Host ref number: 687653292599