Help us with our B&B in the Daintree Rainforest, Far North Queensland



Bisher 867 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

  • Beschreibung


    I am looking for someone (or a couple) who is capable, uses initiative and can work without supervision. You must be comfortable with performing most tasks on a micro farm from caring for animals and their habitat to garden and building maintenance. Someone for a few weeks would be preferred to just a week or so. Non smokers are encouraged to apply as the guest house is run as a non smoking retreat.

    We run a small, boutique B&B in a fabulous setting right in the Daintree Rainforest in Tropical Far North Queensland just north of the Daintree River Ferry. We are on a 5 acre site and are trying to grow our own fruit and veges organically. There are 24 guinea fowl, 20 chickens and 2 dogs.

    The majority of the work does not relate to the B&B side of things which I mainly do myself. The bulk of the work relates to maintaining the extensive gardens, vegetable garden and fruit trees, then cleaning around the buildings and the shed where the fowl are housed. Sometimes I also have special projects..... so there is an interesting and varied task list. Lots of time off to explore the rainforest and reef, go fishing, kayaking etc.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Arbeit


    Off season is mid Jan to Easter when there are few guests. Other months, when busy with guests, help with cleaning up afterwards, help servicing rooms and common areas.

    All through the year....Pruning trees and shrubs and mulching cuttings. Weeding and watering gardens and vege patches. Cutting grass with ride on and self propelled mowers. Maintenance of buildings. Cleaning of chicken coops, garage and shed. We all make the evening meals together.
    Gluten and lactose intolerant are catered for but Vegan and Vegetarian I find too difficult.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Live in the oldest rainforest in the world. Learn about keeping poultry. Learn about exotic fruits etc.

  • gesprochene Sprachen

    gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    A private room downstairs from the B&B which is the whole of the upper level. Use of outdoor guest areas and guest lounge. Meals are provided but everyone needs to assist in making them and cleaning up afterwards.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a little remote so if you are not a nature lover you may find it a bit quiet. Port Douglas is 3/4 hr drive away and closest shopping 30 minutes. I go into town for supplies twice per week. Can accompany me. Friends or a couple are most welcome. Some form of transport may be helpful but most find they get by well without it. This is a busy tourist area from Easter to December. Please see the tourist websites for things to see and do. Jan to March (possibly April as well) is the wet season.
    We would be flexible with off days. Close by is the Daintree River- croc cruises and fishing and Daintree Village. From the Manor to Cape Trib is 36Km and many walks, hikes, beaches, kayaking, rainforest, etc are along the way. Port Douglas is about 1 hr drive and about 50Km.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4 hours per day if you work well otherwise 5. I prefer 4 so that I can finish earlier as well.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 569644274278