Rural farm with lots of walks in Manawatu region, Pohangina valley, NZ


New Zealand


Favourited 359 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We live on a farm with views and surrounded in nature. We live on a road with 2 other houses. But only 15 minute drive to Ashhurst. The next space is from 5th August 2019.

    we are a family who have has had volunteers stay with us many times. We live on a 1600 hectare sheep and beef, deer and dairy farm in the lower north island. We are looking for someone or a couple to come and help us out. I usually get help mostly with childcare and house duties. Like dishes, some gardening or pruning of trees, load wheelbarrow with wood for the day, or sometimes baking with the girls......... even some days I am now sure of my plan.

    We are in a farm in Pohangina valley (Manawatu 30 minutes from palmerston north. It is possible to stay even if you do not have a car. I go into feilding quite often and sometimes palmerston north which I can collect you from. Just check with my weekly plan.

    Length of stay we prefer is 7 - 14 nights. In your first email let me know dates that might work for you.
    WE prefer workaways who are 21 years old or older but open to all people that are available.

    If you do have a strength like using a sewing machine or building or something else we maybe able to learn from each other. While i have workaway people staying one job i do get them to do is all the dishes. Rachel will be at home with kids most of the time and you can help to. The busiest time of day for me is 4-6pm. Sometimes you may take the girls for a bike ride or do craft with the girls or gardening. Rachel usually makes dinner and sometimes we do a meal together.
    Other things might be helping hang out washing or doing art and craft with girls. I usually get help in the afternoon and help with after school and once dinner dishes are done- you are all done. We live not far from school distance but sometimes you are driving through sheep or things that happen on farms. Rachel works in a busy stock sale yards which can be a bit like a traffic controller at Heathrow airport when there is 25,000 lambs that need to be put in pens.

    Rachel works a a stock sale yards a few days a week. The public can go and see one of new Zealand's largest sale yards. During July, August, Sepetmber and October I work 2 days a week. During summer I work more.
    We shear sheep twice a year on the farm. I also work a few hours as a gardener, I fit it in when I can.

    We are always able to take last minute workaways. As soon as tommorow in some cases. Sometimes plans end up changing and a 3 week stay can get changed to two weeks for example. So you could ask as sometimes travel plans change. Please email your request of which month you want to come and i can let you know what is free. First in first served. Single travellers or couples welcome.

    We live in the manawatu region. Famous for scenery, walks and many photo opportunitys nearby. I have a bike that you can use. It is allright just does not have a huge amount of suspension.

    I like to learn from you too. If you have a talent or hobby maybe you could teach me something new.

    We live in a large warm modern home that is high above the valley so the views are amazing. We can see mount Taranaki and Mount Ruahapuhu.

    We have two adventourous girls that like to give things a try. They sleep well at night too. They are almost 7 years old and just turned 5 years old (April 2019)

    We have 5 working sheep dogs. They all live outside in kennels. We have one cat. we have 6 hens who produce eggs daily.

    We do live in the country. It is manageable to stay with us without a car. You would just catch rides with us. We go to town about 3 times a week. It is a advantage if you have your own car then you have more freedom when you have time off.

    My husband Ben works on the farm. There is some fun times like shearing or yard work and watching the dogs work. September and October there will be thousands of lambs running around. In this farm there is plenty of hills and some nice patches of bush. It is quite easy to go for a walk on a loop from 30 minutes to a few hours. Loads of amazing photo opportunities.

    We have made lifetime friends with some of the lovely people we have met through this programme. We want you to come and experience New Zealand family life. See all the things that make where we live special. Like for our oldest she goes to school with no uniform and she is 6 years old but the school kids range from 5 -12 and at times they are all playing on the same thing. Like having teams sliding down the mud slide!

    If I am being completely honest we are looking for someone we can talk and laugh with. Someone to share family experiences with. In the past we have had a few people stay that in their spare time they go into their room for most of the day and shut the door. Or they sit at the dining table for 10 hours looking into their laptop. So we ask that you interact with our family as we want to learn and share experience with you too. Your spare time is yours to do with what you want but just if you sit down with us a couple of times a day and have a cup of tea and a chat is great. Vegeterians are welcome to stay but please remember to respect that we are farmers and this is how we earn our money. I have had vegetarians stay for 3 weeks and been really happy with the food we serve. We take care of our animals the best we can.

    If you have an allergy please let me know.

    You are welcome to use our internet. You can skype home or friends we just ask that you do not do it for hours a day as we do have a limit on how much internet data we have. If you have internet in town you will receive almost unlimited but with our rural broadband.

    We have a big vegetable garden which needs new vegetables planted or weeded sometimes. We also have a large garden with mostly trees, shrubs and a few flowers so does not require much work.

    Also English level needs to be good enough for you to be able to understand a couple of young girls talking to you lots. They usually are asking for a hot drink or to go to the bathroom. Just having good enough English that they can understand what you are saying and you know what they need.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life on how farmers live. We care for our animals so much. Hope you will learn the kiwi ingueniuty. Rachel can teach you how to cook some of my favourite dishes for dinner. There is a lot to learn by just watching the dogs muster the sheep. What is the life cycle of a lamb? How old do they live for? There are many questions.

    Why do you need to shear a sheep? The main reason is for animal health. Some are shorn twice a year. They get really hot during summer. In summer is the worst time for flies. Flies are attracted to the sheeps rear end and can cause issues if not treated correctly. The farmer also gets an income for wool although the price in 2017 and early 2018 is pretty poor. And you do not want really long wool on the sheep before they give birth in Spring time. They can get cast (get a itchy back and start scratching their back and never be able to get up again and potentially die if the farmer does not observe them closely. The second major factor is when you take the wool off the sheep they are cold therefore eat more grass and grow bigger faster. This means they can go to market and either sold in NZ, Europe or America.

  • Help


    Looking for a relaxed friendly person or couple to help out with childcare. We always feed you very well. Being farmers we eat mostly lamb and beef but at times have venesion or pork. Vegetarians are welcome. We like vegetables and get them once a week. In out pantry we always have eggs, beans, chickpeas, loads of veges that have longer shelf life like potatoes, pumpkin, kumara and things like that. Many vegeterians have been really happy with what food they get. Some even take away the salad recipes. My salad recipes do not often have lettuce I usually roast vegetables and put with isralei cous cous and a onion jam dressing is one example. We are farmers so we do eat meat from our farm 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom in our farm house. It has a very comfortable queen size bed. It has loads of books and magazines to read.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Tui brewery, te apiti wind farm, lavender farm a cheese making creamery very close to farm, fielding sheep sale yours (nz largest sheep sale tour is fridays) DOC walks, ashhurst tavern, totara reserve regional park.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A view from the new farm house. Late March 2018. Same view you get from the kitchen and a few bedrooms

Host ref number: 369725219794