Komm und hilf uns auf dem Land in Bulgarien

aktualisiert
Country

Bulgarien

Bisher 423 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    55  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.03.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    SPRING PROJECTS IN VODITSA

    Before we get into the spring projects, I could really do with some help sorting, moving things and generally preparing for next month's work. If you're available anytime now for just a few days, I'd really appreciate the help.

    One of the best thing about having volunteers is that we can make a huge difference when there's a group of people and we can make one of our transformations happen! 2018 was brilliant and we had some wonderful volunteers who helped us to make big changes. I'm eager to do some major landscaping this year - this is the kind of thing we can only do in the spring and I'm looking for some people who can help me.

    The garden here is on three levels and I have a wonderful plan to make a terraced rose garden and new vegetable area with raised beds. It's ambitious but i've been thinking about it for a couple of years now. I think I've figured out the engineering (retaining terraces) and how to integrate my grey water system into it now I just need to shape it. We'll be ploughing, digging, moving earth and big stones, putting in trellises, seats and interesting artifacts out of stuff we have lying around....and making such a wonderful transformation, you'll definitely need before and after shots. I'd like to do this project in April so if you feel like waking up from the winter with a blast of physical exercise, get in touch.

    We're also going to be doing more mud work. We're finishing the transformation of the middle barn with a finish plaster (after we go and dig it up) and hopefully some decorative stuff, depending on who is here. If you're interested in mud this will be fun and you might have something creative to add,

    Hopefully we're getting a septic tank in here in the spring so the middle bit of the garden can finally get a new life. This is part of the landscaping and I also want to build an additional toilet and a outside washing area - I'm aiming to do most of this with materials I have here and mud. This will probably be a mud project for the autumn.

    Our new Therapy Room didn't quite get finished last year - it needs some interior design.

    There's also all the day to day seasonal stuff. Planting and pruning etc. (there's a huge amount of stuff and work disguised as these two short sentences!)


    Just to clarify, 'we' is Elly, Dancho and Kathy (Elly's mother). However, Elly and Dancho are travelling at the moment, so Kathy and the cats are left in charge.

    These are a few of the things that I know we'll be doing in 2019......there will be more! We have new ideas and new ways of doing things all the time....and sometimes we make a new job to suit someone's skills. We would be delighted to have you join our long list of volunteers who've been to Voditsa. Everything you do will be appreciated and remembered and we look forward to meeting you and knowing a little about you. And I'd like to say a great big thanks to everyone who has helped us in the past. We could never have done all of things that we have over the past 12 years without the help of all you lovely people from all over the world. 2018 was about getting the basics of our big new project, started ...now I have a plan for Phase 2

    If you're interested, first please read the rest of this profile then get in touch with dates. If you're serious about connecting with us or any host, a piece of advice is, don't send me a short, bland message that has been copied and pasted and doesn't even have my name in it. Thanks.

    Good luck with everything and we hope to meet you

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Life goes on in Voditsa much as it always has done - farming, growing, wood things, preserving.... just living in an Eastern European village. But development in the rest of the world bring inevitable issues like depopulation - there aren't really enough people in the villages. I guess this is a unique period of time when you get to experience the end of an era... who knows what the village will be like in 50years but right now you can get a taste of traditional life here including dancing and singing with the pensioner's club if you want.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We ask for 25 hours of help a week, in exchange for food and accommodation. We have 2 days off, usually Friday and Saturday - for volunteers to spend how they please, relaxing in the volunteer house or going of to explore the wider area. There are a few towns/cities which are 1-2 hours away and quite do-able in a weekend.

    It's great when people are interested in cooking - we always try to share the food tasks so that I dont get stuck in the kitchen all day.

    Help varies throughout the year - some of the regular tasks are:
    - Gardening - sowing, planting, weeding, harvesting.
    - Wood - collecting, chopping, stacking.
    - General - fence building, garden reclaim, some landscaping and, general maintenance and improvements.
    - Feeding and caring for the animals

    (Maybe you could mention the word 'scrabble' in your message to us so we know you've read the profile.)

    Animals - only cats at the moment

    We'll find jobs for you in relation to your skills and we'll endeavor to help you to learn new skills.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Bulgarian

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The project is in the centre of Voditsa and this is where most of our work is. The apartment sleeps up to 6 people with hot showers and a wood stove.

    We eat most vegetarian, but some meals may have meat or be vegan. We are quite adaptable - just ask.

    We would prefer volunteers for 3-5 weeks minimum - to give us all time to get into things and would think about having people longer term. All thing are negotiable though - so just ask.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a lovely but underpopulated little village in one of the poorest countries in Europe......but dont be fooled by that statistic - Bulgarian culture is alive and well and thriving. If you spend time with us, you'll meet people who have lived through many big political changes....communism, democracy, the EU.....yet the need to grow food and survive the winter here are things that have happened every year, regardless of the current regime.

    People are practical, friendly and relaxed....and often amused at the idea that foreigners want to come and live here. If you express an interest, people will happily show you more of their lives. You could also spend some time at the Pensioner's Club in the village - these people are great and a wealth of knowledge.

    Besides that, there isn't really a vibrant night life here but there are some lovely walks and we're only a couple of hours from the Black Sea or the Danube. There are no main tourist spots around here but if you're reading this, then you're not a tourist! Spending time in this village will probably become a highlight of your trip and we are happy to be able to share our life and experience with you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours /5 days

The new porch is nearly finished - could do with some mosaic...
Tim, in the forest with Dancho his father and the rest of the team
Cris and Genya - chopping and laughing
Making yummy Lutinitza
Mud book shelves and sofa bed
Digging up potatoes
The garden in the spring

































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 333625114737