Help our family build a straw bale house in an eco-village in beautiful west Wales

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 265 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    312

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are part of a small ecovillage in west Wales. One of four plots on 21 acres of mixed pasture & woodland, all in various stages of building ecological houses. Our family is Wyc and Silvia with children Willow (5) and River (3), and Peggy, a friendly dog.

    When not building the house, Wyc works three days a week as a teacher of 3D animation and games design. Silvia was a yoga teacher and is now a full time mum. We both have a background in meditation, yoga and similar practice but are currently in a period of practical activity, hence the building. We don't have much time to sit in a beautiful forest of bluebells, contemplating reality. But there is one here, just in case we do!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are part of a cultural movement in Wales towards sustainability, transforming our lives to live in a way our planet can survive, and setting an example of how it can be done while living the 'good life'. Wales actually has a special kind of planning permission to help make this happen. There are numerous other similar settlements in the area and some good social events going on.

    Anyone interested in natural building and sustainability will benefit here as there are four plots in various stages of developing off-grid dwellings and ecological land projects, and lots of opportunity to work with and socialize with the people who know all about it.

    Our position in South West Wales is also excellent for tourism- Pembrokeshire is famous for having some of the most spectacular beaches in Europe, and we are surrounded by beautiful countryside and the Pembrokeshire national park.

    We live next door to other Workaway hosts- Swn y Coed and Chris & Erica

  • Help

    Help

    The main work for our eco-project here is building our straw bale house, which is largely finished on the outside, but with lots to do on the inside. We also have to develop our site and land based business.

    We need one or two people or couples who are willing and able to to help out, in two ways:

    Firstly, by getting involved (under guidance) in the next stages of building our eco-home, which will involve basic carpentry with cordless power tools. There will also be some maintenance of the land, tree planting, building structures, polytunnel, scything, and so on.

    Secondly in supporting Silvia with our two young children (especially when Wyc is away working) and taking a bit of pressure off her. That involves generally playing, entertaining and distracting them, and occasionally helping with chores.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️CURRENT WORK*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    The near future involves insulating the roof, building a staircase, plastering the internal walls with clay, plumbing, building the kitchen & bathroom. There is also a forest garden to plant, herb beds to create, vegetables to look after. Chickens and sheep to care for.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 3x5m log cabin and a touring caravan for guests, both with wood burning stove. We live in a static caravan with hot water and shower available. The polytunnel is an additional social area with kitchen and tables during warmer months.
    When we have more volunteers on site and the season is warm enough, we can also offer a large Bell Tent.
    We use a composting toilet. Electricity is solar powered and abundant outside the perpetual darkness of winter. Amazingly, we can now also offer the use of a washing machine and refrigeration (!). We have wireless broadband Internet.
    Food is provided when you're on site. We may need you to help with cooking, to serve yourself breakfast, and to take turns washing up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're about 3 miles from the nearest town with train station and main roads that go to all the tourist destinations. Our nearest beach is Amroth (10miles), which has a sunken ancient forest and beautiful rocks and cliffs. 7 miles north is Lammas, the well known eco-village that started the movement over here. They host tours in summer and numerous social events, courses and workshops.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, five days a week, negotiable.

























Host ref number: 241812588791