Come, Help, Enjoy & Learn in our farm in Central Pacific coast in Costa Rica

updated
Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    389

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️LAST TIME UPDATE*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Project started phase 2 of building stage, setting up a farm space and a refuge for visitants, starting in February 1st to February 28st*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️WELCOME FARMERS IN THIS DATES ALSO*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    This farm is a perfect choice for those who love nature and wants to experiment what is life in the Central Pacific Range of mountains descending from Monteverde (widely appreciated for its biodiversity) to the coast.
    There are beautiful landscapes in the property, where you can see all the Pacific coastline (From Golfo de Nicoya to Caldera´s Port, including Puntarenas province and surrounding islands, Caballo, San Lucas, Pájaros, Chira and Venado). A great place to practice yoga, meditation or introspection, as we have no neighbours or people living in this land (nearest neighbour is 2 km away).
    Our project is about an ecological farm at the beginning of its construction, we are in reforestation tasks, planting trees from the same area, on land previously used for livestock.
    Our goal is to turn this land into a green forest, which also contains spaces to have a friendly-environment farm and as far as possible do not use chemical agents in the process when obtaining food from this land and generate responsible tourism in this zone in the future.
    At this moment it is only possible to stay at the farm if you have a tent (we have just started the construction stage of facilities such as a cabin or a permanent place).
    There is no cable, tv, electricity or even water (everyone must bring his/her water for consumption, water is absolutely free, you can bring it from the basecamp or try a walk to the nearest river, inside the property, 15 minutes walking). I am actually working in a solution to charge any device using a USB port with solar/wind energy, for a while you need to bring your own USB battery.
    Cellphone network is available for Kolbi provider, so you can have data connection and internet in this way, for your consideration. Also, I recommend you to bring one or two USB power cells, in this way you can have a camera or phone with you anytime as this is the homeland for a lot of insects, birds, mammals and anphibeos and you can see them anytime in your stay, so be prepared!
    Here, we have multicolour butterflies, bees, dragonflies, fireflies, grasshopper, and many other insects. From here you can see also toucans and you can hear the monkeys (they are the natural alarm in the mornings).
    If you are a lucky person, you can see a wonderful sunset from there (especially at the beginning of summer, from December to February).
    Also, my parents live in the nearest village (Sardinal, 7 km) to the project, so we have there a basecamp, any help you would need, you can ask in this place, my parents don´t speak English (My mother understand) so please be advised to practice your Spanish ;).
    --

    Nuestro proyecto trata sobre una finca ecológica en la etapa inicial de su contrucción, nos encontramos en tareas de reforestación, sembrando árboles propios de la zona en un terreno que anteriormente fue utilizado para la ganadería, nuestro objetivo es convertirlo en un bosque, que también contenga espacios para tener una granja amigable con el ambiente y en la medida de las posibilidades no utilice agentes químicos en el proceso de obtener alimentos de la tierra.
    De momento sólo es posible quedarse en la finca si cuentas con tienda de campaña ya que apenas estamos iniciando la etapa de contrucción de las facilidades cómo una cabaña o un lugar permanente para habitar en el proyecto.
    Mis padres viven en el pueblo cercano al lugar (7 km del sitio) donde tenemos una base de operaciones, este será el lugar para cualquier ayuda que puedas necesitar. Mis padres no hablan inglés, aunque mi madre lo entiende, así que prepárate a practicar tu español ;).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although you will collaborate at the farm, you can also stay at the town in your free time, a beautiful rural village in the province of Puntarenas, central Pacific coast, where you can take a walk, go out to find some fruits in the trees, go fishing, go for a swim in the river, go to the beach (it's half hour by car), visit some of the places at night (there are three bar-restaurants in the town) and make local friends, the people are very friendly and like to see people from other countries :)

    --
    Aunque colaborativas en la granja, puedes también quedarte en tu tiempo libre en el pueblo, un bello pueblito rural del país (en la provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Pacífico central) donde puedes hacer una caminata por el pueblo, salir a buscar frutas en los árboles, ir de pesca, ir a nadar al río, ir a la playa (está a media hora en auto), visitar los lugares de fiesta por las noches (hay tres bar-restaurante en el pueblo) y hacer amigos locales, la gente es muy amigable y les gusta ver gente de otras nacionalidades :)

  • Help

    Help

    The help to be provided would be for any of the following activities:

    - Tree sowing.
    - Creation of spaces for an eco-sustainable farm.
    - Building some infrastructure necessary for the development of the project.
    - Food collection (it´s seasonal, from August to November) for example corn and/or beans.
    - Repair fences or boundaries of the farm.
    - Other tasks related to the previous ones ;)
    --
    La ayuda a prestar sería para cualquiera de las siguientes actividades:

    - Siembra de árboles.
    - Creación de espacios para una huerta eco-sostenible.
    - Recolección de alimentos (si es temporada, de agosto a noviembre) por ejemplo maíz y/o frijoles.
    - Reparación de cercas o linderos de la finca.
    - Otras labores relacionadas con las anteriores ;)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Español- Inglés

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The lodging to offer consists of a space for a tent in the project, a large property with enough space to rest comfortably, also there is a wood deck where you can sleep with a sleeping bag while you enjoy the wonderful sky with all its magnificent stars and constellations (in summertime). We want to share with you at least one meal a day (Breakfast and/or Lunch) during workdays. Typical food prepared in a wood-stove with all the original taste from Costa Rica and wrapped in banana tree leaves as tradition dictated.
    In the project, there is enough space for many tents, there is a camping zone, an eco-bathroom, a platform to watch the landscape in front of the property that also works to enjoy the sunset (marvellous experience). We are working in designing a facility (a refuge) for those collaborators who are coming in near future.

    Requirement for ALL VISITANTS:
    - A tent

    Additional recommendations:
    - A couple of external USB power cells to charge your devices.
    - LED portable lights for the night.
    - A gas stove.
    - Clothes for cold and hot weather.


    Solutions in progress:

    (I am working on it, to be ready on February-March)
    - A USB port to charge any device (solar/wind powered)
    - LED Lights (solar powered)
    - Implementation of solar and wind energy.
    - Gas stove.

    El alojamiento a brindar consiste en un espacio para tiendas de campaña en el proyecto, una amplia propiedad con espacio suficiente para descansar cómodo. En la propiedad hay también construida una plataforma de madera donde puedes quedarte con una bolsa para dormir y mirar el espectacular cielo lleno de estrellas y constelaciones en época de verano.
    Queremos compartir contigo una comida diaria (desayuno/almuerzo) durante los días que trabajas, en el pueblo hay supermercados, donde puedes abastecerte de todos los productos que puedas requerir. Comida típica de la zona preparada según la tradición de la zona, en cocina de leña y envuelta en hoja de plátano, según lo dicta la tradición.
    En el proyecto hay una zona de camping, un eco-sanitario y una plataforma de madera para disfrutar los atardeceres. Estamos trabajando en el diseño de un refugio para aquellos colaboradores que nos visiten en un futuro cercano.

    Requisito para TODO VISITANTE:
    - Una tienda de campaña

    Recomendadiones adicionales:
    - Un par de baterías externas USB para cargar tus dispositivos.
    - Luces LED portátiles para la noche.
    - Cocina de gas.
    - Ropa para frío y calor

    Soluciones en progreso, en las cuales estoy trabajando para resolver en Febrero-Marzo:
    - Puerto USB para cargar cualquier dispositivo (energía solar/eólica)
    - Luces LED (energía solar)
    - Implementaciones de energía solar y eólica

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The weather is hot in summer (February-June / July), on average about 28 degrees C, in winter (July / August-January) it rains a lot and it's the perfect season to plant trees :)

    El clima es caliente en verano (Febrero-Junio/Julio), de media unos 28 grados C, en invierno (Julio/Agosto-Enero) llueve bastante y es la temporada perfecta para realizar la siembra de árboles :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 241233833437