Support our young community with this recently founded ecovillage in Seewald, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The Akademie für angewandtes gutes Leben (lit. 'academy of applied good life') or shortly "the academy" - as we refer to it - is a young community about to found an ecovillage.

    Here, not far from Freudenstadt, we are living in a recently founded eco village to evaluate how many of our dreams of a good life for everybody could become reality.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a tiny and peaceful village, roundabout 20min from a the town of Freudenstadt.

    As young people living in a GEN-accredited community, we have great soft skills to share, like for example transparent communication / radical honesty and non-violent communication practices.
    Thats your opportunity to cultivate mature communication, like talking about emotions, in a caring and save environment.

    We are highly motivated to share our recipes from India, Italy and not at least those sustainable seasonal and regional german ones with you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers especially from:
    17 - 26th June, 19 - 28th July with a little festival on the last weekend.

    Here are some areas where we could need your hand, in exchange for an extraordinary cultural experience:

    A) Akademiebtrieb: Once in a while we are hosting non-profit workshops or little festivals, which always could need some support in the background: e.g. cooking some tea for the upcoming break etc.

    B) "Bring uns was bei!" / skillsharing courses: If you have a skill to share - no matter if social soft skills or concrete handicrafts -, that might be useful for a good life, we could invite some students and manage the surroundings together.

    C) carpentry: You enjoy working with wood? Feel free to show us how furniture in your hometown would be build - we could bring you in touch with the local sawmill and have some cross-cultural fun in creating new racks or so.
    Besides: There's always a chance to prepare some firewood for the next communal bonfire or the cold winter.

    D) deal with the mess: tidy up and clean up the shared facilities, that get battered in everyday grind.

    E) educate yourself and others: Find out what it takes to solve a common problem, take your time, document and share your learning path and findings.

    G) green gardening: we are about to create a little perma culture or rather market garden in our backyard and are always looking for people with a green thumb.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, spanish,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room, equipped with a bed, chair and everything else you need for a good experience.

    We all share some bathrooms and all the food in the kitchen. Our groceries are mostly organic, coming from regional farmers and sustainable sources. If you have special (food) needs, please let us know - yet we found a way to suit everyone from onion-intolerant to meatman. ;o)
    Only keep in mind, that we are aming for a sustainable way of life in all areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is a beautiful forest and a little lake, the Nagoldtalsperre nearby.


    Our second volunteer told us, that it's quite uncommon, so here - explicit warning ;-) :
    We currently are a small group of native german speaking students and usually don't host more than two volunteers, to keep and sustain our cosy family-atmosphere.
    So don't expect a group of volunteers, when you arrive. (Exception: You could write us in your application that you prefer to share a room with another volunteer, that prefers to speak english. Then we'll try this and accept one more request than usually.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 149392828474