Isabel

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Canada, China, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Ireland, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Tibet, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/08/2016 - 30/08/2016


  • Description

    Dear host,

    thank you for taking a look at my profile!

    First of all, I would like to introduce myself to you and give you an overview of my working experience and travels abroad so far:
    I grew up in the country side and since my father has a little shop at a holiday spot in southern Bavaria called Ruhpolding, I helped him selling souvenirs, stationery and toys during my teenage years. My favourite task was to decorate the shop windows for Halloween which included starting to craft tombstones, coffins and other creepy decoration weeks in advance :-)

    During school time I did two long internships at an old people's home and a kindergarten because my main subjects were psychology and pedagogy.
    By the way I'm an aunt of four boys and two girls, which means that I also have experience in looking after kids. These internships gave me the opportunity to see life from different perspectives and to bond with people of all ages.

    Since I love to go abroad and experience other lifestyles, I did two English courses, one in Dublin and another one in Edinburgh in my early twenties. I spent a few weeks with local families and met many lovely people from different kind of backgrounds and nationalities at the language school.

    I quickly recognized that being just a tourist isn't for me and makes it hard to gain real insights into the culture of a country, it's people and their everyday life.
    I decided that the best way of doing that is through living AND working with locals.
    After doing my A levels I spent two months in central London working as a receptionist at St. Athans Hotel. My tasks also included serving breakfast, washing dishes, cleaning rooms etc. I met and worked with lots of nice and inspiring people from countries like India, Russia, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Italy. It was a great opportunity to be part of the hotel staff and to make friends with so many wonderful colleagues. Exploring London and it's theaters, museums and architecture was one of the most awesome experiences of my life.

    In 2010 I moved to the city of Nürnberg, Bavaria to study Art History and English Studies. After finishing my bachelor's degree of arts, I moved to Kiel in the northern part of Germany in order to do a master's degree in business administration.

    My workaway experience so far:
    In April 2011 I spent three weeks in Norway working on an organic farm. Mucking out, gardening and helping sheep giving birth were among my tasks. It made me realize how important and fulfilling it is to stay connected with nature. This was just the extreme opposite of working at a London hotel and living in a city and therefore an invaluable and intensive experience.

    In April 2012 I spent three weeks at Lagan Backpackers in Belfast, Northern Ireland. My main tasks were cooking breakfast and cleaning the rooms. Unforgettable memories were created due to Belfast's traditional music scene with it's many cosy pubs and warm-hearted locals.

    Currently, I'm working at an organic store as shop assistant. I just love organic products and the philosophy and people behind it. Therefore my goal is to work in the marketing department of an organic company after graduating because I want to support this sustainable movement to make it consumer's first choice in the future :-)

    When it comes to my personality, I would describe myself as nature loving, spiritual, sensitive, passionate and in general very eager to learn. Practicing yoga on a daily basis, meditation and discovering natural healing methods is a wonderful way for me to keep centered and everything in perspective.
    I'm someone who does her best no matter what kind of new area or challenging work it is!

    Hopefully, this overview helps you to estimate if I'm suitable for the job you're offering and a positive addition to your team.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    - being able to deal with people of different age, nationality and personality
    - keeping organized at a busy workplace
    - being understanding, helpful and patient with tourists, customers etc.
    - taking care of children, playing with them, teaching them things
    - baking and cooking

    - I'm also pretty fit because I do lots of sport several times a week (lifting, martial arts, yoga).
    Therefore you can give me tasks including physical labor like farm work, cleaning etc.
    - I can deal with both, staying at a very remote place in the countryside and in the middle of a busy capital

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I hope you've got the information about my experience and skills you need.
    If something is missing, please let me know and I'll answer you're questions.


    I'm looking forward to hearing from you!

    In the meanwhile I wish you lots of success for your business or any enterprises you're planning to do.


    Lots of love,

    Isabel

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm vegan

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

My Photo Album

Click images to enlarge

On a day trip during my 2nd workaway experience in Belfast, 2012.
At the harbour in Gothenburg, June 2016.
Sightseeing in Berlin on a wonderful and sunny day!
Enjoying Sans Souci
1st workaway experience in Norway. Cute Norwegian lambs :D

Some of our top hosts