Sarah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/05/2019 - 05/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Workaway has been a life saver, I will forever be grateful for the creation and discovery of it. Not only does is cut travel costs incredibly, but also provides a much more thorough cultural experience and even if I had the funds to travel without Workaway, I'd still volunteer. The experiences I've had so far can only encourage me to create more. I've had a variety of volunteer jobs, but have loved working at hostels. The work is rewarding and laid back, and really gives you the opportunity to meet people and experience the true parts of a culture. I liked being surrounded by people with the same mindset, and hope to make new memories across the world. I live in Vieques, Puerto Rico. I am very adventurous and spontaneous and can't wait to have a life of adventure. I love to learn new things and educate myself. I love all kinds of animals(probably too much), so if there are any pets around, I'd be more than willing to help. My most notable attribute is calmness honestly. I don't have time for arguments or drama, I'd rather leave the room and pet a dog. I have little interest in exaggerated emotion and spend a lot time evaluating myself and others. It's simple for me to understand people and accommodate my behavior accordingly to avoid pointless squabbles. As a volunteer, I think respect is the most important attribute. I respect my hosts for offering me the opportunity of adventure and hope the respect is mutual. I'm not a fan of wasting time, especially on foolishness. I love life's oddities and I jump on anything remotely unique or strange, with the desire to have a range of experiences. I think humor is just about the best part of life, and sarcasm is a second language. I'm very chill and calm, I love a good conversation and the odd things life has to offer. I'm open to hearing everything because I never know what I may learn from it. I'm a child of God and hope that my actions portray themselves so. I prefer the outdoors and uncommon experiences. I'm interested in just about everything. I get excited about simple things and appreciate every day, it's really the people that make an experience and I hope I'm one to contribute. I love heights, I love taking risks and not knowing what life will throw my way. I make an effort to be responsible and reliable, and hope that, through Workaway, I can become a better person. I'd love to hear from hosts and give some different opportunities a shot, so don't hesitate to contact me. Thanks and happy traveling.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Fluent in English and can teach it, basic Spanish and am eager to improve it. Can drive a manual transmission. I know some basics when it comes to cars like tune ups and I'm a suitable assistant on bigger jobs. Good with computers. Good with marketing and advertising. Great with people and animals. Basic maintenance skills, as well as gardening. Can cook. Can write well, teach, fish, ride a horse, and willing to learn anything and everything else. I worked as a night kayaking tour guide and am now on the business side of said tour company, managing employees and the company itself. I worked as a waitress for 3 years, a corporate environment for 2 years, retail for 4 months and have always been in animal care.

    I am eager to travel anywhere in the world, and look forward to hearing from hosts!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Sarah: American

  • What else ...

    All I need is coffee(to keep me sane). Also, I love all animals so working with them would be spectacular.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My sweet fat dog, Izzy, and I during one of our hikes!
My little brother and I at Big Bend National Park

Feedback