Louise

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Japan, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/11/2018 - 30/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    237

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am looking to travel and work/volunteer through workaway over a period of 12 months from November 2018 onwards, to Tasmania for two months, then onto various countries. I plan on doing workaway in each country - Japan (Jan - Feb 2019) Iceland (March), Denmark (March - April), United States (late April) and Canada (May - June). I am eager to volunteer and earn my way. Personally, I want to spend some time living in these beautiful countries, to learn about the culture, language, food, lifestyles and also to explore (in my free time).
    I try to push myself to try and learn new things, as I think that's the best way to grow and be happy as a person. As a result of this, I have climbed the Sydney Harbour Bridge, gone canyoning and white water rafting, taken different cooking classes, learned taiko and recently I joined a dance group in my city that performed 6 shows at the local Festival, which was a challenging and rewarding experience.
    I also love board games and karaoke!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a physically active person, I run and dance regularly, and when I get the opportunity, I'll play a game of soccer or go iceskating.

    I cook and bake and knit (very basically). I especially love cooking (and eating) Japanese food, and over the past 12 months, I have begun learning to bake - I make some really yummy cookies, and I learned how to bake French fruit tarts while in Montreal last year!

    I like learning new things and am quite happy to help with various tasks around the house and spend time with kids.

    I currently work in a customer service/administration job for the Northern Territory Government, so I am a pretty organised and motivated person, I'm independent and I enjoy problem solving. I have also worked in retail previously, and from July 2014 - July 2015, I spent a year in Japan with the JET Programme teaching English to elementary school students in Miyazaki. This taught me to be very adaptable, improve my communication skills and be independent, as I wrote and conducted lesson plans on my own.

    As a result of living overseas and studying, I can speak a few languages to varying degrees of proficiency - I studied Japanese at University, which helped when I lived there, and I also studied Indonesian and French.

    I value compassion, intelligence and humour, and I try to emulate these traits in life.

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Japanese, a little French and a little Indonesian.

  • Age

    37

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback