Kada

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Malaysia, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2016 - 28/07/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    956


  • Description

    Hi! I am Kada from California, USA.
    I have just finished a college degree in social work and am on a gap year before starting a masters program next May. I took some time off of school to work for a wilderness therapy program where I worked with "at-risk" youth doing therapy and camping and then worked full time while going to school part time so I am older than a typical college graduate (27 years old.)
    I just finished a yoga teacher training in Dharamasala, India and plan to use the rest of this year off to travel and learn all I can about other cultures and walks of life and practicing/teaching yoga. I believe strongly in social justice and think the more I learn about other people the more helpful I can be in the future. I love traveling, meeting new people and being outside. Although I enjoy traveling, I find that I feel better if I have a purpose and connection, this is why I want to do workaway. I want to be a part of something, be useful, and get to know new places.
    I do not have a lot of experience gardening/farming/cooking, but I am a quick learner and love a challenge. I am easy going, hard working, and an all together happy person.
    Please contact me with any questions!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Yoga: I have been practicing for about 5 years and just finished a yoga teacher training in Dharamasala, India.

    Childcare: I am great at working with children! I taught wilderness therapy where I worked with ages 10-17 years for 3 years, I have taught preschool, and worked for the Boys and girls club (an after school program) for 3 years.

    Customer service: I am also great with customer service. I worked as a server/waitress for over 3 years. I waited tables part time at a diner that was fast pace and very busy and part time at an upscale, more expensive restaurant and tequila bar so I am able to easily adapt to either atmosphere. The diner is holding my job for me so I will continue working there during graduate school when I return to the USA.

    Social work: I have a college degree in social work and have set up a couple programs working for social justice so social justice and social policy work is what I love most!

  • Languages spoken

    english, some spanish

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    usa

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

My Photo Album

Click images to enlarge

Some of our top hosts