jo

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Greece, Italy, Laos, Malta, Spain, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    268

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Jo I have been travelling since June last year and was mainly based in the Balkans. My first work away was in a hostel on the island of Brac in Croatia. I then did two more workaways in Slovenia, worked in Park Istria helping the local community with all sorts of tasks such as picking potatoes, weeding, clearing land, picking fruit to also helping in schools and other projects.

    I spent three a half months working with an NGO called BelgrAid, which provides hot meals along with love and support to refugees and immigrants that are currently living in camps in Serbia.

    I would describe myself as a very outgoing sociable happy person. I love learning new things and meeting new people. My hobbies include cycling, reading, DIY, painting, exploring, trekking, music, camping and charity work.

    I have completed a 140 hour TEFL course before leaving Ireland. I would love to work in a hostel, guest house, eco-village, homestead or farm where I can meet new people, share ideas and gain practical experience. I am a fast learner and not afraid of some hard work. I have no fixed agenda so the order of travel can be changed if required let's see where the path takes me.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a degree in IT, and I have been working in this industry for the last 12 years. But I'm finding that kind of work tedious and boring. I have worked in lots of other jobs along the way too, such as; cleaner, bar worker, worker in a busy guest house, and waitressing to name but a few.

    I have always been passionate about helping people and have participated in many volunteering programs such as, teaching English to refugees, adult literacy classes, fundraising for the less fortunate by climbing mountains or sponsored walks, I went so far as to shave my hair off last year which raised €1650.00 in order to buy winter boots for the refugees in Serbia.

    I have a lust for life as the song goes and would see the glass half full than half empty, I am looking forward to meeting all of you fantastic people along the way !

  • Languages spoken

    Conversational Spanish and French

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback